We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, good location, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 155 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely hotel in a peaceful area within a walking distance from the Unawatuna "center". Nice and clean pool, comfortable rooms. This place can be recommended for a longer stay as well, although the rooms could be cleaned more often. The friendly staff was also super helpful with our further traveling arrangements and organized transportations, guides etc.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vilma_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks with our daughter and son in law at new year. The guest house is situated in a tropical garden which is beautiful and is home to a variety of birds and other wildlife including monkeys! The small pool in the garden is a godsend when you need to cool down. Britta ,the owner is very helpful and can give lots of information about the area. She was so helpful when our son in law developed an ear infection even calling at the local hospital to make him an appointment. She has a wonderful family her youngest Anna being a charming and eloquent little girl. The biggest plus are the staff whom we named our magic boys! The boys were so helpful and attentive. If you require the room cleaning or clean towels etc it will be done straight away. If you want tea,coffee or meals on your veranda rather than go up to the rooftop restaurant just ask and it will appear. The boys happy ,helpful manner really makes this place special. Unawatuna is lovely,but try Mirissa too,the beach is beautiful. All in all a wonderful holiday ,we would definitely go back to this lovely guest house. PS try the restaurant it has wonderful views and the food is .good

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateA816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Kathlyn,
it was a pleasure to have her with us. I already showed the staff your comment and they were very proud.
I hope you have a good time.
Regards,
Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here... The food was fabulous... I would recommend eating here in the evening... The pool was so pretty and really clean... The tree top restaurant was in an ideal location... We saw monkeys and chipmunks... The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful... Five stars all round

Stayed: December 2013
Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I will also show the staff your comment.
We wish you a Happy New Year.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went there 1 month ago and this place is very clean (no bedbugs there on the contrary of my GH in Tangalle!!!), the staff very friendly and the location is very good in front of the sea. The swimming pool is very good and the food of the restaurant was divine. I recommend this place and it is a good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,
thank you for your review. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will let the staff know that you were satisfied with their service.
Bedbugs are a problem in the tropics. These bugs are carried from one place to another for example in the baggage. They crawl our of their hidings and find their prey, humans, in the night.
We ask all our guests to report problems to our staff so they can handle it.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

How can $30 a night with breakfast be overpriced? I don't understand how anyone could say that! Our room has a double bed and a single bed, fan, hot water, great verander with a table, really comfy chairs and a hammock. The breakfast is Massive...a Sri lankan omelette, fruit plate, big pot of coffee and a mountain of toast which was a freshly baked loaf!

It's run by a German woman and her Sri lankan hubby. They have a lovely confident little daughter called Anna who will come and talk to you about her adventures. They have two gorgeous big friendly dogs.....but the credit goes to the three boys who work so so hard here. They are constantly cleaning, tidying, cooking and making sure everything is in order. After the tragedy that they all endured with regards to the tsunami, after hearing their agonizing personal stories they are still so happy and smile constantly.

Message to the owners...look after these boys they are an asset to your business.

The pool is very nice, with naturally warm water, the beach is a bit of a pain to get to... You must get on the main road which is a little scary when you have busses whizzing round blind corners at full speed, over taking other traffic whilst you are walking on a bit of pavement that is half a foot wide! It is like previous reviewers have said...a 15 odd min walk but that being said we would def stay here again. You can tak a tuk tuk for 150 rupees which is about a dollar and you avoid the nighttime boom booms because you are slightly further out.

Highly reccomend this place, so cheap, so peaceful right next to pearl dive centre, restaurants and shops...stay here people!....happy holidaying! Xxxx kate and Darren ( London)

Room Tip: Ground floor so can people watch, talk to lovely Anna and play with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate261155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Kate and Darren,
the staff was glad to read your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We sometimes do have promotions set up with very good offers, so please contact us.
Have a good time.
Britta, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is overpriced for what you get, which is backpacker style small rooms which smell really damp. We came from Mirissa where we had a luxurious room for $40 to Unawatuna paying $50 for the above. We had booked a twin room and what we got was 1 double bed and a childs bed with metal railing on 3 sides, I am short and still had to curl up so as not to bang into the bars at the end.
On the plus side the service was really good from the young guys working there, always smiling and eager to help. The gardens and pool area was beautifull and we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony but we would look else where if returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear valued guest,
thank you for your review on trip advisor.
I feel sorry, that you have not been satisfied with your room. Usually, if we are informed by our guests, we try to change the room or, if the bed is too small we would change the bed over. Sometimes we have tall guests and they require a bed with no foot piece.
If there are any problems with the room,i.e. dampness, we ask our guests to inform us immediately so that we can take action.
I will show our staff your comment about their service and I am happy that you have enjoyed the terrace and the pool.
Regards,
Britta, Black Beauty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had our last days in sri lanka at the blackbeauty guesthouse, for 3 nights and it was the best for the end. The guesthouse is not on the beach but not so far and with a clean and nice pool to relax. Service there was the best we had in our trip in sri lanka : clean room with flowers and fresh towels, very nice private balcony, excellent breakfast on the rooftop restaurant (great view), no wait for diner (it is a big problem in sri lanka service) and a more than perfect team. 4 guys always available for us and very funny, helping and kind. I called it a little paradise! Thank you shameera and Peha.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 155 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#3 of 155 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
#5 of 155 in Unawatuna
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $16 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing