We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a good location, not a 5 star hotel (for better)”
Review of Home Stay Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Stay Strand
Ranked #44 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Strand Guest House this week. We truly enjoyed our stay, the very hospitable staff, the key location just off the main Unawatuna beach in a quite area, and all at a fair and reasonable price. The furniture and furnishings takes you back to another time - large 4-poster beds, armoires, etc. - and the size of the rooms is more than you'd ever need. We asked for the typical Sri Lankan breakfast of dahl curry, coconut sambhal, string hoppers, and fruit - which was prepared well. My only warning to travellers is that most all of the rooms were designed pre-air conditioning, so open aired. It's welcome to have the fresh air but watch out for the mosquitos, etc. Each bedroom we saw had a very comfortable, non-intrusive mosquito net so not much an issue at all. Anyway, Asaka and the staff were so friendly and welcoming that I cannot say anything bad about the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are thankful for your 'post-haste' review, and would be happy to have you for a longer stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for a few nights and really felt it was the best place we could have chosen in Unawatuna. We fully support the comments of the previous writers. The atmosphere created by Asoka and his family in the colonial style house is really welcoming, family like and provides you with a local flavour. And yes, in the beautiful garden with trees and plants almost as dense as in the jungle, there is wonderful wildlife, which we can definitely give evidence for: The monkeys took our fruit from the balcony :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words,we wish you a merry Christmas when you get back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We would recommend anyone to stay here - it was such a good find. Asoka was a fantastic host with entertaining stories (just about about his famous guests) and good tips for the best places to eat (the west end of the beach with the less touristy places).

The omlette was by far the best in Sri Lanka, made by his charming and friendly chef/housekeeper and the freshest and tastiest bread in the country - a superb breakfast.

As for accomodation we had a tour of all the rooms, spacious, clean and with character. We stayed in 'The Nest' as most recommend and we were not disappointed, probably the best value for money in our whole trip and the balcony was a great place to relax witha beer at the end of a hard day sunbathing! Also have to mention the shower - super powerful and hot - very happy!

Even though we only stayed three nights we felt at home and were very sad to leave. You may think a beachside hotel is more appealing but the beach is less than 1 min walk away and The Home Stay Strand offered a more enjoyable experience. Thanks Asoka, we wish you all the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry_George242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks Georgina Barry~Gr8 review, we try to live upto our TripAdvisor guests expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The place is perfectly placed two minutes from the beach, restaurants and a dive shop. The house is set in a beautiful garden, where you will see monkeys and tropical birds. Asoka, the owner of the hotel, will make sure you have a great stay. I asked for hoppers for breakfast, and got it the next couple of days. Really nice people there, two gorgeous dogs and a friendly cat. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks Ida for your gr8 review, you took the sunshine away, now we are drenched in heavy rains.
Our dogs Chutta and Chewy seen to miss U. Enjoy ur hols in Thailand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 small kids- 2 and 5 years) were there for a week February 2012
It is a very homey sort of place. We had an air conditioned room upstairs which I can recommend AC since none of the Mosquito repellant we bought seemed to have any effect.

Every morning we saw monkeys in the trees, which was one of the highlights of staying there.
Asoka (the owner) is so nice as is his staff as well.

The place needs a makeover, but I still liked it and location is perfect.
Unawatuna is an alright place. The best thing about it is it is easy to test different nearby beaches during the day. The streets got quite crowed with cars during the weekend. It is very easy to get with the new highway, so a lot of locals end up there.
Unawatuna's beaches are not amazing for just relaxing on the beach. I think it use to be since I read everywhere how it was one of the top 10 beaches in the world, but I don't know what happened, but the water basically comes up to the restaurants nowadays, so there are very few places to actually play in the sand and swim safely, which is what we are looking for with small kids. People told me the landscape had changed alot since the Tsunami of 2004.

While Unawatuna is a nice place, it is completely filled with restaurants from one side to the next.

I wouldn't rate it in the top 1000 beaches in the world, maybe it is just me but I have been to a lot of different beaches.

For budget travellers, Homestay strand is great location and with a little paint job and new matresses/sheets, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Britta and Scott Thanks for your Review, Yeah! We have refurbished our rooms and remolded our Apartment into 2 rooms~Casa Anna and Casa Lillo. Also have hotwater showers in all suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great stay for three nights during September. The old building is set back from the road and beach by about 100m which means it is nice and peaceful but just a short walk to the main strip. We stayed in the Garden Room which was furnished very nicely with a great big comfortable bed. Everything was clean, fresh towels were provided and we were also given bottled water which was much appreciated.

The veranda was lovely for breakfast (which was very substantial and yummy). The staff are great and the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. The dogs are lovely too :)

All in all excellent value for money and a very enjoyable stay - one of the best in our four weeks in Sri Lanka. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyh49, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you Jeanie for your nice review, i hope I get a link on your Blog too.
Hope to see you and Dave again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A short stroll away from the main road/beach - this quiet location is a great choice for any type of traveler. The owner will gladly show you around to all of the different rooms available - each has it's own individual characteristics. The hosts are extremely friendly, helpful, humble, and knowledgeable about the area as they have been open since 1982!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg26892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you Jess & Ryan, this was quick, I hope we see you both again neXt year.
I think now I get a TripAdvisor badge ha! he!
Enjoy your stay in Galle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 34 in Unawatuna
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 34 in Unawatuna
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 161 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing