We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hospitality and very nice clean guest house..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sam's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam's Guest House
Ranked #9 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing hospitality and very nice clean guest house..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The guest house proprieter is a bright young man who has been helping us out from much before we landed in srilanka.He and his family went out of the way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.they treated us like their personal guests.the young man helped us with our train tickets,money conversion,getting a sim card..and what not..his mom cooked some lovely food for us..and his sister accompanied us all the way to buy gems..We really felt at home being in their guest house..this was our first destination in Srilanka and no doubt turned out to be the best..room is nice n clean..clean good bathrooms..nice terrace to have food..they have wi fi in rooms and also some books to read in leisure..right opposite bus stand,so made bus travel easy..they even sat with us and drew us a map to go to galle fort and peace pagoda..So finally,u completely trust this place to be free of hassles,comfortable and with people who give you a real experience of Srilankan hospitality..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nits6285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
71
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sam and his family are extremely hospitable and work hard to make sure you have everything you need and are very happy. There is a great vibe to the place, the found is great, as is the tea which they will bring to your room for just 70 LKR. The rooms came with air conditioning, were clean and smelt lovely + they were the cheapest option in town for a private room.

The guest house is a little bit off of the beach, which takes about 20 minutes to walk or 100LKR in a tuk tuk. This worked well for us as we needed to have a nice place with good wifi to do work in during the evening before heading into the center of Unawatuna.

Room Tip: Make sure you take cash to Unawatuna as there is no cash machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfingers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love this guesthouse and beach. The best of Sri Lanka. Owner are amazing and I miss all of them.
The rooms are cleane, big and food ist great.
This is the best option in town and I comming back again.
Guesthouse is only 2 min away from the beautiful beach.
Enjoy our stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked for two nights, but decided to stay one night extra. The family is extremely friendly, they helped us with our bustrip to Tissa. Location is on the mainroad (traffic noise during daytime), take a room at the back. Beach in walking distance, busstop for a daytrip to Galle very nearby.

Advice; book via e-mail (see their facebook) instead of a bookingsite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreekD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you. I really appreciate your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sam's Gust house is a small family-run place centrally located in Unawatuna close to beach, shops and restaurants. The family is estremely friendly and helpful and they did everything they could to make ud enjoy our stay in Unawatuna, gave us good advise on what to see and how to get there. The breakfast was good and served on their cosy little terasse. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable, and the rooms have private balconys. The best thing about it was the price - so felt that we got so much for our money. Extremely good value! I will recommend it to all travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline260989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I really appreciate your review. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying much longer then planned, and our stay was just perfect. Clean room, kind family and nice atmosphere gave us the homey feeling. Definitely can recommend this place. The place is a short walk from the beach, and standing on the balcony one can see the ocean.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ng02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.It's really important us to know your ideas to improve ourselves. you are always welcome to my place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for two nights and were so happy when we arrived. The rooms smelled so clean and the owners (family) were really friendly. This guesthouse is located on the main road and its only a two min walk from the beach. As we decided to do the diving courses at Unawatuna we extended our staying with 3 more nights.

The rooms are clean, spacious, there is a mosquito nest, really good breakfast and dinner. What could be a minus is the noice of all the traffic that passes on the mainroad. This family is by far the most friendly Ive met in Sri Lanka.

If I would come back to Sri Lanka ill go this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asli1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasun_T_Samarajeewa, Owner at Sam's Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.It's really important us to know your ideas to improve ourselves. you are always welcome to my place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#19 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Guest House

Property: Sam's Guest House
Address: Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Unawatuna, Sam's Guest House is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. The hotel lies 6.0 Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Unawatuna hotel. A selection of top-class facilities such as family room, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park, restaurant, 24-hour room service can be enjoyed at the hotel. Step into one of 8 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as desk, internet access - wireless, air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, fan. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Sam's Guest House hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing