We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a secret gem in Unawatuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Garden Villa
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My stay at Secret Garden was perfect, the friendly staff (especially Mr Wicky, the security guard) and the owner Simona, make you feel like you've been invited into their home. The setting is tranquil, with an array of tropical flowers, trees and birds, to feast your senses upon. The villas/suites and bungalows, are quaint, clean and very romantic, with beautiful Antique furniture. The food is great, with everything from traditional Sri Lankan to great salads and pastas etc. Its a great location, with the Beach less than half a minutes walk away. My favorite aspect of secret garden was spending time in the meditation dome, playing and listening to music, as well as doing a few yoga and massage sessions with the local practitioner. Great place overall, can't wait to visit there again... My friends and I loved every minute of our stay there.

Room Tip: If you have a group of people choose the villa/ suites, as they are spacious and have large beds to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are glad that you felt the magic of the Garden and enjoyed the variety of indulgences! Always be welcome at Secret Garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

Unlike other resorts and guest houses in una which try to conform to a particular aesthetic, Secret Garden is a unique habitat for relaxation arising out a confluence of various cultural influences. Secret Garden as the name implies, is lush and tucked away from the clamor of the village even though the beach is right across. The whole space seems like it’s designed to arouse a meditative mindset and the Yoga dome truly feels like a sacred space and the activities that go there a manifestation of it. The suites are spacious and well designed and allow you to breathe at ease. The service, oh yeah the service is pretty much top notch as far as realness and warmth is concerned. Definitely the best place I’ve stayed at in Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are glad that you wandered into the Secret Garden and enjoyed the world within! Thank you and always be welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The private villas/suites were great. Our room had a private bathroom which was open air, definitely a great experience showering with a significant other under the stars :) A really peaceful and tranquil place to stay. As someone already mentioned its very close to all the bars, clubs and restaurants. The great thing about this place is that you have the convenience of the nightlife being a 5 minute walk or the option of having a relaxing night in with a bottle of wine.

Regarding the rooms and comfort, the room we stayed in had A/C which was extremely necessary given the season we visited. The owner mentioned most of the rooms would be getting an upgrade but not sure if its happened yet.

The owner was very friendly, she was always approachable and willing to give advice on what to do and where to go in Unawatune. Lots of great restaurants nearby, (make sure to enjoy a tandoori wrap from kingfisher!)

It was a pretty great experience, the best part about this place definitely has to be the location. One thing I would suggest though is that the hotel have a late night dining option / room service. Would make those nights you feel like staying in a lot easier :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed the romantic setting and character of Secret Garden Villa. Thank you for your helpful suggestion, we are hoping to employ a night service person in due time, who will be able to serve you certain items throughout the night. We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed at Secret Garden for three nights and couldn't have had a more wonderful experience.

The place is enclosed in a little garden oasis right off the main road of Unawatuna, within walking distance of nice beaches, restaurants, cafes and shops. I stayed in one of the newer bungalows-- the beds were clean, comfortable and equipped with mosquito nets and were simply and tastefully decorated. I highly recommend the room with the outdoor shower... it's still private but you can still look out on the trees, garden, and yoga dome.

The staffers were attentive, accommodating, relaxed, and super friendly without being overly formal or in your face. They made sure the wireless internet was worked for me and gave me great recs for walking routes and restaurants. Breakfast was simple, fresh, and delicious-- fresh fruit, eggs any way you like them, coffee, tea, toast with a nice array of preserves.

I had been travelling solo for a while before I came to Secret Garden and it's definitely one of the more special places I stayed. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Dear Madam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Secret Garden. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to welcome you again. All the best on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I had heard of the Secret Garden Villa on many visits down the south coast of Sri Lanka and even walked past it a hundred times but I had never even seen it. Thats how much of a secret this little gem of a villa really is. Located about 40-50metres from the unawatuna coast the Secret garden is built in and around the jungle providing one of the most unique experiences for any traveler. This villa is so cozy and picturesque that I even have some photos of the premises on my bedroom wall. The rooms are very stylishly decorated with handpicked furniture giving it so much of personality. My favourite feature of the rooms were the indoor/outdoor showers making it an experience by itself. The famous Secret Garden breakfast lived up to it's reputation with a lovely spread of fresh fruit, scrambled egg on toast, Juice/king coconut water and coffee.
The beautiful white dome in the center of the garden has an electrifying presence to itself ans is perfect for anyone interested in yoga,meditation, singing, and a little peace of mind. A truly divine experience.
The owner, a lovely swiss lady named Simone is a real breath of fresh air around the Villa always ready to help with anything. Last but not least adding to the character of this place is the ever faithful security guard Mr Wickramasinghe or 'Vicky' as he is fondly known. Do check out his log book :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ijazmohideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

We are pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at Secret Garden and were able to enjoy the natural, culinary, architectural and spiritual aspects of our villa and garden. We look forward to welcoming you again. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

The hotel is set in a very beautiful location, and the staff are attentive and friendly. The staff have a very good command of English, unlike most of the other hotels in the area. There is a relaxed and intimate atmosphere, and a lovely hotel dog! The hotel also has the best coffee I have tasted in Sri Lanka. The owner is efficient and ready to help with whatever arrangements you require. Would definitely come back and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Siew UK

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
Thank siewloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

We are glad that you had such a lovely experience at Secret Garden and appreciated the intimate setting. You say you had the best coffee here on the island: it got even better since we brought down an espresso machine from Switzerland:). Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Ended up here on recommendation from our hotel in Kandy....really lucked out. All they had left was a bungalow/suite and we weren't sure if we wanted to spend as much. So thankful that we did. The room was just fantastic - huge and bright with indoor/outdoor space. Couldn't have been more pleased. Location is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerriann18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drifting_Wanderer, Owner at Secret Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Secret Garden and hope to welcome you again. All the best in your travels.

The Secret Garden management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
943 reviews
0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
297 reviews
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Villa

Address: Beach Access Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secret Garden Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is an oasis within the lively coastal village of Unawatuna, just 20m walking distance from the beach. It boasts a 19th century Dutch-Sri Lankan Colonial Villa with bungalows and suites and a 4000sqm tropical garden. In the middle of the garden rests a large dome, offering 2 daily yoga classes, an on call Ayurvedic therapist for massage and wellness therapy as well as free space for dance, meditation and music. Our staff is courteous and warm. A large tropical breakfast is available daily at all times, and our two chefs are lovingly prepared to cook a great eastern or western meal for you on pre-order. Secret Garden provides relaxation and serenity alongside the opportunity to dive into the blue ocean of one of the country's most popular bays, experience the myth of the Rumassala Mountain and dance away at Unawatuna's many beach bars. May all be Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Secret Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Villa Hotel Unawatuna
Secret Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing