We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Beach

Jungle Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Welligama, Jungle Beach and Galle from Colombo
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A forty minute walk from Unawatuna past the new Peace Pagoda and down the jungly path and you come to this beach of dreams. It's sheltered and the sea is crystal clear. There's one ramshackle cafe/restaurant that provides a nice selection of snacks, meals and drinks - sometimes offering ocean fresh seafood. You can rent snorkels or shell out for diving trips and the wooden loungers on the beach are free to visitors who use the cafe. When we were there there were no more than twenty five people on the beach. It is a place to smile and daydream about on dark winter nights in more northerly climes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    616
    390
    180
    93
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Jungle Beach is the place to head if you like snorkelling. It's a small bay just beyond Unawatuna towards Galle. There is an over-priced boat ride available from Unawatuna beach or a cheap five min tuc-tuc ride and a little walk down a path.
The sand is soft and the water crystal clear making it the perfect place to see some fish. There are the standard wooden sun beds there although they don't have any cushions at present (something they said they were going to do for the next tourist season); they being the guys who run the beach cafe. You can get a reasonable selection of drinks here and an adequate food menu.
We even saw some wild monkeys in the trees trying to steal the limelight!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tizzyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The Journey Was Better Than Being There”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We hiked to Jungle Beach from Unawatuna Beach. We followed the signs and sometimes relied merely on our common sense and were there within 30 minutes. The hike was great as we began on a paved road which became a small pathway winding through the Rumassala Jungle. Soon we could see the stupa of the Peace Pagoda which sits directly above the beach. We had some great views of the India Ocean before walking downward to Jungle Beach. Many others had found the beach also. In fact it is nearly accessible by moped or tuk tuk via a different pathway. There is a beach shack there which serves cold beer and other drinks and some food. The beach is small and it was pretty packed by 10:00 (people took boats to get there also). I tried snorkeling but the water clarity is not good and there isn't much to see. In short, the journey was much better than the beach!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sun & sand at Unawatuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was the first time I went to Unawatuna and had a wonderful time there. We stayed at Happy Mooh Hotel next to Happy Banana and room was ok. The beach is clean and enjoyable. Night life is good met some new friends. Went on a small hiking trip and the view was awesome from the top of the rock.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hafsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Interesting but not a lot to do after you have seen it. The jungle does indeed go down right to the sea.

I ran there early one morning from Unawatuna but would guess it is just an 1/2 hour walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fabindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Beach also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing