We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN SRI LANKA”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White House
Ranked #57 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for my last week in Sri Lanka- without a doubt the kindest and most hospitable family which you really become a part of. They taught me how to cook Sri Lankan food, I peeled chillies with the grandmother and went to the puja at the local temple during the full moon. The house itself is a beautiful piece of architecture from the 30s and the family have built and lived in it since then. Good for those on a budget but looking to explore the local culture. A must if in Unawatuna!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoegalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I initially only intended on staying at the White House for a few nights. Five weeks later I'm still here and still find it hard to leave!

The great thing about this guesthouse is the friendly family that own and run the place. I felt immediately welcomed by this family of three (mother, brother and sister) who go out of their way time and time again to please their guests.

The two rooms downstairs are basic but clean and comfortable, and the room upstairs comes with a private bathroom. All rooms come with a fan and mosquito net and are great value for the price.

The White House is located in a quiet part of Unawatuna, yet still close enough to all the action, and if you're lucky you may just see groups of monkeys swinging through the trees above on their way to somewhere else!

The family can also cook and serve delicious, authentic meals at a great price, and I highly recommend sampling some of the food on offer here. You don't have to stay at the White House to have dinner here, so if you've already booked somewhere else to stay you should come at least once here to have dinner (or breakfast).

The guesthouse also has really good wifi by Sri Lankan standards, which is another bonus.

All up, I had a great time here and cannot recommend this guesthouse enough!

For the price, what you get are great rooms, a beautiful and quiet natural environment, and an extremely hospitable family that will make your stay in Sri Lanka so much more memorable.

I can't wait to come back here and stay again with this wonderful family.

All the best guys!!

Shaun.

Room Tip: The room upstairs is currently the only room with an ensuite, so if you need this make sure you try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is my favourite place to stay in Sri Lanka! Right next to the beach but in the jungle with peacocks, lizards, mongoose, monkeys and butterflies in the garden. The accommodation inside the house is basic but very comfortable with net, fan and plug. There is a shared toilet and shower outside. The 3 person room is the same price as the double. The food is awesome, you can learn to cook or request BBQ. It truly is a wonderful place to experience the real Sri Lankan culture. Their english is great and they make u feel at home. I have come back here lots already, including bringing my parents.

Room Tip: There's the basic rooms with a shared local toilet and another with private western toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a double room with a good mattress,fan and electric point for 1000 rupees (£5). This great home stay is between Nor Lanka and Seabreeze hotels 50 m from the beach. The family are fun and friendly and speak good English. The food is all cooked to order and all customers were happy. They offered a cookery class for 2000 Rupees all in with some of the ingredients growing wild in the garden. There is lots of birds and butterflies.I also saw a mongoose and a lizard. On one of the mornings I awoke to 4 monkeys playing in the tree canopy overhead. There are 3 rooms in the house and 2 in the nearby annex. The shared bathroom and toilet is kept clean

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Passez votre chemin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glludovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel J Unawatuna
Hotel J Unawatuna
#26 of 152 in Unawatuna
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#33 of 161 in Unawatuna
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#22 of 34 in Unawatuna
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: Peellagoda | Near Unawatuna Beach Resort, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $13 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst coconut trees and lush vegetation in a quiet part of Unawatuna, this family run guesthouse is your home away from home. The White House is only a short walk to the beach and main street of this small coastal village. The guesthouse is set on a large block of land and is a nice place to relax under the shade of trees after a long day at the beach. Currently the guesthouse has three rooms for occupancy. The first two are located on the ground level of the house and share an outside toilet and shower. Both rooms come with double beds and mosquito nets and fan. The first ground floor room is very big and can accommodate up to five persons. The second room is smaller and can accommodate two persons max. The third room upstairs comes with ensuite, fan, mosquito net and can accommodate up to 3 guests. The room receives plenty of sun during the day and the patio out front is great to sit back and enjoy the view.The guesthouse offers plenty of space to kick back and relax. There is a common sitting room inside the house, and plenty of chairs and tables outside that guests can use. The guesthouse offers "the fastest Wi-Fi in Sri Lanka" according to an Australian traveller, and is free to use for all guests. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available on request. If you want to taste some authentic Sri Lankan food that tastes amazing and served with a smile, this guesthouse will provide. You may find yourself eating in as good food at a great price is hard to come by in this tourist filled coastal town.The guesthouse also offers traditional Sri Lankan and Thai massages on request for guests. The massages are conducted by a certified massage therapist in a professional and friendly manner in a quiet part of the guesthouse. Natural oils are used to promote relaxation and to increase blood circulation for maximum enjoyment. Full body, neck and shoulder or head massages are available lasting anywhere from 20 minutes to 1 or 2 hours. Whether you decide to come to stay for a few days or just for dinner or a massage, you’ll surely remember this beautiful guesthouse and the lovely people that run it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing