We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$108
eDreams$108
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
50
45
42
23
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
45
42
23
37
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 197 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

We stayed Rock Fort four nights. Price was high so we waited a lot. Unfornately quality-price ratio wasn't good. Staff in reception were helpful when asked. Otherwise they were snooty. First thing what they asked was if we can pay the price by cash because it's cheaper for them that way. They offered sea view room if we agree. Had to talk long time before it was okey to pay with credit card.

Good buffet breakfest, clean room, friendly cleaners, waiters and hotel guardians. Back yard was poor: broken things, empty bear cans, stairs with rust... The pool was simple basic. No services at pool.

The view to the sea was althoug great! Great spot to look sunset! Good location: beach starts on the back yard (althoug not good place to swim because of the rocks under the water) and 15 minutes walk way to the center of Unawatuna and to the main beach.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Katriina100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We booked 3 rooms well in advance in this hotel. On arrival we were shown rooms which had no window and had a bad odour. The staff did not have an explanation for this and told us to cancel the booking if not happy. It was difficult for us to find alternate accommodation at 8 pm with a one and half year baby in tow.
Appearances can be deceptive.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank shabszul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Be aware booking this hotel! The entrance is pretty and the personnel is very friendly! I would say it’s no more than a 2 star hotel. The double de luxe room has no windows and there is a lot of street noise. The pool and terrace are badly maintained no cushions or umbrellas and there is nobody to give any service. The breakfast was very simple. I would not pay more than $40 including tax!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank joelvwvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We booked at Rock Fort Hotel & Spa for 6 nights while the cricket was on.
When we arrived at the hotel they advised us we would be in their other hotel about 100m along the road. They took us there but it’s about 2 miles away.
On arrival our room was large and it was clean.
What we found out later was they have no restaurant or bar but they would be happy to drive us to the other hotel.
Breakfast was disappointing. First morning delivered to room cold. Next morning we went to the other hotel but wasn’t a great breakfast. I had some pastries and some pineapple. Nothing else took my fancy.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. On the 3rd morning they advised that they could do us a hot breakfast at this hotel. Which was better because it was served hot.
This is a new hotel still under construction so if you don’t mind the noise of the building work and you are out all day it is good value for money.
Very handy if you want to catch the train which we used every day to go into Galle for the cricket and it was only about 15pence each one way. It is only across the road about 150yrs Talpe station.
There are also some good restaurants nearby in Unawatuna. Black and Whites and Riddims were very nice.
We left before breakfast started on the last day and the staff very kindly offered to do us a packed lunch which I thought was very nice of them.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ladygolfer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

My tour guide booked this hotel for me but into the sister hotel Rock Fort Beach Resort + Spa. It was supposed to be a brand new
20 room hotel.
It was a big mistake .
Theres still Lots of renovations goung on .
CURRENTLY
NO RESTAURANT bizarrely
The Rock Fort Hotel prepare the food at the other hotel then transport it by tuk tuk to the Rock Fort Beach Resort + Spa sister hotel!!
This hotel has no bar or spa facilities .
It is further away from unuwatuna and galle centre than I thought.
There was problems with the water being turned off I think because of the renovations.
I appreciate it is just coming into tourist season but not acceptable not to have a restaurant for breakfast lunch or dinner or even somewhere to have a drink.
Pool very small .
Location to the beach is excellent right on the beach but it's very rocky and not suitable to swim there.
It's a quiet location for a nice stroll along beach but wouldn't recommend this hotel .
The other sister hotel looked nicer .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank DebHeslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews