We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb international food with a Sri Lankan twist ”
Review of Bedspace Kitchen

Bedspace Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 158 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: We use the BEST local ingredients to elevate International classics into something new and sublime. Our produce is Organic wherever possible, and we aim to use sustaibale modern suppliers who we can help promote in the local market
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

The menu sounds very western but the chef is combining western meals with local products. We went there twice because it was so good. The location is right in a garden with an open kitchen. Run by expats you can be sure about the quality. The staff is really friendly.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 64philipt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 657 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2016

Bedspace and Kitchenspace is a real gem of Una! The guys who opened the place has really good taste.And the chef has gem hands, the food creation should go to a museum:)) The plating is beautiful, eyes gets satisfied just from looking at eat, and the taste is acomplishing the whole thing!
I d recommend anyone who is in Una visit the place, if u really understand in good dining!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlmaCarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We went here whilst staying in Galle for a slight change. The atmosphere was uber cool, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. We had the seafood platter for 2 and the creme brûlée for 2, and both were exquisite. The buttered cuttlefish in particular was exceptional. With drinks the meal came to about £30, and it was worth every penny. This place is worth a detour just to come and eat here. Highly highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank samuelillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

I've been here a couple of times now and the food is just out of this world. Very creative dishes with amazing flavours. Not to mention the crazy awesome Hibiscus and Cinnamon soda!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arunalu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Was pretty excited to try this place after reading so many great reviews but alas it fell terribly short of our expectations.

Firstly, for some reason, the restaurant decided that they were not going to serve any alcohol on that day so we couldn't have cocktails as we had planned to. I ordered an iced latte off the menu instead and was both shocked and amazed to find that not a single staff in the entire restaurant knew what an iced latte was, even though it was on their menu! After bringing me two different drinks that were most definitely NOT iced lattes and having discussions with the rest of the staff on what an iced latte was, I finally gave up and told them I didn't want it anymore, to save myself from further dismay.

Unfortunately things could only get worse. I ordered the lasagna and was told they didn't have the ingredients to prepare it so I was forced to order something else instead. The waiter wrote our orders down on a piece of paper and we started our extremely long wait for food even though there were only two other tables at that time.

After what seemed like an eternity, our mains arrived. We were wondering why our mains arrived before our starter and found that the waiter had forgotten to order it for us despite writing all our orders down on a piece of paper. How he had managed to accomplish such a seemingly impossible feat is really beyond me.

The food itself was alright and nothing to shout about. The best of the lot was probably the hot butter cuttlefish. The meat that came in the souvlaki was extremely tough and we had a hard time chewing it. The hibiscus and cinnamon soda was overly sweet and had a strange, slightly salty aftertaste. The brulee on the creme brulee was also not well-executed.

The ambience was alright, although when we arrived, they were burning some kind of bonfire in the middle of the path and the entire restaurant was filled with smoke which wasn't exactly pleasant.

Overall, a very disappointing experience and it was not cheap either! Perhaps we were just unlucky as it seems many others had a good experience here.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank llouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcoski, Manager at Bedspace Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Bugger, well although we try, I guess you can't win em all :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedspace Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bedspace Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.