We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location””
Review of Neptune Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Bay
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our rooms were in the new building (white one) on the 2nd floor, with a nice sea-view from the comfortable balconies. The rooms were clean, with AC / fridge / sat-TV installed, but otherwise "empty". We found some beverages in the fridge, but there weren't any bottle-opener, nor glasses even in the bathroom - wondering how it is possible to use the minibar at all ? We also had to ask (?) for soap to be able to wash our hands, and also some additional towels because we didn't wanted to use the same we already used for the pool and also sandy beach... (we got 2 large towels in total). The rooms were not serviced during our 5-day stay, however you can place the "please make up my room" sign to your handle - this should work (and works anywhere in the world) the other way, especially in a beach/pool hotel like this where you often visit your room with wet/sandy legs/dress and no door-mat to use. The breakfast was served to our table and was simple (fruit - choice of egg - butter and jam), after some days it was so boring that we tried to ask for just a few sausages - with no success. On the other hand their beach-restaurant situated in the opposite of the street was nice and we had quite tasty lunch. The staff was friendly and we could stay in our rooms till our late-evening flight for free which is a big plus, if they could improve the service/room equipment this will be a quite nice place overall.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune141, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time for a review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the timing of the food we are giving our guests the freedom to chose their own timing for any meal served as we do not want to dictate any hours for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We certainly will consider any preference as well as set meal times if this is desired. We are looking forward to welcome you back at NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL very soon! Sunny regards, St.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our rooms were in the new building (white one) on the 2nd floor, with a nice sea-view from the comfortable balconies.
The rooms were clean, with AC / fridge / sat-TV installed, but otherwise "empty".
We found some beverages in the fridge, but there weren't any bottle-opener, nor glasses even in the bathroom - wondering how it is possible to use the minibar at all ?
We also had to ask (?) for soap to be able to wash our hands, and also some additional towels because we didn't wanted to use the same we already used for the pool and also sandy beach... (we got 2 large towels in total).
The rooms were not serviced during our 5-day stay, however you can place the "please make up my room" sign to your handle - this should work (and works anywhere in the world) the other way, especially in a beach/pool hotel like this where you often visit your room with wet/sandy legs/dress and no door-mat to use.
The breakfast was served to our table and was simple (fruit - choice of egg - butter and jam), after some days it was so boring that we tried to ask for just a few sausages - with no success.
On the other hand their beach-restaurant situated in the opposite of the street was nice and we had quite tasty lunch.
The staff was friendly and we could stay in our rooms till our late-evening flight for free which is a big plus, if they could improve the service/room equipment this will be a quite nice place overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilan f, Guest Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear guest,

I am glad that everything was enjoyable when staying at Neptune bay.

Thank you for staying at my hotel as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Adviser.

As an reservation manager/operator for over 08 years, my customer feedback has always been pivotal in making my future customer experience better.

I look forward to seeing you again when you do return and please do recommend to all your friends.

Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. Our room (no 207) was on the first floor, next to the pool. The room was clean and spacious, with nice colonial style furniture. The toilet and shower were apart. The balcony is huge and from there we had a nice seaview. Airconditioning and fan worked well and we had a lovely four-poster bed with moscitonet bedcurtains. The staff are all being friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served until 9:30am and comes as a buffet with toast, butter, jam and a choice of fresh fruit (ananas, papaya and banana). We also had omelette. Coffee and tea are served in two thermos flasks. After insisting we got a pot of tea at our table. To get to the restaurant you have to cross the street, aswell as to get to the beach. The hotel offers sunbeds and a few parasols.

Room Tip: We had room 207 in the newer part of the building, spacious with big balcony and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gronings_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were fortunate enough to get a room at the last minute at this hotel, after taking a wander around a few other hotels in the area. It was not that it was not almost booked out but more that the reservations manager Dilan, managed to shuffle a few things for us. We stayed in the new part of the hotel and the room was a really great size, fresh and clean with balcony overlooking pool and then through to the beach (although, looking at one of the older rooms near the pool, these still appeared to be a good option). Having the ability to pick and choose between beach or pool within a few metres was great for us and the closeness of the hotel's beach restaurant as well as other nearby dining options meant we were able to eat with children or leave then in room eating yummy roti from nearby roti shop while Mum and Dad had a little grown up time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in new area with view overlooking the pool, so at least first or second floors best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam-Gorringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was the only real hotel we stayed in in Sri Lanka (the rest were guest houses). You would definitely find cheaper (way cheaper) places around, but we were pleased to have hotel standard for a change - rooms were very clean, huge bed, towels changed daily, room cleaned daily etc. The hotel has two parts - there is a restaurant + sun beds right on the beach, and across a narrow road there is the reception and the rooms and also a pool they seem to be very proud of (it is true it was the only one we saw in Sri Lanka, but why would you get into a pool when there is a gorgeous beach right there). The room was big, there was a wardrobe so no complaints,
The service was ok but it was sort of like they were trying to be professional but still in training :) Breakfast quite nice, my friend was tired of eggs that they seem to serve everywhere for breakfast so she asked for curd which wasn't on the menu and it was no problem.
Unawatuna beach is beautiful but quite small, good place for swimming though as there are only tiny waves compared to other places. The village itself is quite charming - lots of beach restaurants and also cafes along the road, it is one of the livelier places. A bus to Galle takes only 20-30 mins and it is definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jitka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Manager Sanjeewa Fernando was very good and the rooms are lovely and spacious! will definitely stay again! The location is right opposite the beach and there is a restaurant connected as well! amazing place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zahrah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

One of the best places we stayed in during our trip to Sri Lanka. Unawatuna is great place, especially if you like to party and have good fun. Staff in Neptune-Bay and especially Dilan made us feel very welcome there. You really feel like you are amongst friends! The place is just beautiful, with cozy big beds,a lovely pool and the ocean just outside your window. It really has it all., and the staff do make a difference!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annawielga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#25 of 33 in Unawatuna
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Baywatch
Villa Baywatch
#26 of 33 in Unawatuna
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 33 in Unawatuna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Bay

Address: Yaddahimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neptune Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neptune Bay Hotel Unawatuna ! Neptune Bay Hotel is located in the heart of Unawatuna where guests enjoy superb rooms and a relaxing, peaceful atmosphere only 2 minutes away from the beach and the cute Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of restaurants and bars. Our Neptune Bay Hotel stands for dedicated family hospitality at International standards with modern, clean and spacious rooms, clean and all immaculate to ensure an amazing time right on wonderful Unawatuna Beach. Unawatuna Unawatuna is a coastal village in Galle district of Sri Lanka. Unawatuna is a major tourist attraction and famous for its beautiful beach and corals. Unawatuna beach, a crescent shaped shallow beach situated further south to the famous town of galle and its famous harbour and towering roomassala mountain. It is protected by a natural reef from the open sea and due to the semicircle shape of it forms a perfect natural swimming pool with aquamarine colour gentle waves crashing on the golden sandy beach.Unawatuna Beach was named the world's best beach by The Discovery Channel in 2004. That may be a stretch today, but Unawatuna is undoubtedly the best beach in Sri Lanka-none other offers the same combination of golden sand, a protected bay that offers.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Neptune Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing