We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Accommodating (Pun Intended)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, Accommodating (Pun Intended)”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly. Better location than most. Off beach but short walk. lots of restaurants near, but he hotel restaurant is very good and .. .accommodating. 3 of our group went fishing... came home with real fish (bonus) and the hotel restaurant cleaned and cooked them, in 3 different styles for a very small sum. but, it was NO BOTHER, more than happy to do this for us.
that pretty much sums the place up.
yes the pool is good even if the water garden around it is odd.
rooms were good.
but the accommodating nature was best..
and, I admit the dogs were a concern till I saw them keeping the very naughty monkeys at bay.

Room Tip: away from the pool as that means it is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sd500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    232
    54
    30
    22
See reviews for
217
404
33
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Flower Garden in a Deluxe cabana for four nights from 13 - 17 February. Upon arrival in the middle of the night, we were put into a suite, for one night, which had a lounge, spare bedroom for our son and a jacuzzi bath and "technological" shower with many buttons and a radio. The next morning, we were moved to our cabana. It had a lovely bathroom with a walk in shower. The beds are very comfortable and have mosquito nets. I actually preferred this room to the other one as I could work the shower!!! The rooms are set in a jungle garden. The staff are really sweet and were always playing with our three year old son. He adored the pool, and so did I as it was a good temperature. Breakfasts were good! My husband went for the Sri Lankan one (curry, dhal...), whereas I stuck with fruit, eggs and toast. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel (we wanted to try the food in town), but other guests did and I hear it has a good reputation. Sassi and his team run a lovely hotel and we would return without hesitation. It is a good hotel for a very good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the flower garden we had been to colombo and yala was hot and tired when got there we were greeted with cold drinks which were very welcome . We were shown to our room we were a bit disappointed as the room was very small and dark, but they had made the bed in flowers for my husband as it was his birthday very pretty , the balcony was large but shared with next door we were on first floor and had a lovely view of the jungle loving when sitting late afternoon listening to jungle noises. The food is second to none a little more expensive than other restaurants but worth it the curries are amazing although you have to book a day in advance, my husband had steak and it was mouth watering , and they had a lovely chocolate cake and sparklers for his birthday.The pool looks amazing and and very inviting after a very hot day although not many sunbeds so need to get there early if want one but very clean and kept nice. The beach is only a short walk away lovely sand and friendly people. Tut tuts can be got from outside hotel and are very reasonable, we used the same one and he took as to meet his family.All in all would recommend to stay at this hotel if you are not expecting big rooms but beds comfortable clean and staff are very friendly and helpful,.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabana think they are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile


Despite being half board at a nearby 5star hotel we ate here for 3 nights, my son has spent his last two Christmas holidays at the flower garden and has spoken very highly of Sassi and his staff so on our second day we thought we would go and have a look for ourselves,we went along one morning for a drink whilst in Unawatuna. My wife had the opportunity to have a walk around the grounds and view a vacant cabana and was impressed with what she saw,we went back that night for dinner and had a delightful meal,the minestrone soup for me has only been bettered by a little restaurant we once found in Menorca,and the fillet steak was first class,looking at the menu it was very varied with some very nice sea fish,which we tried on our next visit, all in all this hotel has got to be real value for your money,and definitely worth finding to have a evening meal. Did meet Sassi and what a delightful and genuine chap he is,talking to one of his staff one evening all excited because this year Sassi was taking them to Thailand for their annual holiday, as they have been all around Sri Lanka in the past. How many bosses today treat staff so well. All being well on my sons next visit mum and dad will also be with them. Finally a thank you to all the staff at the flower garden.







Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After considerable research (on Trip Advisor) of various properties in Unawatuna, we picked Flower Garden to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. We were a pretty diverse group of around 20 Adults and 9 Children and had 12 units which covered the entire spectrum offered by the Hotel. To say we had a fabulous stay would be an understatement.

The success of our trip came from the fact that not one person in our group had anything adverse to say about the quality of accommodation, the pricing, the food or the service. Infact all I heard was - what a fabulous place. We did stretch and crowded their Kitchen on some days and there were some minor delays but the staff handled it with a smile. I personally had some dietary restrictions and inspite of being fully booked the kitchen staff provided me all my special meals.

Thank you Sassi for making this milestone a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room / cabana with a Jacuzzi...after a day at the beach chilling in the jacuzzi is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjayA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

In Unawatuna this independat hotel is a little gem. We had a Luxury Cabana for 14 nights as we were attending a wedding locally. We enjoyed having the monkeys and chipmunks running around in the mornings, jumping on the roof of the cabanas, The staff were always cheerful and helpful. There was a down side that stopped the rating going higher. The rooms were very dark with very little natural light. Round the pool there were not enough sunbeds and lots of wasted space. Because of the amount of foliage you end up getting severly bitten by insects of all types, mostly mosquitoes though. The admin staff did not seem to get much right as we were twice asked if we were leaving on a certain date before our leaving time, they also could not use a card machine, as with different cards they kept telling us there was a fault with the card, but we had previously used it elswhere with no problems, even the Thomas Cook card which is a money card they said did not work, when I knew full well that it did as I had used it earlier in the day.On the web site it says there is a gym with a trainer on site, this is not the case at all, there is no gym at all, which was dissapointing.

Room Tip: All rooms have very little natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGeniusHeathrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in a deluxe cabana and were usually awoken about 7.45am by the monkeys on the roof.In our opinion these cabanas are the best choice as you have a balcony and a small garden in front of it.We had been concerned that during the past 2 years the standards may have changed, however this was not the case. The staff were just as attentive although sometimes there is the problem of the request 'being lost in translation'.Many of the staff were there 2 years ago. Sassi the owner spends a lot of time at the hotel and during our stay appeared to be cooking most nights.(Sassi trained as a chef in Switzerland).The sunbed area around the pool is rather small but there is a further pool to be built in the near future. The location is perfect as it a short stroll to the beach but far enough that the party noise from the beach will not disturb your sleep

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Property: Flower Garden Hotel
Address: Wella Dewalaya Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Unawatuna
Hotel Flower Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing