We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$124
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
$199
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
$166
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$97
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
497
244
58
31
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
244
58
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe cabanathe ownersri lankasuper deluxenice pooltuk tukwalk in showerjacuzzi bathtucked awayan oasisair conmini barwelcome drinkstayed here for nightssun loungerslarge bathroomshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 857 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once the penny drops that Sri Lanka is India with an upgrade then you can start to appreciate what you can expect and what you can't. In all but the finest of the fine you will get a mustiness and perhaps not the deep clean that one finds in most of the best European hotels. That said, Sri Lanka offers one of the warmest welcomes I have found and Sassi who runs the ship at the Flower Garden offers an even warmer one. It's like a home from home with dogs running about and a very relaxed atmosphere. He is respected throughout the island and understandably so. We stayed in the penthouse, so I cannot comment too much on the cabanas, but we had our own pool and a boutique-style bathroom and were thoroughly spoilt. Service is about detail and when you find ironing is free (unlike most laundry rip-offs throughout hotels on planet earth) and all toiletries are topped up daily, you start to understand where I'm heading with this. The food is tasty and represents good value given you have a salad and a dessert included in the price of the main course. Overall I don't think Sri Lanka would suit those who like life posh and immaculate as backpackers unquestionably make up the majority of tourists, but for those who want to relax among friendly and decent people with superb beaches, then Sri Lanka, Unawatuna and in particular the Flower Garden will serve you very well.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Postive:

-Good pool!
-Breakfast ok
-Nice rooms, we had the cabana, good sized bed and bathroom
-Location is ok, just 5-10 minutes walk to the beach

Negative:

-I think just a bit overpriced for what you get
-I agreed to pay the bill in Euro, but they tried to charge me 10% more!

Overall: I think next time I would look for something else, there are a lot of hotels in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We kicked off the beach leg of our Lanka tour with a two day stay at Flower Garden. We had booked it online after seeing the awesome reviews on TripAdvisor - naturally this had heightened our expectations.

The check-in as such was smooth. However, we were a bit surprised that we weren't offered a welcome drink / towel on arrival. The staff were courteous but not necessarily warm. Our room was located at the corner of the property with a birds' enclosure on one side and a swamp on the other. The walk from the lobby to the room was charming - a flower lined path, though the way our luggage was lugged across the gravel by the staff had us a bit concerned!

The room was spacious and clean. We also had a nice big balcony with a separate settee and chairs to hang out. The bed was comfortable, with a mosquito net and the A/C was effective. But the TV was placed on a side-table to the bed (effectively next to the pillows) and there were no chairs / place in the room to view it! The fact that the room doesnt have a phone is a drawback. One day we had issues with smelly towels and there was no way to get them exchanged from our rooms. Also, the doors and locking systems are a bit dated and we needed bit of staff advice to use them - again not having a phone was an issue - especially when you are at the very edge of the property.

The beach is around 10 mins away, but the hotel provides towels for visiting and usage at the beach. Would have been ideal if it was a bit closer. They also offer bikes on rent, which is great. We took it for a day to explore Galle and it was very convenient.

We are vegetarian and requested for Sri Lankan breakfast. The staff made arrangements for the same and the quality was really good. The service was excellent too. The swimming pool is large and we quite enjoyed it. The hotel seemed to get a lot of Germans and the many European families were hanging out at the pool - this hotel seems to be an ideal choice for families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aamadmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel seemed very nice on the Internet but in reality space is very limited. Too much on a small surface.
Nice pool.
Rooms and beds are bad.
Rooms are old.
Staff (except room boys) is not very friendly.
We changed hotels to Sun Hotel in Galle!
For us Flower Garden is a bad experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Flower Garden lived up to its great TripAdvisor rating. It is located not far from the main road in Unawatuna so it is easy to find, but also far enough to enjoy and relax with minimum noise. Unawatuna beach is 5 minutes away by foot, down the street filled with shops, cafes and tourist agencies.

Here are some characteristics of the Hotel Flower Garden:
-big, nice and clean pool with deck chairs and free towels
-cabanas (bungalows) have terrace and small yard, surrounded with lush vegetation
-cabanas are spacious, very nice and clean, both room and bathroom are large
-bathroom is up to European standards (usually not a case in Sri Lanka)
-cabanas have TV, small fridge with water, coke, sprite and beer (two bottles of water are complementary) and water boiler (free instant coffee and tea)
-great restaurant with international and local dishes
-no wi-fi in cabanas, just in common areas
-breakfast - lots of fruit, coffee/tea, toast, jam, butter, omelette/fried eggs, pancakes, cold meats, cheese, fruit juices
-service is very good, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerdoBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews