We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funny guy and his family”
Review of Koko's Beach Grill

Koko's Beach Grill
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.
1 review
“A funny guy and his family”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Real nice fellow with his heart in the right place. Unawatuna is a tricky place, most places offers the same stuff and nothing special to be expected but koko s s got that Xfactor, tons of character and really nice people running it. For once, trip advisor s got it right highlighting a special place you would have probably not found otherwise
alex

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex-nina-sophie-anouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    209
    55
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and even better banter!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate here two separate Saturday nights recently. Both nights the pizza was very good, they even made me an excellent veggie pizza which wasn't on the menu.

Both nights we sat at the bar and watched the football on the big screen, the banter with the owner Gary and his friends made it almost like a Saturday night at home (except warmer and cheaper)

When my boyfriend wanted to watch the rugby they made every effort to get it on the small screen for him which was another big plus.

On the whole eating in Unawatuna can be hit or miss but this place is a safe bet!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiamhMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cafe cinema is a hidden gem with the best pizza in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Across the road from kokos, owned by the same person, Gary, is a vibey little pizza joint with some of the best thin-based wood-fired pizza I've ever had. It's also not pricey at all. They have a big screen and a projector and show the latest surf movies, live concerts, or live sport (premier league) depending on your requests! Awesome little spot and friendly owner

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_H-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer and a nibble”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The beer we had here was probably the coldest we had in Sri Lankan, and this is a lot in a country were everything that is supposed to b cold isn't. The fish and chips was superb and done to perfection and the ice cream was good quality and generous. The menu is quite limited )Pizza and pasta=, but the owner is super nice and the place is beautiful, if a bit too hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank royassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendliest venue in Unawatuna”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were so lucky to find Koko's on the first night of our week in Unawatuna and ended up there for drinks every night even when we ate elsewhere. This garden restaurant is run by Gary and his lovely Sri Lankan wife and family and we were treated almost as part of the family ourselves. There are nice comfortable seating areas but the focal point is the circular bar and we had some great evenings sitting outside chatting with other customers. They have a large big screen to show football and movies and although a Newcastle fan Gary went out of his way to put on the West Ham match for me even though it was his day off (they are closed on Sundays). This isn't a "football pub" though but a nice family restaurant/bar, and is very different to anywhere else around especially as they only serve pastas and wood fired pizza's (plus homemade burgers/buns and beer battered fish and chips in the day from the beachside kiosk). You must go here while in Unawatuna, enjoy a great pizza, a refreshing lion beer in a chilled glass, watch a movie, and enjoy the hospitality!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko's Beach Grill also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Koko's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing