We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Pearl of Indian Ocean🇱🇰

We had a very good vacation in Sri Lanka. Our tour guide was Mr. Buddhika who’s very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed March 27, 2022
SaajanSathyaR
Sure as sunrise

We usually count on Sunrise Tours to pick our in coming Guests from BIA.So naturally theyask for... read more

Reviewed March 17, 2019
Asoka_una
,
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
63
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
5
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 68 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

We were picked up in the early hours of Christmas Eve buy a happy friendly guy called Mayura.
I think after 3 flights over night, he had his work cutout to get any conversation out of us, but he tried nonetheless.
Immaculate Toyota minibus, a large bottle of water for each of us and we were off on a 5 hour drive to our first hotel!
No problem for him to stop for breakfast for us, he ordered it, waited on us and even paid (we hadn’t purchased any restaurant currency at this point.
Over the next few days we became firm friends. Where did we go?
Well we had a planned itinerary which turned out to be the basis for each day, although Mayura would suggest options and alternatives some we took others not.
Knowledgeable and informative, eager and proud to show us his country a perfect guide.
Over the first week we did safaris, temples, tea plantations, turtles, shops, street food, from Hambantota through Galle and ultimately back to Colombo.
A special mention for the drive up to Lipton’s Seat, wow! Weather was not the best, visibility was poor but some expert hill climbing. A welcome cup of tea and roti at the top, feeding the monkeys in the cloud was special. (Who needs a view?)
I love the Sri Lankan driving style, plenty of horn, headlight flashing and over use of indicators, express buses bullying their way through the traffic - all without any hint of road rage or anything close (all with a smile from Mayura).
On time, polite, friendly, eager to please we would definitely recommend Sunrise and should we return we would request Mayura.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank L7649RQrichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We used Sunrise Travels all the time we were in Sri Lanka and our driver/guide was called Mayara. He was always prompt and realistic about the travel times. He did everything he could to make sure we saw what we wanted and would always make sure we were happy even stopping at a supermarket for us to get lemon puffs! His driving was excellent and the vehicle was immaculate and comfortable. I would highly recommend this company for any tours and trips whilst in Sri Lanka.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank suesG2750SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Hi all
This is our second trip with budhikka and what a pleasure it was this time we travelled from West coast to East and up ,the itinerary and choices of hotels were great and the knowledge that budhika has is so informative and helpful we done a 12night tour this time so well planned time to start planning another and would not hesitate to use his services again thanks again
Jan and Wendy

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank janmikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Okay so my tour lasted over a week but we covered so much. I contacted Buddhika over a year before our planned trip. He worked out a great itinerary & kept in contact the entire time. The trip went as planned and we covered many of the most popular sites in our short time in this wonderful country. Sometimes he would go with us and explained as we toured other times he gave us the info & we were on our own, This was mostly for our "hikes" to World's End & Ella Rock. He liked to call them nature "walks" but my sister & I kidded him about his interpretation of walk vs hike. Still we enjoyed our vacation & were thankful for his guidance. Contact Sunrise Travels for your vacation and a great trip will be planned around what you want to see & let their experience also guide you to places you haven't thought about seeing.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank traveldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

When we visited Sri Lanka in December/January Buddhika was our guide. He drew up a really comprehensive itinerary which we cut down a little in the interest of having a bit more down time. Buddhika proved to be a terrific guide with a very good knowledge of the numerous sites we visited and the history. We will always remember his ever smiling face and would certainly use him again next time we visit Sri Lanka.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank cartergaumOnt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews