We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all. The Pink Elephant is a great place for travelers to spend their time in Unawatuna and surrounding towns. Great atmosphere, great staff, great location and friendly travelers really make this spot a no brainer. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
46
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I have not stayed so I can only speak about the food, but that is so delicious. Also, least annoying music I have heard in sri lankan restaurants, I dare say it was even good! Makes you enjoy your stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trev3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had an absolutely incredible weekend here. Fajer and Alison are the hosts of this little hotel and fuel the amazing atmosphere and character of the hotel. In the evenings it attracts dozens on people who are relaxing in the restaurant sharing stories. It is hard to say goodbye to such an awesome place and we will definitely be back!

The rooms are comfortable with plenty of charm. The food is simply delicious with lots of choice and very reasonable prices. Even if you can't stay in the hotel, you have to visit for the food! Great location (10 steps from the sand).

If you want an unforgettable stop in Unawatuna, choose the Pink Elephant!

Room Tip: They don't have many rooms but they definitely have a room for every budget so pick the one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abalchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent place to stay if you are backpacking and looking for a very cheap option. We had a room for 18$/night which was excellent value for money. Very basic but ok and clean (except the towels). Atmosphere is really chilled, the hotel is run by young people. It's a cool place to be if you are young and want to chill, get a beer, listen to music and want to meet other people. Also the hotel couldnt be better located, it's 3 steps from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannette216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We arrived 7 o'clock in the morning after travelling for almost 24 hours, and the place was shut down. After a while i found 2 guys sleeping on the floor in the resturant but they were quite confused, can't blame em when i just woke them up :) Anyway, they told us they didn't know anything about our reservation and the person in charge would be there around 10 so we put our bags in the resturant and went down to the beach to wait there. When we finaly came to speak with the person in charge she told us that the persons living in the room we booked was't going to check out.. At that point i started to get a bit irritaded but after a while she found another room for us, but i was a bit more expensive, but that was no problems considering all rooms was realy cheap. Well, the room was ok, just a hard bed with moscito net and a bathroom with hot water, a balcony wich you share with your nextdoor neighbur. The location is great just 30 secunds from the beach. The thing that really stood out was the food! The food was delicus and we ended up eating there many times even after we switched hotell to URB.. The staff is friendly and it's a backpacker mode kind of place. Well ther you have it, if you travell on a budget i would recomend Pink Elephant!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Calle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a really cool place and was great service and hospitality. The staff were very chilled out and the place was hip. The food was top notch and at a good price too. Ate here twice! Dessert also really good

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sway06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay here, think the dorm bathrooms could be cleaner, but for the price 800 rupees per night, its actually great value and you can't beat the friendly vibe. Really enjoyed the crowd and staff here.

You should bring earplugs to combat the nightly music from the beachside bars, which goes on quite late, but you will likely get that if you stay anywhere along this beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#22 of 30 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 110 Yaddahi Mulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant is located in the heart of Unawatuna, a stunning beach town on Sri Lanka’s Southern coast, just 5 km from Galle city centre. Whether you’re traveling on a shoestring or looking for a glamorously romantic getaway, the Pink Elephant has got you covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing