We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and Relaxing time in French Lotus!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
French Lotus Guest House
Ranked #7 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect and Relaxing time in French Lotus!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Do not hesitate and book a room or an appartment in the great and beautiful French Lotus! We had a truly wonderful stay in Unawathuna in this very beautiful colonial style house. Gaelle and Cedric were always willing to share tips and nice places to visit in the area such as the best beaches; restaurants; ayurvedic massages; places to visit, etc.
The whole staff of the guesthouse is always happy to help and very kind. Just relax and enjoy .... :)
thanks again to Gaelle and Cedric!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
74
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the French Lotus in February 2014 just for a couple of days and we had a great time. House location is good, just 5-7 minutes to the beach. Hosts are very nice and positive young couple from France. They have a beautiful garden and friendly staff. Our room was simple, but good, with very big bed with mosquito net. No problem with hot water and wifi.
I would definitely recommend this location for those who want to stay in quiet place in the center of Unawatuna.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oleg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay at French Lotus Guest House at the very end of our Sri Lanka adventure and I have to say it was the perfect way to end our holiday. The hosts were extremely warm and obliging on arrival and made us feel welcome in their gorgeous guest house. It felt like coming to see an old friend! The rooms are simply yet elegantly designed in a colonial fashion and the bed was very comfortable.
I can't say enough about the generous hosts; they were simply the icing on the cake, along with the gorgeous house dog, Cosma.
Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rohan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

French Lotus is a gorgeous little guest house with absolutely wonderful owners who made our stay most delightful. The rooms are small and basic but clean with very comfortable beds (incl. mosquito net and ventilator). We made the mistake not to book a room with an AC, so we did suffer slightly at night. The breakfast (incl in the price) is basic but the omelettes are amazing and the bread delicious. Otherwise the property is lovely, very quiet and relaxed with a great vibe, lovely garden and fantastic staff and owners.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haggis_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at the French Lotus guest house in January 2014 (2 adults and 5 years old child) and had fantastic time. Property is owned by a French couple and these people make your stay just perfect. Rooms are basic but the bed is very soft and comfortable with a large mosquito net which covers all the sleeping area without laying on your feet or head. Breakfast included in room rate could be better off, but overall the place is the best in Unawatuna and by my opinion it is money wasting if you look for something else around.There are many shops and restaurants nearby along Unawatuna beach and French Lotus guesthouse is a little paradise among busy properties around. Beautifull green garden with a swing just next to our door was an oasis after getting back from busy beach of Unawatuna. Many thanks to Gaelle, Cedric and all the staff for memorable stay. I reccommend this place to anyone who is coming to Sri Lanka, in Galle district FRENCH LOTUS GUESTHOUSE is the best option for accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, we stayed on the ground floor as there is a swing just infront of the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr_Stich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Lovely guest house with wonderful owners that really cared about providing a comfortable stay. The beach and many restaurants/bars are just a short walk down the road, overall great location. No AC but didn't need it in January. Bring bug spray!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Absolutely amazing guest house in Unawatuna. It was actually the third place we stayed in the town and in my opinion you would be wasting your money if you stayed elsewhere. We came for 3 nights and ended up staying for 8. The building itself is beautiful and exceptionally well looked after. The rooms are extremely comfortable and have lovely touches like flowers on the bed and beautiful antique furniture. The breakfast is perfect and easily the best we had in 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Gaelle, Cedric and the rest of the team honestly couldn't be more welcoming, helpful and friendly. We have come across a lot of people who definitely shouldn't be running hotels in the last 2 months in India/Sri Lanka but the opposite is true here. A genuinely memorable stay and we couldn't recommend the French Lotus any more highly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHK102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lotus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lotus Guest House

Property: French Lotus Guest House
Address: Yadehhimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French Lotus Guest House is a haven of peace in the relaxed but lively village of Unawatuna, Sri Lanka. We are only few steps from the beautiful beaches of the Indian Ocean and close to all amenities this charming village has to offer. The French Lotus offers the warmest hospitality of a guesthouse. Our beautiful colonial home is surrounded by a tropical garden and is only 250m from the most beautiful beach in Sri Lanka, Unawatuna beach.You will find comfort and serenity in one of our 7 cozy rooms. Each room offers a large four-poster bed with private bathroom, hot water, fan or air condition. Overlook the tropical garden from your private terrace.Reserve a private room in our home for you or request the entire home for your family and friends. You can relax in in our spacious family room or let us plan your day to enjoy the numerous activities in the vicinity of Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your French Lotus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing