We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location on the beach but food was average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo

Flamingo
Ranked #30 of 95 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice location on the beach but food was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We chose this restaurant purely because of the beach front location, which due to the fact it's located on the stretch which is the narrowest, once the tide comes in at 5.30ish, there is very little beach left to see. Saying that it was pleasant to watch the goings on along this stretch which is really a row of beach front hotels/guest houses cum restaurants.
This restaurant played Country style music which is not everyone's taste and I'm not sure whether that is the norm. In any event it competed with the Reggae playing next door at Chillis restaurant.
We both had Sri Lankan style curries, one chicken, the other prawn, which came with four dollops of different accompaniments and rice. Having eaten elsewhere during our holiday along this stretch of beach, although the meal wasn't bad, we have had better.
The staff, although there were quite a few of them, were a little slow and it took three requests to get our bill and even then they asked us how many drinks we had had !
All in all, nice setting, OK meal, but wouldn't hurry to go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    60
    11
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

we had only a short time in unawatuna and wanted to dine on the beach. this restaurant has a few tables lined along the beach. wonderful ambience at sunset.
the staff were friendly and english and were very happy to recommend items on the menu. we went with their choice and have no regrets.

the garlic prawns with rice was by far the best dish. the prawns were fresh and juicy and had a wonderful flavour. had we more time there we would have returned for another meal to try more of the dishes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“two visits, two different experiences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were there twice. First visit was great, swordfish with coconut sauce and rice&curry. Very good, reasonable price. Second visit was during blackout and tuna was so overdone, almost to coal. Rating is based on first visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quality !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Let's be honest, Unawatuna is a touristy target, yet here at Flamingo we found a restaurant that served superb food in a perfect location, right on the beach with a truly personal service.
Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Banti, who catered to our every whim! The Butter fish cooked in a banana leaf was exquisite! I have read of rave reviews regarding the curries.....we will be back to try those next time ! We are a tad 'fussy', but this place ticked all the boxes.
Also, as a footnote, I would like to recommend a local taxi driver called Ajaa. We have, over the years, dealt with him many times, he is honest, reliable and can provide anything from a local taxi ride to a fully escorted tour of Sri Lanka. His mobile is +94 777 284178.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Good relaxing atmosphere and tasty food with ragae music directly at Unawatuna Beach.

Tipp:
They also offer nice rooms across the street.

Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaHenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing