We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sri Lanka hotel with Swiss standings :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Originally we had to stay 3 nights but after decided to extend our stay there for one more night. The owner has spent in Switzerland 10 years so he knows about service quality. Rooms are really clean. In the room was even hairdryer! From 4 hotels we visited in Sri Lanka it was the only one that had it. The restaurant is very good and (again) service is great. There is a good choice of European wine for reasonable prices! Massage is cheaper than anywhere in Unawatuna. Unfortunately we didn't try as it was overbooked. Also we bought an excursion to Kandy in the hotel. Price is the same as in local travel agencies but more confidence. We really liked our guide. His name is Nandana. The guy can tell you a lot of interesting about Sri Lanka and didn't insist on following special tour programme and go wherever you ask. We really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bratsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 823 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent 6 nights here with our two children. really enjoyed it. Cabanas were comfortable and clean. Lovely pool. Nice and quiet in evenings but not far from beach if you want a bit more nightlife. Food was good. Two minor points the owner should consider: 1. extend wi fi to rooms so guests don't have to take laptops, etc to reception area to connect; 2. pave over the path running through the hotel grounds. It's covered with gravel which makes for an agonising barefoot walk to the pool. Otherwise we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stay there twice during our holiday. Liked it so much that we actually came back for the final night in Sri Lanka. The room had really good standard, and loved the misquitonet solution, this is important since my boyfriend is a misquito-magnet.

The food is really good, and you get apertizer and dessert includet with the main course. Try the curry, but be hungry before you order.

The staff are always friendly, and they upgraded us, which wasn't expected at all. Liked the beautiful flowers and trees surrounding the swimmingpool. Hotel is near the beach too (5 mins).

Really recommended and if we are in Unawatuna, we'll definatly coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the pent house suite. It was awesome! True that it took 1 hour to fill the Jacuzzi but in no time we were having fun! the private pool was cleaned every morning and the staff were friendly. Love the fact that the Sassi is an animal lover and the 3 doggies there were adorable. We loved them!!! pool side was very romantic and quiet!!! rooms were clean and it had a nice view of the garden. No phone in the room for room service-that was the only drawback. but still all was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiru9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great place ......two lovely,friendly dogs, and always,smiling,and helpfull owner/manager/chef...
with some great food too.....will be going again....And recomending this place to those who want to travel with kids and friends....close walk to one of the best beaches in Galle area too
Bikes to rent is a plus...for the more adventure related.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deshan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nts. Hotel was lovely. Unfortunately they were unable to accommodate a separate bed for our 3 yr old son so we had to share for the 3 nts. Pool was lovely, nice location and good amenities. Would stay again....if they guaranteed a separate bed.
Staff were very eager to take plates away at breakfast. Waited asked 5 times if I was finished with fruit plate! Did not have dinner and unsure of price as arranged trip with a driver/accommodation before leaving Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Stayed in Deluxe room with Jacuzzi. The owner Mr. Sassi is quite supportive and a animal lover. Hence he allows his two German shepherd to move around freely in lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $41 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing