We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth the visit

Perfectly located with a beautiful view of distant Galle, this structure enhances the serenity and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
AJ310B
,
India
via mobile
Stunning views and peaceful vibe

I went in the morning and walked round the stupa. It was empty and very peaceful, with stunning... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
JoN1734
,
Galle, Sri Lanka
Read all 806 reviews
  
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
409
261
122
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
261
122
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace pagoda galle fort jungle beach tuk tuk nice view small temple serene place watch the sunset beautiful sunset worth a visit indian ocean the main road sri lanka monk shoes victims tsunami
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 806 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

After visiting jungle beach, we came here and it was so peaceful. Interesting and informative. It had been raining so we had to be careful with the steps as they were wet and you have to take your shoes off

Thank 214samd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

And we've visited a few in our time, so we came upon this simple Pagoda while visiting Jungle Beach which is just "Next Door" , and you can get here by Tuk, Tuk, for around 400 Rupees or you can walk from Unawatuna but, remember it's quite a distance, and bear in mind the temperature can reach into the 90's with a humidity to match and the road is also steep so beware. The best way to see this Pagoda is by combining a trip to Jungle beach as you can walk around here in 10 minutes but, the views of Galle are pretty good and do bring a pair of binoculars with you as you can see the Galle fort and surrounding areas . The sunsets are also very spectacular to see, as for the Pagoda itself well, this is a nice building and do remember it's still a place of worship. After that just walk down to Jungle beach and grab yourself a cold beer or two and a cool off in the surf...Enjoy.

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

This Japanese Temple is located on a Hill top. The approach road from Galle- Matara road is quite steep and winding. But once you make to the top it is a wonderful sight to see. the Temple it self is unique and one can walk around the Dagaba. You can have a clear view of Galle City and at Sunset time it gives a opportunity for lovely photo shoot.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank roshan_ferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

Very nice place. we can see the big area around unawatuna. near to jungle beach. litter bit far from main road. but its nice place.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Nalinb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

A nice place to see the sunset and the pagoda itself is impressive. We paid Rs.450 for tuk-tuk to/from Unawatuna including wait time.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank kre23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews