We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As wlcoming as last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa in Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa in Paradise
Ranked #47 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“As wlcoming as last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed here and it was excellent. The Taylor's got our booking details and requests correct, everything was clean and the breakfast was served nicely. This villa is excellent value for money and is one of the few places in Unawatuna with a pool. We were lucky enough to be there when Roger and Maureen, the owners had a local lady in to cook an Authentic Sri Lankan meal for those staying there . This was a memorable evening ang mixed well with the other dining options in Unawatuna. Thank you Maureen and Roger.

Room Tip: The so called honeymoon suite is a larger room with a small furnished terrace out side and near to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Hope to see you again here at Villa in Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We planned to stay 4 nights, finally stayed 6 and had a very good time :

- location : the villa is not by the beach, but is located behind the road at a very quiet place close to a school and monk monastery (nice ambiance) with a good view and birds. This is definitely a plus for us as the beach can be crowded and noisy. And I liked to walk back to the villa at night (5 minutes from the beach), and hear the noises of the forest ...

- rooms : simple, but very clean and comfortable. All don't have the same size and view, so have a look on several (if there are vacancy)

- swimming pool : lovely

- staff : very friendly

- breakfast and dinner : good breakfast. I don't think you can have dinner every night, as the it is prepared by a neighbor. You got once with others guest, and it was one of the best rice & curry we had.

- price : good value at 40 USD, 60 USD would have been overpriced I think.

And finally the owners Maureen and Roger are really nice people, they try to make your vacations as good as possible. Roger is also very funny (but if he tries to offer you a brown "thing" called Marmite, avoid, pretend you already know it ... especially if you are French as I am, I don't believe any French can enjoy "it").

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lboutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I don`t understand why French people dislike Marmite. Beats snails & frogs legs anyday , imho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Nice, quiet, clean and cool house.
Lovely garden and peaceful pool area.
Yummy breakfasts complete with entertainment from the resident comedian.
Some of the jokes were even funny ... ! The birds were characters too and had names!
Friendly staff. A short walk from the beach.
We recommend this cosy place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarojini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to your future return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Roger & Maureen's lovely villa is appropriately named. It really is a Villa in Paradise. Set back from the main road on the hillside it is surrounded by mature trees & landscaped gardens with a lovely swimming pool and hammocks & loungers for guests. We saw plenty of birds (orioles, barbets, kingfishers & sunbirds) and animals (monkeys, squirrels & lizards) from the balcony & garden.

The villa itself felt like a home from home similar to a good quality English bed & breakfast. It was spotlessly clean and the room was made-up daily. We had the use of our own kitchen area for making drinks with a fridge full of soft drinks and beers that worked on an honesty system. The breakfast was excellent; eggs of your choice, unlimited fresh bread (or toast) & jam plus tea or coffee and a fresh fruit plate.

Roger couldn’t have been more helpful throughout our stay from the moment he came to meet us on the road to arranging a tuk-tuk for our departure and waving us off. He is an affable fellow with a wry Yorkshire sense of humour and an enviable knowledge of cricket – the Geoffrey Boycott of Unawatuna! He will help & advise with your travel plans and offer recommendations for local restaurants & cafes. We visited a couple of these and they were really good.

The villa also runs local tours and regular Sri Lankan curry nights, has a small library of books and hires good quality snorkelling equipment so you will not be bored. That is if you can drag yourself away from the pool & garden!

I think the villa offers good value for Sri Lanka. During a 3 week visit to the island we paid the same or more in places that were nowhere near as nice as this. If we return to Sri Lanka we will certainly be looking up Roger & Maureen again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. You are welcome to return anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

The location of this property is perfect as you are slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Unawatuna beach front so it is very peaceful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there are many social areas which are good to read in or play cards etc. I highly recommend staying here and would definitely stay there again if I went back to Unawatuna. The hosts are simply lovely and will go out of their way to make sure you have an excellent stay in Sri Lanka, (watch out for the jokes, Roger's a hoot!). I would definitely recommend having a typical Sri Lankan meal there too which is available some evenings as it is delicious and very good value for money.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending, you'll have a lovely time. Thank you Roger, Maureen and all at Villa in Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Let me know if you plan to return and I will search the internet for more jokes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Set up away from the main road and beach, in a lovely location this B&B was a great place to stay for us. Having the monkeys in the trees above was amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There are also lots of communal areas to relax in, including an inviting pool. We really enjoyed the breakfasts and also had the Sri Lankan curry evening which was yummy! Maureen and Roger are Great hosts (watch out for Rogers Jokes! ;) and their team were all extremely friendly and helpful. Being away from the beach meant also being away from the noise and so gave the B&B a lovely homely feel. I would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. You are most welcome to return here anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The setting is second to none especially if you like bird life - we even saw a bird of paradise flycatcher in all his glory! Maureen and Roger are very welcoming and helpful. Their staff are excellent and the breakfast is very good. It is only ten minutes walk from the beach and is a haven. The pool is lovely. You can make tea and coffee for yourself at any time and this adds to the relaxed feel of the place. There is an honesty board to mark if you have any bottles of beer or water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecelia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaYorkie09, Owner at Villa in Paradise, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments re the birds. They really are amazing. We now have 2 crows , named Russell & Cheryl , who wait patiently for pineapple centres each morning. You are most welcome here anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#15 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#31 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Grove Villas
Beach Grove Villas
#6 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nature Trails Boutique Hotel
Nature Trails Boutique Hotel
#113 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damith Guest House
Damith Guest House
#60 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Retreat
Tropical Retreat
#16 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa in Paradise

Property: Villa in Paradise
Address: 26 Temple Road, Peellagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa in Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa is a quiet haven away from road noise and all night disco music. Only sounds are from bird song and monkeys playing in surrounding jungle. Large exotic garden and inviting swimming pool are added features to help make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa in Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa In Paradise Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing