We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a stylish retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ambakanda Villa

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Downstairs bedroom Downstairs bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Exterior
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
Veranda
Dining table
Desk
Sitting room
Loungers
Downstairs bedroom
Dining area
Nearby Wijaya beach at sunset
Upstairs bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
547franci...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a stylish retreat”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Ambakanda is a supremely stylish little house, the garden shared with monkeys, lizards and tropical birds, the house, quiet and beautifully put together with comfortable terraces outside and a smart Sri Lankan interior.
We spent three days here in February, walked down to the beach to eat and swim during the day and returned to the peace and tranquility of Ambakanda in the afternoons and evenings. Djotha, who looks after the house and garden, showed us where to shop and showed me how to cook Sri Lankan curry, I have been eating it ever since. Altogether excellent!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chilled, relaxed, comfortable, amazing food and highly recommended”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I have stayed at Ambakanda a couple of times now and it never fails to deliver. . Hidden just off the beaten track but still only a short walk or a tuk tuk ride to a number of beaches this home provides a place to unwind, relax and enjoy your holiday. Jotha will also be able to arrange outings or tuks tuks, as well as cooking the most amazing egg hoppers and sri Lankan curry or just a omelette if you prefer. Great for a family or friends alike. Highly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Hi,

Glad you enjoyed your time at the house, hope to see you back there sometime.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribalmar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful 2 weeks at beautiful Ambakanda. It is quiet, clean and very comfortable. Good wi-fi and hot water. Amazing value for money and if you get Jotha to organise a scooter hire everything is very accessible. Jotha is an amazing cook and we ate in most nights ( It's about £7 per person)....His coconut pancakes are to die for. I don't have a single complaint and I just don't understand the previous bad review. In the tropics yes paint peels and buildings need constant maintenance which it is obvious that Ambakanda receives but if you want a completely sanitised experience then book into the Amangalla but be prepared to pay 20x the price and moan to your heart's content. In my opinion somewhere like Ambakanda is infinitely preferable and a much more authentic experience. Thanks Andrew for the great communication and Jotha for looking after us so well. Stay here you won't regret it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Hi Marco,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback here.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, this is not a boutique villa”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

THIS IS NOT A BOUTIQUE VILLA, it was filthy run down and we left within the hour of turning up and had to find alternative accommodation.The photos on the website look great but unfortunately they dont represent the villa. The place was filthy, cushions dog eaten, mosquito nets covered in dead mosquitoes, fag burns and blood, both sun loungers broken, one dumped behind the house, the other with makeshift repair, the shower under the stars green with mould and slimy, table lamp broken, plaster falling off walls, filthy dirty everywhere, I could go on and on. The view !! Not bad when you look past the half constructed house/building site right next to the villa. The owner !! Not really interested that his villa was tired and in desperate need of tlc and the fact we lost a days holiday and was stuck trying to find alternative accommodation. Just said we can organise a refund and washed his hands of us !!! Very very very disappointing. If you are thinking on renting the villa I would request updated photos !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing, too dirty and run down to stay
Liked least: eveything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
I was disappointed to hear the guests feelings about the house and they were given a full refund.

With the exception of the sun loungers, the state of which I was unaware of and which have been replaced, I have been unable to reconcile their account of the house with the reviews from guests, both previous and subsequent, who have actually stayed at the villa, which have been without exception positive.

Rather than responding in depth to what I feel is both an unfair and inaccurate review, I would urge potential guests to read the other reviews both here and elsewhere as I feel they will carry more weight than anything I could say here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidharth...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I and our two young children spent two glorious weeks at this villa and loved it immensely. Andrew the owner was extremely helpful via email and prompt with his replies, and Jotha the house keeper by the end of the stay became part of our family!

It was great to be a little bit away from the beach and the hill top breeze was a blessing at night. I would highly recommend a stay here based on location to really great family beaches and the hospitality of all those involved in the rental.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
HI Sidharth,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the house. Hope to see you back sometime.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony G
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent three nights at the villa and, with hindsight, we wished we had stayed longer. The villa and garden are both wonderful. Jothi (the housekeeper) is a really nice chap, who cooks lovely curries, and my son spent hours playing with Birol, his dog. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
HI Anthony,

Glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Best,

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjenkins2...
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely villa”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely villa which offers a nice alternative to the beach hotels. Best bit was having Jotha (home help) who cooks a great rice and curry. Worst bit was always having to get a tuk tuk, as villa is located up a very steep hill.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing