We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach location”
Review of Neptune Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Bay Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Barnt Green, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice beach location”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Good value, some of the accommodation in Unawatuna isn't as close to sea for the same money. May need more attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOwens6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    33
    17
    15
See reviews for
25
61
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Upon our arrival, we agreed on the room stay for 3 nights with no food but a pot of coffee every morning. We also agreed on a late check out if we took one of the hotel's cars to the airport.

On our last night there, the manager called us into his office and made up a story about auditors giving him a grief about our room rate with a complimentary coffee and late check out etc. He mentioned we didn't even eat at their restaurant.

He went back on his word and said late check out was no longer possible as the room we were in was reserved and they had to clean it to get it ready for the new arrival at midday. He offered to keep the bags in one of the empty rooms with no sea view as these rooms were never occupied however the rate for a car to get us to the airport went up.

In the morning, we decided not to argue with them but to check out on time. We gave a complimentary coffee a miss as we didn't want to cause any further fuss. We asked the lady at the reception if we could leave our bags there until the evening. As we had no longer a late check out, we felt we were free to get our own transport back to the airport as they clearly did not keep their part of the deal. To our shock and disappointment we were told it was not possible. We were told to take our bags and just leave!

They have completely ruined the end of our 10 days stay in beautiful Sri Lanka. In the end, we were allowed to leave our bags in the corner of the reception area. We had a day on the beach and thanks to a kind manager of the Sunny Beach Hotel, who let us use one of his empty rooms to shower, we managed to get ready for our night journey back home. That certainly lifted our spirits.

We did take one of the hotel's cars to the airport, however we learned that the hotel/manager didn't get the commission as the car was not arranged through them but we went to the driver directly and paid the going rate.

We actually stayed at this hotel before and thought the staff and location was excellent hence we returned back. What we were not expecting was the change of attitude amongst the staff. We were promised to be moved to another room after our first night there but that didn't happen. We were moved to a better room for our last night there and the rest is history... they have certainly upset us and we still can't quite work it out what was behind it all :o( We think it may be money... as the remarks about not eating at their restaurant made us believe they were after our cash being spent at their hotel rather than elsewhere.

There are so many other great places to stay in Unawatuna, we may be back but we'd not stay at Neptune Bay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Travelling to Sri Lanka in the off season i really did not know what to expect;but LAL and the other staff at this hotel made me feel very comfortable,like i was at home,the food was incredible,the chef catered to my needs every day,the rooms were very inexpensive for what they offered(A/C,Sattelite etc).A must when visiting Unawatuna,Galle,Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. With a little more TLC/maintenace and a bit of an overhaul this hotel could be a wonderful luxury boutique type hotel.

The rooms are very spacious - 4 poster beds, wooden floors, ac, fridge, fan etc and it has all the makings of a good hotel. However its not been well maintained and bathrooms whilst hot water was a bit grubby. It feels like they have had too many backpackers throgh the door and its all gone down hill.

To be fair prices were very cheap and location is good. Though check not all rooms have sea views.

The Hotel has a restaurant where you get breakfast etc on the beach side, the main living area though is accross a small road (about 15feet) so not all rooms get sea views. Pool is okay.

Food is okay, though one night they arranged a fantastic barbeque and we saw that they made every effort for somebodies Birthday. Service was good for this type of hotel.

Unawatuna itself is lovely a great location and very friendly and lone travellers will feel safe here. There is no fancy 5 star big hotels and it has very much a backpacker laid back atmosphere - a bit like thailand, but better. There is good amount of shops and some decent activities to do.

Beware though Dont leave bags unattended. and You should always lock valuables away. Remember $80 dollars can be a persons wages for a month.

There is one restaurant along the shore that I would definately recommend the Lucky Tuna - see the owner behind the bar - very laid back. The food is amazing and if you are suffering caffeine withdrawlas from the atrocious brown stuff they serve in Sri Lanka - well he imports direct from Germany - espressos, cappuchinos - its all very yummy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We paid a 50% deposit two months in advance to secure our favourite room, this didn't stop the staff giving it to someone who was apparently staying a few days longer than us. The promised room swap didn't happen, the pool was full of bugs, the bedroom wasn't made up and the AC remote was taken from room by staff. Not sure why, and the New Year's eve band was about as tuneful as crying baby, but louder.
I'd accept all of the above if the rate for this hotel ($75) wasn't double many of the others in Unawatuna but if they want to charge this sort of premium they need to try harder. There are better and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malalajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

London England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I have just come back from a wonderful trip to SL and spent 2 nights in this hotel. I had a great time. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable - special thanks to the 2 roomboys, Sampath and Sudath. My room (304) had a lovely view of the sea, it was large and airy and the AC was QUIET!!! The fan could have been a problem, in that it was either on fast or off, no in-between, but I didn't need it. The breakfast was very good, the coffee made to my instructions, the giant prawns I had both nights were delicious and reasonable and beers were brought to my room so I could relax on my large balcony and enjoy the view and write my journal. I would certainly go back.

  • Liked — The charming staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laktours, Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
First of all we pay all our thanks to our customers, who had been spent their holiday in our hotel and sending their reviews for the TA. Now we have new staff they are very helpful and reliable.

We appreciate your comments It's help us enhancement of qualities.

thanks you very much ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Great value for the money. Nice big, air conditioned, bug free rooms with 4 poster beds and mossie nets. TV. Clean, decent food, nice pool. Don't expect information from the staff though. They don't have train timetables, phone directory, they don't know how to use their photocopier and the computer never works. But, bless them, they tried so hard. Also, check out the sculpture in the dining room complete with a boat, a sea scene, and dubious looking eagles.
Top cheese.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — infomation
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyniceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#16 of 32 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#22 of 32 in Unawatuna
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Bay Hotel

Property: Neptune Bay Hotel
Address: Yaddahimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neptune Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neptune Bay Hotel Unawatuna ! Neptune Bay Hotel is located in the heart of Unawatuna where guests enjoy superb rooms and a relaxing, peaceful atmosphere only 2 minutes away from the beach and the cute Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of restaurants and bars. Our Neptune Bay Hotel stands for dedicated family hospitality at International standards with modern, clean and spacious rooms, clean and all immaculate to ensure an amazing time right on wonderful Unawatuna Beach. Unawatuna Unawatuna is a coastal village in Galle district of Sri Lanka. Unawatuna is a major tourist attraction and famous for its beautiful beach and corals. Unawatuna beach, a crescent shaped shallow beach situated further south to the famous town of galle and its famous harbour and towering roomassala mountain. It is protected by a natural reef from the open sea and due to the semicircle shape of it forms a perfect natural swimming pool with aquamarine colour gentle waves crashing on the golden sandy beach.Unawatuna Beach was named the world's best beach by The Discovery Channel in 2004. That may be a stretch today, but Unawatuna is undoubtedly the best beach in Sri Lanka-none other offers the same combination of golden sand, a protected bay that offers.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Neptune Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing