We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Satisfied”
Review of Koko's Beach Grill

Koko's Beach Grill
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.
Red Deer Alberta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So Satisfied”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just finished a fantastic meal at Koko's this evening. My friends and I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and after three weeks in Sri Lanka eating loads of amazing local fare I was ready for some proper western food. Gary did not disappoint, and the reviews here are spot on. We were greeted by Gary and enjoyed a round of beers, so nice to have a cold Corona on the beach. I had the Koko's Special Burger which when it arrived nearly knocked me on my rear it was so large. My friends enjoyed a prawn taco, and Chili con Carne chips both of which looked out of this world. I tried the chips and they were excellent. The burger was cooked to perfection, and I left with the meat sweats, unable to finish it though I certainly tried. Gary joined us for some great conversation and we really enjoyed our short time at Koko's. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Unawatuna. Prices were quite reasonable, food was all cooked from scratch, and service couldn't have been better. Thanks for a great meal, Gary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tehsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
hi, thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host you and your friends at KOKOS ON THE BEACH.
we are so glad that you enjoyed your meals, drinks, service and friendship.
i was glad i got the opportunity to spend some time and chat to you guys.
it was very nice to hear of the volunteer work that you guys did and im sure the houses that you helped build will be a blessing to all.

we offer only the freshest and quality food in our restaurant to ensure 100% satisfaction too our guests, and it gives us great pleasure to see we have achieved this again.

once again thanks for your kind review and we wish you al the best in the future.
thanks and blessings
KOKOS ON THE BEACH FAMILY

PLEASE NOTE.
many guests have commented that they still struggle to find our restaurant.
directions:
follow the beach road towards the temple end of the beach, if you see a large hotel called NEPTUNE BAY.....STOP
turn around and look for a little green and black building!

points of interest;
madu leather bag shop.
Nautilus cafe
chili cafe
samsons restaurant.

if you still can not find us then please do not hesitate to call us on 0775826739

see you there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    207
    55
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best proper English chips EVER!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sri Lankan food is lovely. But after a week of eating in numerous local restaurants our appetites were ready for something different. Living and working abroad we miss proper English food to the point of craving it anyway. Imagine our delight when we came across Koko's right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach!

Koko's ticked all of our boxes! The owner - a great Northern guy named Gary takes great pride in sourcing his ingredients and even makes his own bread - meaning that his chip buttys are a pure delight! A taste of home on a plate! The chips alone are really something to write home about. Perfect in every way and possibly better than real British chips that I have tasted back home! Believe me I have tasted a few!

We have visited twice already and with 3 days left our menu is already planned! With so much variety on offer I just have to sample Koko's burgers, pizza, proper English style fish, nachos, kebabs and of course eat as many chips as possible!

Koko's offers something very different from the ordinary Una restaurants. Are we missing out on the local curry...nope...we'll just have that for breakfast!

Gary and his family offer great hospitality and his girls are just the cutest! A great little place to relax, enjoy the beach and find out a little bit more about Unawatuna and life in Sri Lanka from an insiders perspective...oh and did I mention...the chips are AMAZING!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
HI thanks for your kind review

we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at KOKOS ON THE BEACH.
( especially the chips!)
we cook all our food fresh to order including all of our bread products to make sure that our guests get what they want, "top quality food!"

with so many great restaurants in unawatuna offering great local dishes and seafood we decided to cater for the guests that wanted a little taste of home.
we look forward to your next visit and hope you will enjoy the rest of our menu as much as you have the chips!

thanks and blessings

KOKOS ON THE BEACH family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best chips in town !!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Koko's - number 1. A lovely family restaurant with Gary at the helm. The food is simple delicious, whether you want a quick snack or something more fulfilling, it has something for everyone, and not to mention the best chips in Unawatuna.... by far ! A fantastic treat right on the beach. Not to be missed !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughesy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
HI
thanks for your kind review,
we are glad you enjoyed your experience at KOKOS ON THE BEACH
all our food is freshly prepared daily using the best local ingredients to ensure 100% satisfaction

we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and will visit us again in the future.

thanks and blessing
KOKOS ON THE BEACH FAMILY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was in a jam and had to upload a big file over the internet to a client. None of the internet around Unawatuna is any good. In passing Koko's I got talking to Gary the owner, who kindly let me use his blazing fast connection and saved the day! We settled in, our kids played with theirs, the sun went down, the food was incredible - best pizza on the beach, and perfect atmosphere for families (we have a 6yr old and a 10 month old). What started as a bit of a nightmare turned into a wonderful evening. Thankyou Gary for your fantastic warm hospitality and for the fantastic food and drinks and great company. See you next time! All the best, Simon, Lu, Amelie & Anabelle. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simonhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
HI,
Thanks for your very kind review,
we have recently installed the latest and fastest 4G INTERNET at KOKOS ON THE BEACH to enhance our guest satisfaction.
we are pleased that you enjoyed your food, drink and entertainment.
all our food is sourced locally every day and hand picked to ensure quality, we cook all our food to order from scratch to ensue that you, the guest, gets the quality you deserve.
all our bread products are cooked in our clay and brick oven where we burn coconut and Cinnamon wood to give it a unique taste only enjoyed at KOKOS ON THE BEACH.

KOKOS ON THE BEACH is a family run business and our 2 daughters Linda(4 years) and Ruby (14 months) are always around helping to make it one of the best places on the golden sands of unawatuna.

once again thanks for visiting and it was a pleasure to host you and your family as our guests.
we wish you all the best in the future and hope you will visit us again one day.

thanks and blessings
KOKOS ON THE BEACH family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic food and brilliant couple running it with 2 cute kids :-) i would recommend adding some romantic music which will make it from 99% to 100% perfect, we will be back
Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Janujan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
hi, thanks for your very kind review and comments on not only our food and service but also our family.
we strive to give the very best fresh western food and keeping the restaurant/cafe a family friendly relaxed place.
the music of the Indian ocean is romantic in its self, with the two bars next to us playing music, adding to it would just turn the beach into a noise!
however should the bars close we will def play some great music to help enhance your experience

we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and hope you will visit us again.

thanks and blessing

KOKOS ON THE BEACH family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko's Beach Grill also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Koko's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing