We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
698
168
40
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
698
168
40
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay private beach pillow menu aqua romance room galle fort privilege suite la mer restaurant the half board option tuk tuk sri lanka fishing boats set menu jacuzzi bath rain shower fabulous hotel breakfast is served walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to the hotel by a tuk tuk & dropped near the main gate. The gate was fully opened & I walked straight towards the front office. After I pass the gate, the security person called me & ask me "where I am going" . Security personals in a hotel are not like the security in a private property. when they questioning a guest, it needs to be a more polite approach. It is not a fault of the security person. It is the responsibility of the management to provide them proper training & development.

All the staff & their service at front office, restaurant, room service & housekeeping are very good & specially Upul at front office gave us a good support.

But the worst experience was the foods. It was a low occupancy day & It is understood that the hotel normally does not facilitate with buffet. Their A la carte menu was not up to the stranded of a luxury hotel & it does not worth the money. The management should consider more on the foods they offer. Also the hotel seems a bit old property which need some renovation for a luxury hotel.

Finally, it is not the place for a someone who like to enjoy the luxury experience.

Room tip: Ground floor Aqua Romance Deluxe would be good if someone prefer for some Privacy. It facilitated with Private plunge pool
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suresheranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh d, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.This is the first time that we have received a complaint about the service mindedness of our security. They have been trained in guest relations with both Sri Lankan and foreign tourists. Our sincere apologies if you think you were not properly addressed and taken care of. We have taken your complaint seriously with the security staff.
Being a boutique resort , we only serve fine dining set menu's and offer a varied a la carte menu which is in conformity with a 16 room resort. From the previous reviews you will note that we get rave reviews on our cuisine. If you wished to have buffets, perhaps you selected the wrong hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Staff, so attentive and beautiful rooms, the food was fantastic, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. If you are visiting the South this is a little gem of a Hotel and a great base to travel from. Don’t miss out visiting this country.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 154martineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh d, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review which is sincerely appreciated, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and wish you a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a beautiful private enclosed beach.Facilites were modern in rooms and washrooms.Jacuzzi in the wash room,mirrors lighting and all the needed toweling and toiletries provided..

Clean and large rooms and sprawling wash rooms.Picturesque restaurant with waves lapping at almost yr feet.

Dinesha at reception does a fabulous job.Restaraunt manger also is also flexible and offers personalized service..

Hotel quiet ,safe and relaxing.Beds and pillows very comfortable.

Toiletries ,slippers,bath robe provided for ;with mini bar and coffee station in each room.

Beautiful and elegant lighting..Everything was tasteful and homely.A hotel resort; well worth several days of vacation.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Deraniyagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh d, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was our pleasure to have hosted you at the resort and thank you very much for your words of advice and your prayers during this difficult period.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay , thank you for the encouraging review and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

Thank you cocobay and staff for really making my 40th birthday extra special. You made us feel loved and the food, decor and attention to detail to make this evening special didn’t go unnoticed. I’ll highly recommend the food and hotel to anybody. You guys are amazing.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank judsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh d, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It was our privilege to have hosted you on your 40th birthday.
We are delighted you enjoyed the big occasion and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

The team was nothing short of being friendly from the minute we arrived.

The food was brilliant, fresh and well prepared. I honestly loved the cocktails and the little preparation twists they used tweaking the recipes.

The location is just right for a peaceful getaway and the staff help bring a sense of being at home.

Thank you team!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tharindu_Perera_266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh d, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews