We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
$144
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$90
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
497
244
58
31
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
244
58
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe cabanathe ownersri lankasuper deluxenice pooltuk tukwalk in showerjacuzzi bathtucked awayan oasisair conmini barwelcome drinkstayed here for nightssun loungerslarge bathroomshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 857 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Flower Garden Hotel for 7 nites, Oct '10. The room was clean & comfortable, but the verandha was excellent for relaxing amongst the landscape, drinking a Lion beer & watching the tropical rain pour down. The pool area was great & morning breakfast consistently good. Less than a 10min walk to the beach but well away from the noise. The staff even showed me how to prepare an authentic Sri Lankan meal from scratch, no charge mind you.

Halfway through our stay, Sassi offered a nite at his newly developed property on the edge of Yala National Park. The package included his own A/C van as transport & allowed us to stop anywhere we wanted to along the way, Yala Park safari & a nite in a luxurious bungalow with an incredible curry dinner.

Sassi is an awesome host & has trained his staff to western 5* standards. The first place to consider staying at in Unawatuna.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyleeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have just spent 9 days in Unawatuna with my 13 year old son and wanted to share some information with other travellers.
We stayed at the Flower garden hotel, which always receives good reviews and I can see why. Our room was a deluxe cabana and cost $69per night with breakfast. I looked at other hotels in the same area when I arrived and realised that our room was the best quality and the price was good. ( the prices are high in this area).
The breakfasts are good with a hugh fruit plate, followed by eggs, tea/coffee and toast. As an alternative you can have the Sri Lankan breakfast which is a curry feast.
The satff are friendly and Sassi, the owner is great- nothing too much trouble. He even allowed my son in the kitchen when we told him how much he enjoyed cooking!
The pool is clean and big- the largest in the area.
The flowers in the garden are beautiful and well looked after .
The meals in the evening are delicious and good value compared to other places.
Other info that might be useful...
We did a cookery class with Kuruna at Sonya Healthfood restaurant, 7 mins walk from the hotel- excellent day and we made 7 dishes to eat later that day ( 3,000 ruppes per person, approx £18)
We did a cycling tour with Idling cylces, easy riding and pleasant ( 2,000 r each)
Salmon, from the hotel took us on a simple fishing trip off the rocks at Jungle Beach and my son was delighted to catch a few mullet, which the restaurant can cook for you.
Best massages for me, where at Thamplan Resort with Rangan, he sorted out a few muscle problems.
We had feet massages and pedicures @ foot Rub next to Unatwatuna Beach Resort

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fifi186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really special place. Lovely pool, bar area, and restaurant. Breakfast was standard fare - eggs and fruit - but fresh. Beach is a 5-10 min walk, not far at all and quite pleasant. Very relaxing hotel. We did have an issue with the first room - aircon wasnt that strong - but they moved rooms for us very easily so it was fine. We met the owner, nice guy. Overall, a great place

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room in the main hotel area. Tea/coffee maker, fridge. Big bed. There are also cabanas, some of which looked amazing (had their own jacuzzi)
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We arrived at the Flower Garden a day early and the owner, Sassi, couldn't have been more accommodating. We were given an idyllic cabana with our own garden and terrace, very private and relaxing. The room conditions are better than anything I've seen in Sri Lanka. Immaculate, beautiful antique furnishings, mosquito nets, mini-bar, lovely modern bathroom. The cabanas have real character.

Breakfast (which is included in the price) was great. Fruit, choice of eggs, toast and juice. All very well cooked. The restaurant was good too. I had a calamari which was second to none! On the last day we had the Sri Lankan breakfast which was great and should be experienced. The egg hoppers are excellent!

The staff at the Flower Garden are also great. There is a real professionalism about the place that makes you feel like you're in a resort hotel, but without the trappings. The staff or owner are not pushy, just want to make you feel comfortable and ensure you're having a good time.

The facilities/services are also good - massage is recommended as is the Tuk Tuk driver outside (sorry, don't know his name) who took us on a great trip to the lagoon and turtle hatchery.

I booked this hotel in the knowledge that it was Unawatuna's no.1 hotel on TripAdvisor and I wasn't disappointed. Highly highly recommended. It made our holiday!

Room Tip: Get a cabana, they are perfect
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmaclarekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I have stayed twice before, and the warm welcome and friendly, homely, feel is such a pleasure.

Both times we have stayed in a cabana, in a four-poster bed, with a modern, quality bathroom.

The location, a few hundred yards from the beach, is great if you want to have a relaxing place to stay rather than the hustle-bustle of beachside accommodation. Being one of the only - if not the only - place with a pool gives you somewhere to swim in cool, still water, if you want a change from the sea.

The breakfasts are wonderful - plenty of fresh fruit, and lovely Sri Lankan omelettes.

I never go without having a massage or two. Very reasonably-priced, a leisurely massage at the end of the day, retiring to the cabana to let the oils soak in, leave you feeling relaxed and soft-skinned. A great way to end a day in the sun, before heading out for an evening meal.

Sassi is very communicative and easy to deal with from afar, and I have nothing but good to say about the whole setup at the Flower Garden.

Room Tip: The detached cabanas are a great little piece of privacy
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hunneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews