We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion for 3 nights in October 2013.

This is a well situated, well run resort located in a very nice part of the country.

The hotel is built on a rocky outcrop into the ocean, with views from some of the rooms out to the horizon. There is a pool area with a small artificial beach around it to sit and relax.

The hotel has a very good restaurant, a small (not terribly impressive) gym and poor, though free, WiFi.

There are no other restaurants immediately around the hotel, but the beachfront madness of Unawatuna is only a five minute walk away - close enough to be easy to get to, far enough away to be back from the noise a little. Check out the fireflies as you walk home after dinner!

Service at the Thaproban is excellent - professional hospitality standard and still friendly and welcoming.

We had an allegedly 2 bedroom apartment, but this was a little misleading as basically it was a standard one room (bedroom upstairs, lounge down) that had been converted to take two beds. Fine for a family, but probably not suitable for friends travelling together as their is absolutely no privacy.

Only other negatives are the maintenance (in only a year of opening the place is falling apart) and the dodgy WiFi, which drops out as much as is usable.

Overall, a good choice in a lovely area and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and comment.

All have been shared with all staff for our improvement.

Once again, many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    126
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
158
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Male', Maldives
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay at Thaproban Pavilion was excellent, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, making my family and I feel very welcome. The beds were a dream and breakfasts included a huge range of fresh fruit, as well as full Western breakfast, cereals, porridge and Sri Lankan options. A chilled out pool area overlooking the crashing waves is uniquely designed and in keeping with the fort feel of the hotel. Our apartment encompassed three, high-ceilinged floors with a terrace at the top overlooking the terracotta facade. It made for a perfect view of stunning sunsets. Think Mum is planning a family trip back every year!! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaHarrison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We all happy to learn the satisfaction you had and look forward to welcoming you back to our Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa again soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is a gem! The hotel is right on the ocean and Unawatuna Beach is a 5 minute walk. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I always like to try restaurants outside of the hotel but ended up eating at the Pavilion most nights. The reason: the staff walks by with a platter of fresh fish and offers to make you a fresh from the ocean sea food dinner. How could we say no! The room was great, the food delicious but what really makes this place special is the staff. They really want you to be comfortable and enjoy your stay. Kudos to Sudarshani at the front desk who happily responded to every request made. And to the rest of the staff, too. I took a yoga class at the sister hotel (5 minute walk away) and had a massage: both fantastic. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritamaeflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and positive comment. which was shared with all members and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa soon.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Unexpected but truly amazing view of the Indian Ocean, with waves beating against the huge rocks. Liked the large bedroom, comfortable bed and tastefully furnished. Very clean room and good quality bathroom fittings. Staff at the reception and dining areas were most friendly. One staff member even offered to lend us her personal umbrella if we did not wish to carry a large hotel one. How thoughtful and caring! We tucked into a delicious breakfast each morning! A short walk away and we were at the beach already!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the ocean view...no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veron0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments. The comments will be shared amount our staff and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, I express my appreciation for your visit.

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Like I said, Great place, excellent service, spectacular views!! Service was the best - every one of their staff seems to have an eternal smile. Food was great! Swimming Pool marvelous. The sitting by the pool overlooking ocean is perfect for a candle night dinner. The rooms are huge and very clean and well decorated. The best part was the view. We had a sea facing room and man I saw the sea. One of the best sea facing rooms I ever stayed. The room came with a huge balcony.
I can keep on going - its just a great place. The only disadvantage - which was not a matter of concern for me - its not a beach front property. Dont get me wrong - it is an ocean front property all right and the ocean is literally next to the swimming pool. But there is no beach there, only rocks. So to access the beach you need to go out of the hotel and take a short walk - about 5 -7 mins. But again great place and I highly recommend this place any day. Do try to catch a candle light dinner on the beach at their sister hotel Beach House. The staff can easily arrange this for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayTua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I am thanking you for your kind words on the hotel and our services. We appreciate your patronage and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist planning your return visit!

With kind regards,

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly reception staff and given a welcome drink. Upon entering our room (102) we were greeted with a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. the room was very spacious with everything you would expect for a top end hotel. The bathroom had a dual head shower with great pressure and complementary toiletries were a bonus. Although you couldn't swim in the sea here it was a short distance to the great swimming beach.

The view from the room looked across to the lighthouse at Galle, we saw many large ships, fabulous sunsets and we were captured by waves crashing onto the boulders creating sea spray that kept us guessing.

Only downsides was the sub standard building materials that were quickly deteriorating from the intense salt spray and the location of the restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I am thanking you for your kind words on the hotel and our services. We appreciate your patronage and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist planning your return visit!

With kind regards,

Respectfully yours,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

i love srilanka.....i came sri lanka 1time in my life.and i came galle unawatuna hotel....and september i live in 2day in the hotel..room are v.good..and.and front desk reception servies are amazing....staf are takeing why are good..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mohamedyasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and praise! Letters like yours encourage us to continue our strive for excellence, and I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Priyanga Kariyawasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing