We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gloria Grand Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$108
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
$81
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
$146
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
296
145
43
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
145
43
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsandy areaunawatuna beachhermit crabshuge wavesduplex roomsri lankaindian oceanminute walksea viewwaves crashingmain beachbeach housesister hotelswimming poolrooms are hugeseafood
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 512 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The days spend at Thaproban Pavilion were the best. The place is very nice, rooms are spacious and very nice decorated. It is like you wish you home to be. The staff is very nice and attentive, the manager is there all the time to help you with everything you need. The breakfast next to the swimming pool is wonderful and the sunset is spectacular. I hope I will be back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalucaNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your input, time spent on this review, We hope you will visit us again and if you need any assistance in planning your next trip please let us know.

Thank you,

Roshan Ratnasiri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We (two female friends) arrived before dawn after catching the red-eye flight from Singapore and were glad to have our room ready as soon as the staff arrived. And as if we were not already super pleased with our huge standard room with balcony and lounge chairs, we were pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded to the ocean view pavilion room at no extra cost! We were awed by how spacious both rooms were. I had earlier booked my room through Agoda.com and it was a real steal, considering the rate included breakfast. Speaking of which, breakfast was utterly delicious and filling. The freshly baked bread was exceptional. They do have a limited a la carte lunch and dinner menu and everything we had was tasty and lovingly prepared from scratch when ordered. The niçoise salad was our to-go :D

Unawatuna beach is a 10 minute walk away and it was fun to walk past local houses on our way to town daily. There is a grocery store nearby to stock up on bottled water and snacks. The location of the hotel away from the main strip made for restful sleep and relaxation. The king-sized bed in our room was very comfortable and the ocean view was to-die-for. Saltwater pool by the rocks was lovely, we spent a lot of time taking photos of ourselves with the huge waves crashing behind. It was also great fun talking to the waiters. They always remembered our very specific breakfast orders every morning without having to tell them what we fancied. All in all, professional, helpful and sincere.

Our highlight of the stay was walking around the hotel in our pyjamas 24/7, sprawl on two massive couches every evening at the lobby for our internet fix. We felt truly at home, which is a quality many hotels lack. A special shout-out to Mr. Manager, who found our antics hilarious! It was always a pleasure to see him smile. A kind and intelligent man with a great sense of humour. Thank you so much for allowing us to lounge as if it was like our living room, every single night ;D
I will be back, for sure! See you soon and send my warmest regards to all your staff.

Lots of love,
Stephanie & Freddie <3

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guiltyquilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read your review as well as my associates. Yes we do want our guests to feel comfortable as much as possible and feel free to ask for any assistance required. We sure hope you will visit us again.
Thank you for writing this review and your valuable time spent on it.

Sincerely,

Roshan Ratnasiri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was our best stay in Sri Lanka! The hotel was very new with its architecture & colours mediterranean-like. The picturesque pool was overlooking the sea but do be careful of the huge water sprays when the waves crashed onto the rocks.

The room we had were spacious and had very good views. The bedroom and bathroom furnishing & fittings were modern. Breakfast provided were generous & good. The hotel manager - Mr Roshan was very friendly, making sure we were well-taken care of.

For the amount we paid Agoda, it was truly good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribbonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and thank you for the time and efforts made in writing the review. The huge water splashes only during the off season when the sea is rough near the hotel area, in time this does not occur. We hope you will visit us another time.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Pavillion Spa and Resort during the off peak season. Despite so, the food served everyday was fresh and absolutely delicious. The rooms were well kept and the staff were efficient and attentive. Even late at the night, compound felt safe and peaceful. The swimming pools were diligently maintained every morning.

The staff always greeted us warmly and sincerely. They were helpful when we needed transport to Galle and dispensed helpful advice on where to get 3G reload cards and personal items.

The spa isn't ready yet and some wings of the hotel are still being renovated, but all that did not detract from the quiet and elegant charm of the resort. We are looking forward to return when all the facilities are ready!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a great view but the floor can a bit sticky, so do wear the bedroom slippers which are provided. We chose the second floor room as it offered a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellovalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, our staff members will be delighted to see this.

We have opened the Spa now and its in operation, few touch ups of the hotel was done during off season.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The stay was great. All the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They do not hesitate to help you. Located at the quieter part of Unawatuna, we get a great view of the ocean from the swimming pool. The food was fresh and delicious. We had a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooktheng f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, its with great pleasure that I inform our staff about the positive reviews and they are very happy to read about their hard work has been praised. We hope you will return again.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews