We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by the noisy guests in the night who were friends of the owners!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Villa
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let down by the noisy guests in the night who were friends of the owners!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the place I was most excited about staying during my 3 week trip to Sri Lanka - I had emailed in advance of travelling - approximatley 2 months ahead. I also asked to book the yoga which I was told I could do on arrival. The yoga was also one of the key reasons for choosing Secret Garden. The garden itself is beautiful and the breakfast was the best I had during my 3 week stay in Sri lanka - the outside shower was also a nice touch! Was disappointed on arrival to be told the Yoga master had gone home - fair enough but why not tell me in my email when I booked ? However it turned out to be anything but tranquil when on our 2nd night the neighbours ( late teens early 20s ? ) decided to bang out loud music around 2am and party in the garden for about 2 hours! Not the relaxing holiday I had planned. When I tried to help the situation he advised me he was friends with the owners and on him questioning the occupancy to the lovely Sri Lankan Manager the next morning I guess this was true. I nearly said "lower since your arrival!" As they were staying another night I decided that we were not - and so went across the road to the villa which had gorgeous sea views. I have to also say the local staff who were working at Secret Garden gave he best customer service and really looked after you . Just a real shame that it was let down by the people that that owners ask to "keep an eye on things" when they are not there.... Shame really!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
56
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like being ripped off for dark, dank, damp, bug-infested rooms, then Secret Garden is your place. If not, avoid it at all costs. The lonely planet writer was clearly a certain type of “traveller” with a very clear agenda – do not trust him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're planning a stay in Unawatuna, do not look anywhere else. This location has it all - the beach is a stone's throw away, it's centrally located near all of the town's amenities, and it's tucked away from the road in its own lush retreat. The buildings are spectacular, the grounds are pristine, and the owners and caretakers could not be more friendly. Oh yeah, and did I mention the food? The food is ridiculously good. Enjoy some under the overhang and listen to the sweet noises in the garden, or perhaps do some yoga in the dome? I had a great time exploring Unawatuna, but at the end of every day, I honestly couldn't wait to come back to the Secret Garden - it's one of those gems that you only find every once in a while, where you could just stay forever. I'm sad I had to leave, but I can say that I will definitely be returning to this place more than once. Thanks to the owners and staff for the best stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainTopSeaFloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a bungalow set in the tropical gardens which was beautiful and full of character. We had our own veranda and seating area, a lockable wardrobe and an ensuite with open air shower. We turned up without a booking but were treated straight away to fresh flowers and incense burning in our room. The breakfast is pricey by Sri Lankan standards but will certainly set you up for the day as the portions are very generous. It really does feel like a little sanctuary from the dusty and often busy street outside, set behind a stone wall and accessed through a little wooden door it's very peaceful and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would definately recommend the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cia1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the secret garden for 3 nights in late february 2013 and wished we hadn't. The garden itself is lovely but because there is a non running stream that passes through it there are many large mosquitoes that are around from early evening until 11 am the next day and one cannot sit out comfortably. the bungalows are relatively basic and quite damp ..the partial exterior bathroom was dirty with green mould around the shower and quite basic. We paid over $70 for this privilege and the price did not include breakfast .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We understand that the mosquitos can get irritable and therefore we offer all our guest complimentary bugspray, I wish you could have let us know while you were at Secret Garden. Our villa has a beautiful one acre garden which becomes your living room, we also offer holistic wellness facilities. Since the architecture and style is rustic it is understandable that it does not suit those who want modern accommodation. We apologize for any shortcomings and wish you all the best on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here towards the end of our journey around Sri Lanka. Initially we were disappointed that our booking had been altered and we didn't have the room we had specified but instead were put in a quirky room in the old house. It's a beautiful old building full of antique furniture but we had no window, other than one opening onto another room, electric lighting was very poor and our bathroom was down a passage. However, the staff were great, always smiling, the night watchman was an absolute gem, the location ideal, and the garden and veranda quiet and serene, Simone was charming and helpful with local information Wifi a bit hit and miss and we felt it is on the expensive side compared to all the other places (many of them fabulous) where we had stayed. Would recommend if you like something a little bit different, would return if ever in that part of Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for all the glowing reviews, constant feedback help us maintain an excellent service. We are thrilled that you enjoy our magical place and took time to unwind at Secret Garden. We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The most fascinating place to stay - combining beach location with peacefulness of a garden, old colonial furniture, and very friendly and helpfull stuff! Yoga dome is exceptional for meditation and practices - the energy is very positive =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsyaOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Villa

Property: Secret Garden Villa
Address: Beach Access Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secret Garden Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is an oasis within the lively coastal village of Unawatuna, just 20m walking distance from the beach. It boasts a 19th century Dutch-Sri Lankan Colonial Villa with bungalows and suites and a 4000sqm tropical garden. In the middle of the garden rests a large dome, offering 2 daily yoga classes, an on call Ayurvedic therapist for massage and wellness therapy as well as free space for dance, meditation and music. Our staff is courteous and warm. A large tropical breakfast is available daily at all times, and our two chefs are lovingly prepared to cook a great eastern or western meal for you on pre-order. Secret Garden provides relaxation and serenity alongside the opportunity to dive into the blue ocean of one of the country's most popular bays, experience the myth of the Rumassala Mountain and dance away at Unawatuna's many beach bars. May all be Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Secret Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Villa Hotel Unawatuna
Secret Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing