We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and authentic place”
Review of Home Stay Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Stay Strand
Ranked #23 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and authentic place”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I found information about the Home Stay Strand somewhere on the net. I was especially attracted by beauty of the place and its original character. It should be underlined that the host is very responsive and friendly, both while booking tha apartment and during the stay. There is a wonderful atmosphere, good balance between a private house and good quality guesthouse.The Strand is located few meters from the road, in the middle of a splendid garden, full of birds, well educated monkeys (they do not jump on your terrace:) and squirrels. There are tasteful breakfasts served on your own terrace or in the lobby. Host and his staff are friendly, communicative and helpful, also in organising trips or hiring car.
We spent 8 days in Strand, left in mid-February and miss it ever since. It so much better than any hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaSylwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Please accept our belated appreciation of your review, We discovered TA Tools only recently~Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have returned from our 5th visit to Unawatuna and the Strand, Asoka and Hilda are charming hosts, with a wealth of local knowledge. As always we stayed in the garden suite and enjoyed breakfast on our own veranda watching the birds and monkeys that are frequent visitors to the tropical garden. The staff make you feel welcome and are always on hand and happy to help. Once again a memorable holiday and hope to return in the not too distant future, you may arrive at the Strand as a guest but you will leave as a friend.
Alex and Jan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aunderh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Jan&Alex, we are waiting for your Sixth trip in 2013!
December 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the nest room, which was a tranquil and comfortable spot. Added to this as it's at tree height you get a great view of the birds and monkeys that seem to live nearby. This included on two occasions a wild peacock. I would thoroughly recommend the strand for those who want to stay in a characterful house with a very helpful and friendly family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Please accept our belated appreciation of your review, We discovered TA Tools only recently~Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the strand house for 3 nights over new year's on our honeymoon. We had a great time, the owner and hos staff really made us feel at home. We had a large room, with balcony and a bathroom which had the hottest shower we found in 4 weeks across Sri Lanka!
The house is well within walking distance of the beach but far enough away from the main streets to remain quiet and private

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Please accept our belated appreciation of your review, We discovered TripAdvisor Tools only recently~Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have stayed several times since 1993 and will be back. Tranquil, friendly, in a good position for the beach and restaurants. It is like going to stay with friends, the hard part is leaving.
Alex and Jan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aunderh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Please accept our belated appreciation of your review, We discovered TripAdvisor Tools only recently~Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varsseveld
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We are coming back almost every two year from 1996 till now. And its like coming home.
Asoka place is the best to stay in Unawatuna the garden the whole suroundings are perfect. My children like it very much, so if you consider to go to Unawatuna check Strand.
Hans Prinsen the netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hey! Hans, you've been to STRAND couple of times since this review, We are looking forward to your return this Xmas/Sylvester~you may see some changes in the Apartment you usually stay.
Greetings to all~asoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We've been traveling around Asia for 6 months, and when we stumbled upon this home stay in Unawatuna, Sri Lanka, we knew we'd found something special. Beautiful room in a beautiful house, set just in land from the main beach (check out the pictures and review above). The owners are super friendly and really made us feel at home. Hilda can also cook a fantastic curry! Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Unawatuna, looking for chilled out digs with a touch of Sri Lankan history thrown in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richie038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Please accept our belated appreciation of your review, We discovered TripAdvisor Tools only recently~Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Brinkhouse Guest House
Brinkhouse Guest House
#22 of 126 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
No Name Rest
No Name Rest
#13 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdhouse
Birdhouse
#12 of 126 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bandupala Guest House
Bandupala Guest House
#93 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunils Garden Guesthouse
Sunils Garden Guesthouse
#19 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
#33 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Stay Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Property: Home Stay Strand
Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing