We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes a bit too relaxed”

Unawatuna Diving Centre
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The official page for UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE, PADI 5 Star Dive Resort, Unawatuna and Sri Lanka's premier PADI Resort, S-36133, and your gateway to the excitement and adventure of the underwater world! UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE is a fully aoutorized PADI 5 Star Dive Resort located on beautiful Unawatuna Beach, in the Indian Ocean. German ownership, European managed, we conduct all levels of PADI courses from DSD through to Divemaster Level and also run snorkel tours.We teach in English and German.As the longest running and most established Diving Centre in the region we offer quality diving courses where safety and PADI standards are always paramount. We also offer fantastic accommodation or very close by at our ROCKSIDE CABANAS HOTEL & RESTAURANT. With friendly and professional staff, UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE guarantees you the best time both in and out of the water. At our centre we have a secure private equipment room for divers with their own equipment. All our rental equipment is new, with Scuba Pro regulators and Scuba Pro BCDs that are regularly maintained. Our tanks are filled onsite by trained staff using our Bauer compressor in a clean and designated room wit a well maintained filter system. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff who are always happy to help and answer any questions and our renewed and insured PADI Divemasters and Instructors. With over 16 dive sites all accessible within 20 minutes on one of our five dive boats and with depths ranging from 5m to 30m our beach front dive centre is the place to head to further your education or see the wonders of the underwater world for the first time.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sometimes a bit too relaxed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I did two dives with Unawatuna diving centre, and the staff were always helpful and friendly. It is a great place to go if you love wreck dives, as there are around 8 in the close area. I enjoyed both of the dives, which are conducted in small groups of no more than five, making it less intimidating for people travelling alone, like me.

However, the standards for safety, I didn't feel were as high as other dive centres I have dived with in Zanzibar and the Maldives. The equipment was all good and well serviced, but the divemaster didn't ask us to inform him when we were running low on air with enough time to complete the dive comfortably, so someone in my group had to ascend while sharing air with the dive master. I know this isn't the end of the world in terms of safety, and the diver could have checked his own air more frequently and made his own decisions, but it's not something I have encountered before and would rather not again!

That being said, the prices are good and it is definitely well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    47
    16
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Didn't dive for 4 years. Came to Unawatuna diving centre by 8:45, did a quick REFRESH with two drivers and immediately 2 boat dives on the reefs. All paid for 68 USD. Professional instructors, a good habit to do safety stops. Serviceable equipment. The room is spacious and clean. No hassles. After the dive, the total tea party roundtable. The atmosphere is very friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Алексей П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Very good dive center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

11 dives there. The visibility was unfortunately not good at the time and there was swell quite strong.
The team is very professional and it has been a pleasure to dive with them. Many nudibranches and a lot of different species. Extra for macro photography.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ravalali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Underwater was barren.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great company and location for beginners to become certified. Calm and warm. As an experienced diver I was most disappointed in the lack of colour and life....brown and grey rocky bottom...a handful of colourful fish. Had 2 dives, 30 and 10 meters. First time I have been bored in 20 years of diving.
Surprised this professional company made us gear up with tanks and weight belts, etc. then hike a block on the hot busy highway to the launch site. After your dives ,when you are tired, tell them to carry everything back themselves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to learn and the most reputable centre in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I wanted to learn to scuba dive while in Sri Lanka, and this was the most reputable looking centre we could find. We were definitely not disappointed. Hans was very friendly and looked after everything for us and we also stayed at the Rockside Cabanas located just a few minutes away by tuk-tuk and run by Hans' wife, Renate. While here, we both successfully completed our PADI OWD and advanced OWD certifications.

The staff at the Unawatuna Diving Centre are all very professional and helpful, and we couldn't recommend our instructor, Rob, enough. He was great fun and easy to get along with outside of the water, while being professional and supportive during the dives. We were both very hesitant about diving at first and it's no exaggeration to say that with another instructor we may not have managed to successfully complete our certifications, but Rob was able to help us overcome our fears and become more comfortable under the water. Once we had completed our first couple of dives, we absolutely loved it and we can't wait to go diving again in the future.

The Unawatuna Diving Centre is PADI certified (you can check on the PADI website), unlike several of the others nearby which claim to be so but aren't, so do not be fooled and especially watch out for the Unawatuna Dive Centre situated next door. It is not a reputable diving centre and is definitely not PADI certified. The Unawatuna Diving Centre website makes this clear and explains how to make sure you are at the correct place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna Diving Centre also viewed

 

Been to Unawatuna Diving Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing