We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embrace the sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Embrace the sea!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A brand new hotel, set back from the main beach of Unawatuna and not without teething problems (leaking roofs, very slow service at meal times and quality of food inconsistent) but what a stunning property in a superb location, with staff who are trying very very hard to make it the number 1 hotel in Una. We stayed in a double storey villa with another couple for unbelievable value for money - however, as we were flying late at night we had to be checked out by 3pm so were kindly offered Room 103 for around $30 for the remainder of the day until we left at 10pm. And what a location for a room. Right by the pool, right next to the beach. This property may not hark back to the travelling days of Unawatuna's aesthetic but it's a great place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Leave extra time for breakfast/lunch/dinner as there may just be one chef down in the kitchen prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesraff34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and kind comment.

We all look forward for your return to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa i in the near future.

Sincerely,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    126
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
158
157
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Thaproban Pavillion Resort and Spa was the final destination on our family holiday in Sri Lanka in February, 2013. As a new hotel due to open shortly before our arrival we thought it sensible to double check that everything was complete and operational - so we phoned the hotel directly and they, of course, confirmed everything was. But to be blunt, they lied! Without boring you with the details, as our visit was six months ago and I assume the hotel is fully complete now (?) I would estimate the hotel was roughly 70% complete during our visit and inevitably work continued whilst we were there. However, as other reviewers have stated, the staff are very friendly indeed and so we decided not to cause a fuss and we simply made the best of the situation - mainly by going out as much as possible.

The hotel is relatively small but the rooms are sizable - we stayed (wife plus two children) - in the 'Centre Pavilion' which has two floors plus a look out-tower (although sadly during our stay we could not access the tower and hence sea view because there were no stairs!) but the accommodation area was huge. Locationally, the hotel is situated a short walk from the beach at Unawatuna where there are several bars, restaurants and some small shops. The beach is OK but there are much, much nicer beaches not too far away whereas Unawatuna itself is quite downmarket in my view. If you are looking for a beach area with a WOW factor, I recommend you go elsewhere. There is no beach at the hotel by the way - instead there is a small artificial beach adjacent to a small swimming pool. The area looks nice in the web-photo but to be honest lacks atmosphere. And as far as hotels go, it certainly wasn't terrible, but there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drbhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Operations Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We would like to point out that this reviewer has stayed in February 2013 where the hotel just opened after a delay in construction period, however to meet customer demands we finished the rooms and the pool area. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused however if we did not honor the booking again we would have faced more negative comments. Any guest who requested to check out early we have not objected as we understood the situation. However now we are fully completed unless there is any maintenance work.

We would like to invite you again to come and stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa and experience the hotel at its best.

Sincerely,
Mangala Denagama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked first 2 nights on the beach house then 2 nights on the resort and spa...
We were very pleased to see the clean and spacious room extremely well furnished... Indeed a real plus in terms of confort compared to the beach house

We were indeed a bit disappointed to notice, while it is called a "Spa", there was no massage in the hotel but only at their sister hotel (nearby).

Besides, we have to be clear that there is no possibility to swim in the sea directly from the hotel... The beach is actually a terrace made of sand upon the rocks (acting as wave breaker)... Te nearest beach is at 200m, near the beach house.

We were during the month of August where the sea can be very rough (2 meters swells smasing at full speed on the wall of terrace...) so the waves splashed up to into the pool (becomin then salty) and making big noise (can be distrubing if you expect a quite place...).
I would not book again a sea view room because of the wave's noise.

The breakfast place is nice but misses the view... Taking a breakfast by sunny day should be outisde... Or at least with a view to outisde...

Upper rooftop terrace is nice for diner

At the end, we found the beach house less fancy but much more charming...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaetanalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and the words of praise. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward welcoming you back again the near future. The Spa has opened and fully functioning now.

Respectfully yours,

Priyanga Kariyawasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Extremely friendly and obliging staff, who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The manager, does a great job running the hotel, and treats his staff just as well as he does customers. They have 2 other sister hotels within walking distance. The Ayurvedic massages (male masseurs only, but professional) are at Thannprabani, a 5-10 minute stroll away. Thaproban Beach House is right at the beach front, 5-10 minutes in the other direction. This hotel is a little more secluded, which is great. Everything else you need is a short walk out. The pool is cleaned daily and was a good moderate size; it was nice to take a dip here in between hours spent at the main beach. There is no swimming beach here, just a small patch of sand facing natural rocks. The ground floor rooms by the pool lack privacy; anyone could walk onto your balcony, and dining tables are placed right outside. The rooms themselves are all awesome - spacious, comfortable, tv with many worldwide channels, balcony with ocean and pool views, clean toilets, rain showers. Great place for relaxation, whether single, couple or family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jami b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and they will be shared by our staff and I am sure they will be delighted to hear about. Hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Roshan Ratnasiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have spent 2 nights at the Thaproban Pavilion & Spa and to be honest it's not the best. We originally booked the Thaproban Beach House but because of a religious festive it was recommended by them that we might be better suited in their other hotel only 5 minutes away but will be quieter. On arrival at Thaproban Pavilion & Spa we were greeted with a warm & helpful reception team. After we had explained that we were transferring from the Beach House they said they didn't have any rooms available for the same price, after a discussion they said they could offer us the ocean view room for a reduced price.
We looked at the room which wasn't cleaned but it seemed ok so we agreed to stay.
So after waiting about 30 minutes we checked into our room only to discover that all the large windows facing the sea were leaking as it was now raining heavily outside. The staff didn't seem to think this was a problem and gave us towels to put along the floor. We decided to put up with it rather than having to move again.
Overall the room was of a good size with a separate seating area with a sofa, which to be honest had seen better days. In the room their was a mini bar / fridge, tea & coffee with free bottled water, in the wardrobe was a safe but it wasn't attached to anything plus it didn't actually work! The overall appearance of the room was tatty, skirting boards not finished off, ill fitting patio doors and just bad finishing touches.
The bathroom was of a good size, though had silly swing doors to get into it. Adequate towels were provided, along with toiletries.
As I said we had an ocean view room that was upstairs and overlooked the pool as well. It had a large balcony with 2 sun beds on and even a clear plastic pull down blind to protect you from the wind & rain.
Breakfast was served upstairs in the restaurant area which had little character and was also quite noisy. The breakfast menu was ok, but the quality of the food was poor, not very hot and the service was very slow.
Wifi was only available in the lobby area of the hotel and the connection was either very slow or non existent.
The swimming pool may look nice, but looks are very deceiving - it's a salt water pool and when the waves come over from the polluted sea they end up in the pool as well! They have created a fake beach next to the pool with sand so when you enter the pool so does a large amount of sand! After a few hours the pool water turned a strange brown colour with brown stuff floating on the top.
Location on the other hand is good, only a 5 minute walk to the main tourist, restaurant and beach area.
To finish on I have to say the staff were very helpful and I too be honest I felt sorry for them having to work and keep paying guests happy, in only what can be described as faulty towers. This hotel is supposed to be only 6 months old, but looks more like 6 years. I wouldn't pay to stay here again and glad our 2 nights are over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review,

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the Annual Festival in Unawatuna, which normally falls within July or August.

The room was offered to you earlier than the check in time and this was the reason the room was showed to you before it was clean. The whole country experienced heavy uncommon weather during July and the towels were kept to prevent any extra water that could have come into the room from under the sliding doors.

Regarding the swimming pool, there is nothing deceiving about the pool area, its actually as its shown on our web sites and partner online travel agent sites. The sea in front of the hotel is not polluted its a deep sea which is clean water. During three months of the year the sea in front of the hotel will get rough and water will splash on the rocks which is not something that occur everyday of the year.

We hope you will visit us again to experience the Resort and I am sure you will enjoy your stay.

Sincerely,
Roshan Ratnasiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We, a family of 4, stayed here for 5 fantastic days, and whished it would have been longer! The service was exellent, and the room was stylish, spatious and very clean. We can recomend the two floor suites with a balcony on top of that. The wiew from the roof terrace was magnifficent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianenFredrikstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Roshan Ratnasiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The days spend at Thaproban Pavilion were the best. The place is very nice, rooms are spacious and very nice decorated. It is like you wish you home to be. The staff is very nice and attentive, the manager is there all the time to help you with everything you need. The breakfast next to the swimming pool is wonderful and the sunset is spectacular. I hope I will be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalucaNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your input, time spent on this review, We hope you will visit us again and if you need any assistance in planning your next trip please let us know.

Thank you,

Roshan Ratnasiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Property: Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing