We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little place”
Review of Queens Art Cafe

Queens Art Cafe
Ranked #35 of 99 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet little place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband loved the food here and we came quite often during our two week stay in Unawatuna. They make great juices, especially passion fruit, it's divine. Good hearty home made food. I tried the Thai green chicken curry and it was a big portion with rice and salad. My husband who is really fussy about his coffee actually loved the coffee they had so that was a big plus for him. The proprietor KK and his wife are a really sweet couple and we were really happy with their service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely people & food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

From the outside it looks very cozy and friendly. The food was very nice. Especially the deserts & coffee were excellent! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellecornelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tears of Joy!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

It was a discovery. Last but one day at Unawatuna and we found this restaurent for breakfast. We have been trying standard Srilankan food for days but still i asked for Srilankan combo. It was fish curry, rice, coconut sambal. The fish curry was heavenly, subtle taste of coconut and soft perfectly cooked fish. I liked the sambol on side. My friend had chicken and omelette and it worked so very well for him. We ordered watalappam and one more dessert. The food was excellent, the ambiance graceful and classy. We liked everything here so much that my friend asked the guy to make sure that the cook (his wife) stays till he brings his family to try the food here.
In the end, if you want subtlety and not excess of unwanted masalas, Mildly sweet desserts-This is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank XGYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Voted with my feet and went back for more”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped first for a breakfast, and then came back twice for lunch. The carrot and ginger soup, French toast, hoppers with fruit, wrap and rice and chicken curry were all good and reasonably priced.
We may go back again tomorrow


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good coffe, lovely food, beautiful jewelry”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very surprised to find a cute little cafe on the road to the temple just out of the centre of the little beach side of town of Unawatuna. Fantastic coffee - which is rare in Sri Lanka! Lovely wraps and cakes made by Shazna. And also - great music! Ahamed Mubarak also makes beautiful jewelry.
A sweet find!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Art Cafe also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Queens Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing