We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We loved the gardens, the pool, the balcony area, the breakfast, the location and the view from the restaurant.
We were disappointed by the rooms to be honest

Stayed: March 2012
Thank vicki1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 194 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Blackbeauty for our first 5 nights in Sri Lanka and found it an excellent place to stay, in fact the favourite of our trip. The location is good, set back about a minutes walk from the amazing beach, this meant it was lovely and quiet, perfect for an evening on the balcony enjoying a beer, reading a book and listening to the sounds of the forest. On the other hand you are within minutes of the night life - perfect. The food is of a good standard and they are happy to whip you up a lovely breakfast / dinner in the top floor restraunt at almost any time. A particular highlight for us was having breakfast at tree canopy level, watching the monkeys (we managed to see them on 3 out of 5 mornings). The rooms are simple with comfortable beds, tasteful bits of furniture and en-suite wet rooms with hot water. You also get a spacious balcony equipped with nice chairs to lounge around in, with the rooms on the upper floors having a nice view of the forrest.

Britta and the crew really were amazingly lovely, they bent over backwards for us and made us feel so welcome.

This is a first rate guesthouse in a wonderful location and represents great value. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent four nights at the Black Beauty and can't say enough about the service we received form Britta and staff. We were there with our two year old daughter and she fell in love with the place...the slide, the swings, the pool, the dogs, "Annie" (as my daughter called her), the food (mmmm we all miss the avocados on toast for breakfast) and the "boys" (that catered to all her toddler whims). From a parent perspective, the rooms were clean, the location was great and the service was stellar. We had two rooms on the ground floor where we spend our evenings lounging on the lovely patio and soaking in the cool breeze. You won't be disappointed in this lovely B & B.

As for Unawatuna itself, it was a great beach for kids. My daughter had fun playing on the shore here, with just enough waves to have some fun in, without being a danger.

Room Tip: There are plenty of great places to eat in the area. We had the best meal of the trip, besides our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed 2 full weeks with Britta and her excellent staff and really enjoyed ourselves. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the food was some of the best we had in Una. Definitely try the Sri Lankan breakfast and do not miss the curry. I didn't try it until near the end of my stay and if I'd known how great it was, I would've had it more often.
Other reviews mention how family friendly Black Beauty is... our group is definitely one of the reasons that reviewer mentions it. We were traveling with two small children and there were several other families there as well at times during our stay. Black Beauty is perfect for families. There is an exceptionally clean and well-maintained pool, grassy areas to play with swings and a slide, but most importantly, a very accommodation staff who are very good with kids and eager to make your stay enjoyable for all. Britta's young daughter was so great with my son, and he couldn't wait to play with her every day after coming back from the beach.
If we are ever in Unawatuna again, we will definitely return to Black Beauty. It is rare to find 5 star service in a modest guest house, but Britta has succeeded here in every way.

Room Tip: Fewer mosquitoes at dusk on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maui-Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Owner at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Thank you for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to have you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the staff were fantastic, the food very good and the rooms were very comfortable. Endless hot water and a large lockable cabinet in the room were both welcome additions. More importantly this guesthouse is NOT directly on the beach, it is set back a bit from the main road which you have to cross to get to the beach (this really isn't hard). You will understand why this is important when you see the rest of the guest houses perched precariously on the waters edge (those that the government hasn't bulldozed yet!). My only complaint as I was traveling with my partner was the number and volume of children! This place has a great set up for kids, and they make full use of it. If you do want some peace and quiet in the afternoons make sure you ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittawegner, Owner at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Thank you for your commend on TripAdvisor. We always try to give our best service for all of our guests. During the school holidays we do have more families with children, like all over Sri Lanka. We always try to accommodate our guests so that they can enjoy their holiday. Families usually value the rooms downstairs, because it is safer for the kids and couples enjoy the rooms upstairs. The accommodation depends also on our booking plan. Thank you, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in Black Beauty for almost 2 weeks - and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are helpful and friendly but at the same time leave you be to enjoy your stay. Black Beauty is set on the other side of the road to the beach, but a very short stroll takes you to a great swimming area. Located where it is, makes it very quiet and peaceful, and means you only have to take a short stroll along the beach (or road) to find action in the way of restaurants and bars.

Our room was simple and clean, with a big bed (mosquito net) and ensuite. The room had two large windows overlooking the balcony - which meant it was filled with natural light during the day but didn't seem to heat up. And the balcony view was beautiful - houses and palm trees with the beach in the background. We often sat and shared a pot of tea on the balcony while the sun went down.

Breakfast was wonderful. Practically a kilo of fruit (watermelon, mango, pineapple, banana) and toast with jam. And of course tea or coffee! We didn't eat any other meals there (too many options out and about) but other guests who did said the food was delicious! Apparently they will even do a sri lankan breakfast! As for other options close by, if you turn left at the road (instead of crossing for the beach) there is a small snack stand (next to the bottle shop) that does great little sri lankan snacks (dahl balls - yum) and that vege, egg, chopped up roti dish. Or if you turn right and walk on the road (rather than the beach) on the left hand side of the road is a small local restaurant (first one you get to after a few of the beach restaurant buildings) which does a great rice, dahl and curry plate! And the main strip of Unawatuna has all sorts of great options - Jinas Vegetarian was a favourite on the main strip.

And last but not least the monkeys! They spend their mornings eating and socialising in the trees behind the hotel (you can best see them from the roof top restaurant (or kitchen!) and they are a joy to watch!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper levels have the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Britta and her staff were very welcoming and great. They promptly took care of the cockroach that got into my room! The place was clean and comfortable. However, given the location I didn't feel like this was the best value...but since I only stayed one night that could have been a difference as I didn't get a chance to know the place well.

My double room was downstairs in the older building with no A/C but the price difference did not reflect the difference between my room and the triple my friends were staying in. Roughly $30 for a double room with no A/C away from the beach was a little more than what I'd prefer to pay when I had another friend who was in a different guesthouse on the beach for the same price. I've also stayed at a place not on the beach but with a beach view for less.

It is a bit of a walk from the main part of the beach and you have to cross a busy road. The beach right across the road usually had some men hanging around that harassed us a bit. That can't be controlled though by the guesthouse and it happens throughout Una as well... just a word of warning for female travellers.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer building farther back in the complex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 34 in Unawatuna
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 162 in Unawatuna
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#4 of 162 in Unawatuna
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sam's Guest House
Sam's Guest House
#8 of 162 in Unawatuna
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
#88 of 162 in Unawatuna
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $23 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing