We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PLACE..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

i went flower garden.its a lovely place.nature is beautiful.when you enter there you can see a nice swimming pool..food also very nice.specially desert i enjoyed well.well organizied everything..fi will go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gautam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 825 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

i spent a week in this resort and it was very relaxing place with good food and spa. it is good place to stay with family . the food was great, good choice of fish or meat. the service spoke nice english and was very helpfull in all my requests.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank mnachazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

stayed couple of days . poor service and conditions. I could not find my chaufer as there is no accommodation for them. very small place. no enough room. noisy. no parking place. this is not on the beach either. my ahaufer was not their when i wanted as he was staylin somewhereelse.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wijaya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love Sri Lanka and after travelling up from the beautiful south turned up at the Flower Garden Hotel in Unawatuna, were we have visited before, and within 30 seconds we knew this was not the place for us. But having booked a 'Super Deluxe Cabana with a big private balcony with 'lovely' garden', and having read the raving reviews here on Tripadvisor we thought that there was more to this hotel that would be revealed after we checked in. As soon as we arrived we were ignored by all the staff, made to sit in a very dreary restaurant listening to a Russian query add on's to his bill, we waited patiently whilst watching one of the staff tread on a sleeping dogs nose and then kick him on the head! We were eventually lead to our musty dark room, it was open plan semi detached with no balcony, just an open plan frontage that was shared by two rooms overlooking a courtyard which was used as a passage for the staff to the staff area. It was dark with not much sun coming through because of the surrounding buildings and some trees and there was constant noise from a mill nearby and from staff passing by every so often. We cancelled at 4pm the day we arrived, decided to stay that night, we had booked 5 nights, thought we should at least try the food, which turned out to be very average, even though the reviews on Tripadvisor had been so good! Throughout the day piped music was playing of what we can only described as country & western music from the 50's, even at breakfast!There were only a few sunbeds around a very cramped pool with not a lot of room for sitting and relaxing. There were items not working in the bathroom and the over all place was dark and oppressive. When we cancelled we were told that Sassi the owner, would come and speak to us later, no one came to see us. We booked in to another hotel not too far away had breakfast and tried to check out but was told that Sassi was asleep until 10.30am and asked to wait. He did not show up and we wanted to leave, the staff tried to make us pay for 50% of 7 days, they were confused, then when they eventually found our booking for five days, we were made to pay 50% of this, even though we cancelled the previous day at 4pm and stayed and payed for one night, so surely it would be 50% of 4 nights? The communication was poor and in the end we just paid the rest in cash and left.
We have emailed Sassi several times just to clarify the terms and conditions for cancellations but he has not responded. After travelling for many years in Sri Lanka, this is our first bad experience ever and definitely not worth the $109 for B&B!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bobbyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Flower Garden and were treated like special guests the whole time. The accommodations were great but the staff is what made the trip a total pleasure. The area has lots to do both scenery and architectural history. Sassi, the owner & cook has a great hotel with great meals, especially the seafood. They can get you all you will need for transportation to and around the area. Sassi made a nice cake (with a bottle of wine & flowers)for my wife's birthday which just added more to the special service provided to us.

Room Tip: The cabanas were a welcome change to a normal hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandGail2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

.This was my 5th stay here and I will continue to return to a place that has consistently excelled in creating a wonderful experience. The hotel is fortunate to have a very responsive and friendly staff, a great pool, a restaurant with a varied menu and food prepared and presented with 5 star qualities. The area around the hotel offers many great options for beach activities, attractions, restaurants and night life, but we always return to the Flower Garden for the experience of the relaxation and amenities. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Number 29 is pretty impressive....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandLinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here two nights on my own at the end of my tour. Immediately liked the peace and quiet despite it being just off the main street down to the beach where there was much more noise and nightlife if you wanted it. I was in their newer building on the opposite side to the pool. Room was very quiet and spacious with a wonderful bathroom complete with the most complicated, luxurious shower I've ever seen. There was even a small balcony off a hallway. My room overlooked the side of the place and for location, suspect this was the quietest side of the building, although no view to speak of. Staff were very helpful, friendly although some had little English which made ordering drinks and meals an adventure at times. I ate in the restaurant on two evenings and found the food excellent. I felt at ease being there on my own and was not rushed out when I had finished. The pool area is lovely although more loungers are probably needed for busy times. Towels are provided. Access to drop off or pick up luggage is not easy down the very narrow alley of a street. It only takes two cars to be there at the same time and chaos ensues but the drivers seem to cope somehow!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EluwaiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
711 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $29 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing