We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great emotions!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Garden Villa
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

secret garden is the best place to stay in Unawatuna bay.
We spent there 13 nights and we wouldn't go away from that wonderful magic garden.
The staff of the guesthouse is the best I have ever met, they are kind and became very good friends.
when we left from secret garden we really cried so much.
I miss that people and that place every day of my life.
I surely go back there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena_castellani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at secret garden. The property is nice, clean, and peaceful. The location is also ideal as it is steps away from the beach. We traveled with young children and it was ideal since there was room to roam and our kids loved the outdoor shower. We were able to use the kitchen to prepare light food and snacks. The staff is nice and friendly to help make the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We liked the back room with the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and although we had a bit of rocky start as we were not happy about one aspect of our room (that may not concern others) - Simona (the owner) rectified it and moved us to another room at a very good rate. Regardless of this hiccup we loved it there and would recommend it. The setting is superb - beautiful garden with a stream running through and fireflies in the back garden. Gorgeous rooms with fabulous bathrooms and furnished with impeccable taste (at least to me!). It feels warm and calm. The staff are an absolute delught and cannot do enough for you. It's worth spending the extra if it's a bit beyond your budget - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sejal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Secret Garden is a exquisite villa off the Main beach road in Unawatuna, it is another one of Sri Lanka's hidden gems. It is tucked away from the main hustle and bustle of the beach but is home to excellent food, friendly staff and gives you a real taste of Sri Lanka's famed hospitality. The rooms are excellent as is the complete aesthetic which gives you a feel for the inspiring beauty of nature.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My stay at Secret Garden was perfect, the friendly staff (especially Mr Wicky, the security guard) and the owner Simona, make you feel like you've been invited into their home. The setting is tranquil, with an array of tropical flowers, trees and birds, to feast your senses upon. The villas/suites and bungalows, are quaint, clean and very romantic, with beautiful Antique furniture. The food is great, with everything from traditional Sri Lankan to great salads and pastas etc. Its a great location, with the Beach less than half a minutes walk away. My favorite aspect of secret garden was spending time in the meditation dome, playing and listening to music, as well as doing a few yoga and massage sessions with the local practitioner. Great place overall, can't wait to visit there again... My friends and I loved every minute of our stay there.

Room Tip: If you have a group of people choose the villa/ suites, as they are spacious and have large beds to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are glad that you felt the magic of the Garden and enjoyed the variety of indulgences! Always be welcome at Secret Garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Unlike other resorts and guest houses in una which try to conform to a particular aesthetic, Secret Garden is a unique habitat for relaxation arising out a confluence of various cultural influences. Secret Garden as the name implies, is lush and tucked away from the clamor of the village even though the beach is right across. The whole space seems like it’s designed to arouse a meditative mindset and the Yoga dome truly feels like a sacred space and the activities that go there a manifestation of it. The suites are spacious and well designed and allow you to breathe at ease. The service, oh yeah the service is pretty much top notch as far as realness and warmth is concerned. Definitely the best place I’ve stayed at in Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are glad that you wandered into the Secret Garden and enjoyed the world within! Thank you and always be welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The private villas/suites were great. Our room had a private bathroom which was open air, definitely a great experience showering with a significant other under the stars :) A really peaceful and tranquil place to stay. As someone already mentioned its very close to all the bars, clubs and restaurants. The great thing about this place is that you have the convenience of the nightlife being a 5 minute walk or the option of having a relaxing night in with a bottle of wine.

Regarding the rooms and comfort, the room we stayed in had A/C which was extremely necessary given the season we visited. The owner mentioned most of the rooms would be getting an upgrade but not sure if its happened yet.

The owner was very friendly, she was always approachable and willing to give advice on what to do and where to go in Unawatune. Lots of great restaurants nearby, (make sure to enjoy a tandoori wrap from kingfisher!)

It was a pretty great experience, the best part about this place definitely has to be the location. One thing I would suggest though is that the hotel have a late night dining option / room service. Would make those nights you feel like staying in a lot easier :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed the romantic setting and character of Secret Garden Villa. Thank you for your helpful suggestion, we are hoping to employ a night service person in due time, who will be able to serve you certain items throughout the night. We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sergeant House
Sergeant House
#13 of 33 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Villa

Address: Beach Access Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $58 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secret Garden Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is an oasis within the lively coastal village of Unawatuna, just 20m walking distance from the beach. It boasts a 19th century Dutch-Sri Lankan Colonial Villa with bungalows and suites and a 4000sqm tropical garden. In the middle of the garden rests a large dome, offering 2 daily yoga classes, an on call Ayurvedic therapist for massage and wellness therapy as well as free space for dance, meditation and music. Our staff is courteous and warm. A large tropical breakfast is available daily at all times, and our two chefs are lovingly prepared to cook a great eastern or western meal for you on pre-order. Secret Garden provides relaxation and serenity alongside the opportunity to dive into the blue ocean of one of the country's most popular bays, experience the myth of the Rumassala Mountain and dance away at Unawatuna's many beach bars. May all be Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Secret Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Villa Hotel Unawatuna
Secret Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing