We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We normally stay at Thaproban Beach House however our last visit they were fully booked and we were offered Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, To find this was a hidden paradise, away from the busy and noisy Unawatuna area, One cannot access the swimable sea from the hotel, this hotel is within walking distance, only few minutes walk via the quiet road you get the access to Unawatuna main beach. The hotel has a nice eye catching swimming pool. Very relaxing by the beach area as there is no disturbance only the crashing waves. I think the the rock in front of the hotel is the signature, you can get on the rock to view the sun set! Just Amazing!

Room Tip: Duplex , its 2 rooms in 1 and a balcony facing the Sea and Sunset,. Ideal for family holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeeBee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time invested in writing us a positive review, we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 463 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I visited The Pavillion in February, -the hotel had been opened just a few days ago, I was staying in Thaproban Beach house and wanted to take a look at the Pavillion because it was new!
It was absolutely amazing! It was so beautiful and calm, and the view in front of the hotel was fantastic! The director showed us the rooms, - some of them were as big as flats with two floors! The pool was beautiful!
This is a hotel for those who are looking for the best of everything!! It seems perfect for couples in love and for people looking for a perfect holiday and a place they can relax and be safe!! If you should want to take a look at Una Watuna village and beach, it is only a few minutters away!
We had excellent seafood, lobster, crabs, shrimps and so on with salad and white wine. And we got the very best service though the meal!
This is probably the very best hotel and spa in Una Watuna. Just look it up on Internett , -and you will see what I mean!
Lise Henriksen, Norway

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clxxaawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Lise,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, the hotel has improved a lot since your visit, hope to see you again in Unawatuna.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March 2013. It was a long weekend with some girlfriends.

The rooms were very large and ours had a balcony. The room had a double bed upstairs and downstairs, mini bar, safe and very welcoming in the humidity of Sri Lanka - an air con unit! and 2 bathrooms.

The bedrooms were finished but the bathrooms had no tiles but very modern sink and showers. Whilst the showers were impressive, the bathrooms got extremely hot and sweaty. The doors were 'saloon' doors and I had to keep mine open with a wastebin to let some cool air in!

The breakfasts were made to order and therefore were lovely and hot and both the bacon and sausages were very tasty.

The hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach but you can take an auto if feeling lazy.

The saltwater pool was lovely to swim in and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cowcow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the recommendation.

The management will definitely take into consideration your comments, there are only two bathrooms with the ventilation problem which will be rectified soon.

We hope you will come again in the future and experience our hotel.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family stayed at the Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa from Mar 28 to April 3, 2013. The resort is very new, and beautiful. The rooms were immaculate and our suite was perfect for our family of 5. Two king size beds, and a private beach viewing 3rd floor! The pool and poolside, man-made beach were perfect, and the big rocks that are available for climbing and exploring were great for our 3 young boys. The food in the restaurant was great, and the drinks were good too. Breakfast was included in the price and included eggs, bacon, sausage or ham, toast, hashbrowns, fresh juice or fruit and coffee and tea. A wonderful breakfast to start the day. Wi-fi access improved during our stay, and the Manager said they would continue working on it. By the end of our trip, we were easily able to access it in our room. The manager and entire staff were friendly and accomodating the whole time we were there. They went out of their way to accomodate our needs, even to the point of letting us stay at the pool after we checked out, and then use another room to get ready before leaving for the airport, as a late check out was not available. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone. The only thing lacking was the spa. The spa was at a sister hotel and was a guy in a hut. I never had the chance to ask if a more formal spa was coming soon, but it needs to, as the name of the resort includes spa. All in all, we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Suites are really nice for a family, and are closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5India-na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and time spent on recommending our hotel. We look forward to see you again at our hotel.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Although the resort had only opened a month before and there were a few final touches still being finished. We were incredibly happy with all aspects of the property.

The rooms are enormous and fit myself my husband and 3 kids comfortably, the largest family rooms I think I have ever experienced.

The level and warmth of service is was first class and nothing was too much trouble.

Will keep it brief because it really is the best property at this point in Unawatuna. We are regular visitors to Unawatuna and this will be our choice in the future.

My only negative comment - is the coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattDan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was pleased with our stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa. The hotel is brand new and well done; the food was excellent with a mix of Sri Lankan and international cuisine; the pool area and faux beach fun for the kids. And the service was outstanding. This newly-opened hotel still had a number of finishing touches to make as of March 2013 but I'm sure these will be made over the coming months. The only knock is that the place is not directly on the beach, requiring a 5 minute walk to get to the end of Unawatuna Beach (and the less desirable end at that). A hotel shuttle via auto-rickshaw could quickly solve that issue though. Overall I definitely recommend this place, just know that it's a few minutes off the beach and hidden among the Unawatuna alleyways.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelhiBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your time spent on our recommendation. The location of the hotel is actually a plus point as Unawatuna can get quiet noisy at nights due to night clubs which are operating in the area, where as Thaproban Pavilion Resort is located you will not have any disturbances and you can experience the quiet and charming surroundings of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Edu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: $59 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly opened resort in Unawatuna, Situated in the heart of Unawatuna yet away from the hustel and bustel with few minutes walking distance to the world famous Unawatuna Beach and stripes of hotels and restaurants. Thaproban Pavilion is correct blend of serenity and comfort. The hotel is located right by the sea and a man made private beach area which is by the fibre optic pool to enhance the value of your stay. Hotel is very well equipped with all modern facilities to suit your comfort. Our spa and well equipped Gym is over looking the Indian Ocean and while you get the spa therapy you can enjoy the music of nature. All rooms are suites, some rooms are Duplex Suites which are ideal for families or friends and equipped with all type of modern and essential facilities like En Suite Bathroom, King Size Bed with Pillow Menu, 36" LED Satellite Tv, Tea Making Facility, Wifi, In Room Safe to make your stay extremely a memorable and comfortable, with typical Sri Lankan hospitality. The evening atmosphere is the best, you can get on the Rock by the sea for amazing views of the sun set and this is the most amazing moment! We offer fresh sea food and special Italian dishes, other international cuisines to Local dishes. Galle Fort stands at a distance which you can see from the hotel. The Sun Set Terrace on the third floor is ideal for relaxing with the stunning views and reading your favorite novel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing