We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Olu villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front terrasse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
front terrasse
part of the living room seen from the backyard door
details
details bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jess L
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most perfect 2 week holiday staying at Villa Olu. The villa is ideal for a family stay with it's beautiful gardens and well equipped house. Nina and Nirok are really helpful and made our wedding day homecoming really special by cooking us the most delicious surprise feast and decorating the garden with balloons, ribbons and candles. They stocked up our fridge and Niron (our driver during our stay and part of the family) brought fireworks. Our whole stay was magical. Nina was fantastic at communicating prior to our visit and shopping for us so we had food on arrival from UK. She or other family members were always on hand if needed. Sarath found aloe vera plants to soothe our mosquito bites, Kumari and Annulla cooked us a delicious Sri Lankan dinner. Our kids loved the family puppy and we were all sorry to come home today and say our goodbyes. We will definitely return some day and would highly recommend staying here rather than a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
hello Jess,

thank you for a fantastic review:) i am so glad you enjoyed your stay and i hope to see you again!

Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, made for a wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful villa over Christmas and New Year. All the previous excellent reviews were confirmed, and our expectations were met in every department. The house itself is beautiful, calming, cool, and has enormous and nicely appointed living space. The bedrooms were great, and the beds comfortable. The home cooked curries did not disappoint (three times!), and were by far the best that we ate during our stay. Highly recommended at least once during a stay, they were lovingly prepared and absolutely delicious.
The monkeys and parrots visited us regularly in the lovely gardens, and all in all it was a lovely and peaceful environment in which to live. We miss it already!
Nina and the extended family have the balance of assistance and privacy just right, and we never felt either neglected or over-visited. Pre arrival details were comprehensive and useful, and all communications were speedy and attentive. We will return for sure, and overall the entire party (4 adults and a 7 year old) had a memorable, special time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2017
Hello James and the whole family:)
It was a true pleasure to have you all staying and thank you for a great review! I really mean it when i say, please come see us again:)

Love from us all (and give Rose a hug)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTS65
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spacious Villa. Excellent Location. Helpful Owner.”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nina's communication is excellent with very fast and effective responses to any questions. Once our booking was confirmed we received a comprehensive information pack that really helped us with our holiday planning.

The villa is even bigger than it appears in the photos, the beds are comfortable and the bedrooms have good AC, mosquito nets and ceiling fans. There is a spacious bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and an automatic washing machine. The gardens are beautifully kept and attract lots of birds and entertaining squirrels. They even get purple faced langur monkeys passing through each morning and evening. The rice and curry cooked by Nina's sister in law was delicious and plentiful.

The location is also great for exploring Galle and snorkelling at the local beach. Nina's family are able to provide transport either by tuktuk for local journeys or by AC van for longer transfers.

We spent 3 nights at Olu Villa and with hindsight we wish we had booked for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
hello,

Thank you for your great review:) it was a pleasure having you all and thank for looking after the puppy some hours! I hope to see you again!

nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenluis...
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect and fabulous ”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

As I write this review sadly on my last day, sat in the beautiful garden I reflect on a wonderfull two weeks with my family. The villa was 5 star. Nina the owner has tastefully furnished the villa to perfection. The communication with Nina from making enquires to booking and arriving was excellent. A warm friendly welcome from her family began as we arrived. We in particular have to say thank you to Sarath he was very helpful and lovely, calling on us and bringing us king coconuts. The villa has everything you need, cooking, washing machine, bedroom views and in a great location. A short tuk tukride to beach. Lovely restaurants and places of interest to visit. Lots of nature and a visit from the monkeys in the garden was a pleasure. We are seriously thinking of returning again as we gave enjoyed the beautiful villa. Thank you Nina and family, 100% recommend your stunning villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Hello Helen,

I am so happy you had a great time! Thank you so much for your kind words. I know Sarath will miss you all as he always find it sad when people leave. He loves taking care of all our costumers its not "just a job" for him but a pleasure he says as he gets to meet all kinds of people and he is very proud of Sri Lanka and wants people to leave with good memories. Take care and we hope to see you again:)

Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you so much”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Olu Villa for 5 nights and we just loved everything there. the minute we arrived we felt that we were at home and the house gardens everything there was just special waiting for us was Saraht and his wife and daughter ,they made us feel so welcome offering us drinks ans flowers. The house is just beautifully decorated very spacious and spotlessly clean. flowers everywhere, fruit basket fresh linnen towels cooking facilities you really have everything you need to feel at home.the gardens are perfect to relax and watch birds bats monkeys squirels ...the house is perfectly situated to go and explore Galle or go to the beah . Plenty of lovely restaurant arounds and any help you might want Nina the owner is there to help responding very quickly to any questions we had by email. Saraht her father in law comes every day to water the garden and his there to help too. Neron his son has a travel company and can organise trips airport pick up or just TukTuk rides to go to the beach or Galle. Thank you so so much Nina and all the family to make our stay so special I hope we come back to Olu Villa one day. Ben Corinne and Manon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
hello,

Thank you for a great review:) i really hope you come and stay with us again in the future! I will send you pictures of the new houses when they are finished. I also hope you had a great vacation travelling around Sri Lanka and fell in love with it just like i have:)

nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanneke K
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcome home”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Olu Villa the last 4 days of our 21 one day trip through Sri Lanka. It was like coming home. The house is tastefully decorated. The inlaws were more than welcoming and Galle (Unawatuna) is gorgeous. Sitting in the garden we saw monkeys and squirrel and beautiful butterflies. They created a little oases of rest! Oh and the mother in law cooked 6 different curries for us and now we know we're the saying 'keep calm and curry on' comes from. It was absolutely perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Hello Hanneke,

Thank you for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you ever comeback let me know as we have a discount for repeat costumers:)

best regards,

nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subaquana...
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
“One of the true highlights of our holiday”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything about our short stay at Olu Villa was perfect. Such as the great welcome and being looked after by Sarath and his lovely family. The amazing location, gardens, local wildlife (monkeys in the trees!) and the villa itself. We have promised to go back and hope there will be some availability in a year's time! Our 3-year-old son still talks about Sarath and we all have some fantastic memories. What a shame we could only manage three nights here. Make sure to order the homecooked curries. It will be the best decision of your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing