We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise found”
Review of CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at cocobay after a long journey and were greeted with a cold drink and friendly smiles . Check in was easy and we were shown to our room. We had chosen the sea escape room ,it is well appointed and had everything that you may need. with great view of the ocean. The staff were very attentive the whole four days we were there and nothing was a problem. everyone happy to go the extra mile to make your stay a happy one. Cocobay is definitely on the list for a return visit. Thank-you Reny and hope soon this hotel is showing number 1 you deserve it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saudisue876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

It was a pleasure to have hosted you at the COCO BAY. Thank you for your encouraging review and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 720 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cocobay is a lovely place right on the beach and only 10min ride from Galle Fort. We spent 3 nights in January on half board. Our room was spacious, comfortable with a balcony overlooking the beach. Just sat back, relaxed and watched the sunset - it was most beautiful. We wanted to have somewhere peaceful and quiet and Coco Bay was just the ticket. Candle lit dinners by the beach, food delicious and of a high standard. The manager and staffs were very friendly and attentive at all times.
Coco Bay opened recently and we hope they will keep up the high standard they have set.
Something that was not possible was an early morning swim in the freshwater pool as pool cleaning took place between 7 and 8am.
It is always advisable to ask if there is an extra charge for anything special that is offered which is not on the half board menu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging review. We have now arranged the pool cleaning to commence early and the pool can be used from 7A.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This new 12 room boutique hotel itself is nestled in its own private bay and the beach is 'manicured' by the hotel staff.

We went to nearby Unawantuna beach one day and found it touristy and crowded. We couldn't wait to get back to the beach at Coco Bay.

Everything about this place was excellent - the half board option was superb and the 5 course set evening menu changed daily. I had filet steak and chicken which was as good as anywhere I have tasted. There was a free yoga class daily at 1700 which was a great way to make space for the evening food !

The rooms are superb and all have an outside area - the ground floor units open onto a shared plunge pool. There is also a main pool for all to use.

Free wi-fi is a refreshing change to the normal 'charged' rip off at many hotels.

The hotel is run by an experienced manager and with a keen daily interest from the owner, you would be hard pressed to find a better attitude towards customer service. Hand picked staff are also a great asset to the hotel.

The hotel is a short (400 Rupiah) ride from the old walled town of Galle which has some neat coffee shops. I would highly recommend a trip to the nearby white tea plantation which the hotel reception can fix up for you.

In summary, I really can't enthuse about this place too much. It really was fantastic and I would have no hesitation in going back for a super relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: rooms to the right have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

thank you for your positive review which is very encouraging. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again at the Coco bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Coco bay Resort for three nights at the end of our two weeks in Sri Lanka. The service and the staff were amazing. Rowena on the front desk, the hotel manager and all of the bar / restaurant staff were so lovely and friendly but most of so attentive.
The small touches here is what makes this place so good. We were shown our room - of which is AMAZING - and we were given a soap selection service. The staff member had a tray of handmade soaps and we choose two that we wanted and he choped them off from a large slab like it was a cheese board. We were given small frozen deserts poolside at the hottest time of the day. The food here was so delicious - must do the BBQ lobster and the BBQ prawns.
My only negative is that the photos on the website and here show computer design drawings and i expected the pool to be as big as it was and a little more private from the diners in the restaurant than it is. In saying this it bears no consequence on my choice to return or to recommend it highly to any one of my friends. We absolutley loved our time here and wished we stayed an extra night instead of the two we stayed in colombo.
Thanks guys and good luck!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and have a view - at this stage there are only 12 rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

thank you for your encouraging review and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again at the Coco bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had dinner for 2 days at this hotel. The hotel is located at a wonderful peaceful location in roomassala, just near to the entrance of the highway, and very close to the Galle city. The hotel has a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere, because of the isolated beach area. The beach front and dinner area is an ideal place for dining, over business discussion or for romance. Hotel staffs are well trained and very polite. I did not get reservation at this hotel as the hotel was fully booked. This is one of the few place, I want to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnwarMangad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

we are sorry we could not host you this time as we were full. Thank you for your review and we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights last week, including a staying @ aqua romance (marvelous). The hotel is brand new with a lot of charme and ambiance, but also super cool from a design perspective. At night the dinner on the terrace in front of the beach is an unforgettable experience and the distance to unawatuna beach is only 5 min with a tuk tuk ride. the hotel offer a free trip with private boat every morning to the close jungle beach, which i suggest to take as the beach in front of the hotel is not so beautiful. During my stay the best beach visited was the one at Abaraduwa (15 minutes ride with tuk tuk), while a visit to the close Galle city is to be considered (do not go at night as all shops are closed).

Room Tip: rooms are all the same but aqua romance rooms are better as they are the only ones @ ground floor le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was there for the Coco Bay Hotel (Unawatuna) opening celebrations. The location is fantastic, a peaceful atmosphere with view on the Indian ocean. Spacious room, excellent Sri Lankan food. No doubt, my hotel for my next travel in Sri Lanka.
Louise, Montréal

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinodh1536, Owner at CoCo Bay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive review and hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at the Coco bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Bay Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Bay Unawatuna

Address: 10/4 Roomassala Road | Roomassala, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range: $179 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CoCo Bay Unawatuna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach in a secluded Bay, one hop away from the main resort area of Unawatuna and Galle town, it is one of the most stunning holiday locations in Sri Lanka. COCO BAY has 200 metres of sandy beach frontage with a superb view of Galle fort and is located in the midst of a picturesque fishing village with traditional catamarans that characterize this beautiful part of southern Sri Lanka. All rooms and suites have a stunning ocean view and feature private jacuzzi , rain shower, complimentary WIFI, LED TV with international news, sports, movie and foreign language channels,mini bar, digital safes, extra large signature beds with pillow menu, soap selection and large balconies with day beds. The AQUA ROMANCE ROOMS have small private pools. LE MER Beach Restaurant with a distinct French touch serves days fresh sea food, the best of local southern cuisine and international dishes of high quality. Yummy Italian PIZZA and authentic FRENCH BAGUETTES are also on offer. The CHILL OUT lounge bar offers a selection of great wines and exciting cocktails and offers HAPPY HOURS daily between 5.30 and 7.30 PM. A swimming pool by the beach with a kiddies pool and a gym are available. Airport transfers, excursions and round trips can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your CoCo Bay Unawatuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing