We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great holiday”
Review of Beach Grove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Grove Villas
Ranked #6 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I rarely review holidays but I had to comment on the perfect holiday my wife and I had at Beach Grove Villas. The villas are new, spacious and very modern in fact Im surprised why they are categorized under B&B and not luxurious villas because they are luxurious and the location is tranquil. Asoka and his staff were fantastic and arranges all our visits. We will definitely be returning to Beach Grove Villas and Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We visited many hotels in Sri Lanca and this was really the cleanest hostel I've seen, and comfortable like home. We loved staying in this Villa. The facilities and everything is real 5 star and you feel you get what you paid for ( this is not so easy to find in Sri Lanca so luxurious hotel for normal price).Rooms are big and light with fun and aircon ( very silent comparing to others hotels), clean and very modern bathroom . The location of the hotel is great – surrounding of the beautiful trees ( in the morning birds sing), beach was the nicest beach we stayed so far(as we stayed on other beaches as well) only view minutes from villa, but owner (Asoka) will organize you every time you need tuk-tuk to the beach. Swimming pool in very clean and very comfortable for all - for swimming to ( specially I recommend to swim in the night when lifts will turn no. Asoka is very friendly and helpful man – he will give you what you will need during your staying. We decided to change our plans – he organize fantastic trip to Kandy, Nuwera Eliya ( with train trip) and Pinawella ( driver ( Manguko) who care our trip was very nice, safety drived man, well speaking english and german- he care all things connected to trip ( thickets, food, hotels – we fell absolutely safety with him). I strongly recommend dinner in villa – chief villa - Sarath will prepare you the best prawns, crabs or lobsters you ever eat ( I am specialist in this meter and you can trust me – he is genius in cooking). Generally service is excellent – man who clean your room ( Tarke) is very friendly and gently , they will at your service all day and think about your needs and dreams ( and of course realize it). Atmosphere is quite different then in normal hotel ( we visited the most expensive hotels in Sri Lanca – but far from good quality ) in Grove Beach Villa you will feel like in the best dream ( for reasonable money.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What is there to say? Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014, and had a fantastic stay with my girlfriend. The compound is really small, only 4 villas guaranteeing a very personal service. The location is really quiet, which is part of the charm. The sunsets on the beach (15mins walk) are epic, and it might have just been one of the nicest stretches of sand we visited during our month in Sri lanka, as the beach is not very commercialized yet. Asoka the owner is genuine nice guy, who has a lot of good suggestion on what to do with your time around Sri Lanka, and can arrange you comfortable trip around Unawatuna. Highly Suggested!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Beach Grove Villas. There were 5 of us and we had the two bedroom villa. It was spacious and very clean. Everything worked perfectly, from our airport pickup to the three day tour organized through their tour company. I really enjoyed waking up in the morning and wandering out onto the verandah for a cup of tea followed by a tasty breakfast. We also had supper there two nights - completely different dishes each time - all delicious. We had great wifi connections and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed the pool and the on-site massage service. If you plan to walk down the road in the evening, I'd recommend taking a flashlight. Otherwise it feels like taking your life in your hands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoeNisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had 9 wonderful relaxing days here - couldn't imagine any better. The place is a peaceful pearl, not fare from the beach. It`s about 10 minutes walk, or you can hire a tuc tuc if you´re lacy ;)
Asoka and his staff are wonderful. We got served our breakfast every morning on our "south state veranda". And they are there for you all the time!
The birdlife are fantastic, waking up with the birds, are just perfect!
The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Some may find the villa a little expensive.
We had the most pleasant stay here. Highly recommended!
Bente and Kjell

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bente L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had wonderfull relaxing days there - couldn't imagine any better. The place is peacefull with lots of animals (peacocks on the roof every morning, king fishers ... midst of nature. Asoka (manager and owner) and his team were exceptionally comforting and careing. It's just a 5 min walk to the beach with a natural pond, where swimming ist also possible with rough wheather. Asoka's brother manages a hotel there with private beach which is also available for all guests of the beach grove villas. Never miss the curry, Asoka offers every now and then - marvellous!!!! Best curries we had during our whole stay in Sri Lanka (though food is anyhow very good in Sri Lanka). We already look forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: Each villa is spacious, neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigrun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014


Great place to relax and spend quality time with family or friends. The villa has big spacious rooms, nicely decorated and clean too. The owner, Mr.Asoka is nice and friendly man same as his staffs too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Hannah-Ariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 34 in Unawatuna
835 reviews
1.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 162 in Unawatuna
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 162 in Unawatuna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Grove Villas

Address: Talpe North, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $60 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Grove Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing