We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Pearl of Indian Ocean🇱🇰

We had a very good vacation in Sri Lanka. Our tour guide was Mr. Buddhika who’s very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed March 27, 2022
SaajanSathyaR
Sure as sunrise

We usually count on Sunrise Tours to pick our in coming Guests from BIA.So naturally theyask for... read more

Reviewed March 17, 2019
Asoka_una
,
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
63
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
5
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 68 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Since I found Sunrise Travels on Trip Advisor, while we spent 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, they were the once I used and I didn't want to use anybody else.
Buddhika is friendly, fast, effective and honest and he offers great services and has really good ideas for trips.
Once he found a trip for us with one hour notice. his drivers were always friendly and honest, asking for exactly the amount of money, that we agreed upon and his prices were quite reasonable. The cars he send us were really good quality and air conditioned and on one occasion, where the best car was gone with another group he called and explained that he will send another one, of a less quality and asked if it is was ok. The car that came then was just not as fancy, but comfortable, clean and with air conditioning. I am very happy with Sunrise travel services and even recommended them to one of The travel agencies here in Ukraine for cooperation.
Thank you so much and keep up the great job!!!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

For our Sri Lanka honeymoon our friends made us a very special present - a four day tour with Sunrise Travels to add some cultural and wilderness flavour to our beach vacation! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, all the more as we found in Mayara a highly competent guide and safe driver. He was highly knowledgable of all aspects of Sri Lanka and went out of his way to cater to our needs.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Jonathan314179
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We can not say enough good things about Sunrise Travel and how authentic they made our trip to Sri Lanka. First of all they came highly recommended to us, and Mr. Budhikka and his driver Mayura were everything we could have wanted from day one with first contact by email to book until the end of the trip when we regretfully said goodbye to Mayura. We spent 10 days traveling from Negombo, to Kandy, to N. Eliya, to Ella, to Yala and then to Mirissa to the beach for some relaxation and sunshine before heading back to Colombo. We saw elephants, we hiked, we whitewater rafted, we went to temples, we went on safari, and we ate and ate some more.

Mayura and his explanations about what we were seeing, his gentle persuasion to visit some sites we were not sure if we had the energy for, but were truly stunning and so valuable for us all to experience, and his safe, calm and professional driving made the trip not only enjoyable but memorable. We are so grateful for what he taught us and showed us. We toured Asia for six weeks (Malaysia, Laos, Thailand and Sri Lanka) and the time with spent with Mayura in Sri Lanka was our top experience (rated top by the kids too who are 14 and 16).

Planning the trip I had an idea of where we wanted to go and what might be of interest to our family of four (two teenage sons). I sent a request and a tentative itinerary to Mr. Budhikka and he was very prompt to respond. He not only worked out an itinerary with suggestions for us on what we could do but also worked with us ensure that the trip timing and destinations were a good fit as well as booked train tickets, and white water rafting. He provided us with a quote and we paid the deposit. Very easy and straightforward.

Our driver Mayura who met us at the airport and would be with us for the next 10 days was perfect. He was polite, professional and really friendly. His full attention was on ensuring that we were happy, and we would start out every morning with a checkin making sure we had every thing "passports? happy?" He had a lot of a patience for traveling everyday with messy teenage boys (the van was spotless every morning), and inquisitive Canadians. I am sure I drove him crazy with all my questions! He even attempted to teach us Sinhalese. He learned that my son was doing a school project on food and farming in Sri Lanka and that it was of interest to us and he made sure to point out different plants, and took us to see tea plantations, tours of rice fields, and pointed out relevant things along the way. And the food! great recommendations for places to eat and he would pull over at little stands with all types of fruit and fresh yogurt and treacle for us to experience. He also took everything in stride, from hanging our wet clothes on the side of the van while we hiked Hortons Plain to scraping the leach out of the ceiling vent in the van that I flung off my leg in a panic after we had climbed up the mountain side with him to see the tea growing "up close". so good natured.
The thing that really translated to us was how much he loved his country, and the people, and he showed us a very personal side of Sri Lanka. That totally made a huge difference. It made a deep impression on our boys and on us and we are very grateful for having him as not only our driver but a new friend.

We feel so lucky to have landed with Sunrise travel and gotten to know Mayura, we won't hesitate to recommend this business and team. I don't usually give 5 stars but they deserve it.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank LindaCG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

We were picked up in the early hours of Christmas Eve buy a happy friendly guy called Mayura.
I think after 3 flights over night, he had his work cutout to get any conversation out of us, but he tried nonetheless.
Immaculate Toyota minibus, a large bottle of water for each of us and we were off on a 5 hour drive to our first hotel!
No problem for him to stop for breakfast for us, he ordered it, waited on us and even paid (we hadn’t purchased any restaurant currency at this point.
Over the next few days we became firm friends. Where did we go?
Well we had a planned itinerary which turned out to be the basis for each day, although Mayura would suggest options and alternatives some we took others not.
Knowledgeable and informative, eager and proud to show us his country a perfect guide.
Over the first week we did safaris, temples, tea plantations, turtles, shops, street food, from Hambantota through Galle and ultimately back to Colombo.
A special mention for the drive up to Lipton’s Seat, wow! Weather was not the best, visibility was poor but some expert hill climbing. A welcome cup of tea and roti at the top, feeding the monkeys in the cloud was special. (Who needs a view?)
I love the Sri Lankan driving style, plenty of horn, headlight flashing and over use of indicators, express buses bullying their way through the traffic - all without any hint of road rage or anything close (all with a smile from Mayura).
On time, polite, friendly, eager to please we would definitely recommend Sunrise and should we return we would request Mayura.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank L7649RQrichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We used Sunrise Travels all the time we were in Sri Lanka and our driver/guide was called Mayara. He was always prompt and realistic about the travel times. He did everything he could to make sure we saw what we wanted and would always make sure we were happy even stopping at a supermarket for us to get lemon puffs! His driving was excellent and the vehicle was immaculate and comfortable. I would highly recommend this company for any tours and trips whilst in Sri Lanka.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank suesG2750SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews