We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Unawatuna Diving Centre
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Scuba Diving in Sri Lanka is our passion! Thats why we opened our first Diving Centre 1999 at the beautiful Unawatuna Bay at the south coast of Sri Lanka. This is the official page of UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE, PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort, “The Original since 1999” and Sri Lanka's premier PADI Dive Resort, S-36133, and your gateway to the excitement and adventure of the underwater world! The Dive Centre is open every year from 15. October to 10. April from 8 am to 7 pm. The rest of the year, the month of the south west monsoon, with rough sea and bad visibility, we are operating at our NILAVELI DIVING CENTRE, PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort at the North East Coast of Sri Lanka, 12 km north of Trincomalee under good diving conditions. The UNAWATUNA DIVING CENTRE is a fully authorized PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort. It offers Scuba Diving for beginners, Fun Dives, all kind of PADI Courses and Snorkelling Trips. The Dive Shop is managed by an local and international team of PADI Diveinstructors.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Did an Open Water course here. Nick is the best instructor ever. He made me feel very safe and I had a lovely time. All the staff are very friendly and I would definitely recomend this place!!!

Charlotte and Thomas

1  Thank CWidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unawatunadiving, Manager at Unawatuna Diving Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi Guys,
I'm so glad that you had a great time here with us and that you enjoyed your dives. Keep it up and keep exploring. You were a top student and still have the prize for the most graceful 10 minute float ever!!!! Lots of love from all the team at Unawatuna Diving Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dive master"
in 25 reviews
"rockside cabanas"
in 6 reviews
"open water"
in 11 reviews
"multilingual staff"
in 3 reviews
"enriched air"
in 2 reviews
"dive centres"
in 7 reviews
"boat dives"
in 4 reviews
"next door"
in 9 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 18 reviews
"experienced diver"
in 5 reviews
"air quality"
in 2 reviews
"early january"
in 2 reviews
"fun dives"
in 7 reviews
"padi owd"
in 4 reviews
"octopus"
in 7 reviews
"rangoon"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
Filter

165 - 169 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the apartments above the Unawatuna Diving Centre while we completed our PADI OWD course in October 2012, and I have to say, I'm glad we did it there.

The centre is managed by Nick, an English guy who is very easy going while maintaining a high level of professionalism and he is a great teacher. We spent our first day working through our workbooks and watching DVDs, then did our pool training the next day to get used to the equipment, how to put it together and what each part did, along with the basic skills you need to have to complete the course.

When we went to do our first dive in the sea, my I had a problem equalizing my ears, we tried many times to rectify the problem, but couldn't sort them out. After a while we decided that the best thing was to leave the water, and try and do our dives the next day, which thankfully we managed without a problem.

The problem on our first dive had really upset me, but after chatting to Nick about it, he reassured me that it's very common to happen, and not to worry about it.

We left Unawatuna Diving Centre, very happy of our time and experience there, but sad that it was over. I think one of the best things about this dive centre is the high level of professionalism that is evident throughout, along with the friendly and knowledgeable attitude of the staff and especially Nick

1  Thank planty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unawatunadiving, Manager at Unawatuna Diving Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hi guys thanks so much for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed it and had fun. Keep up the diving on your travels. Unawatuna Diving Centre wishes you all the best in your adventure to OZ and beyond!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Walking down the beach in Unawatuna, I was met with a multitude of dive operators to choose from, after talking to many of them I decided to choose Unawatuna Dive school, feeling most comfortable with their safety standards and professional look of the dive school.

From the minute I walked in I was immediately put at ease and met the manger, Nick. He explained answers to all of my questions, and being nervous about 'taking the plunge' he immediately put me at ease. I decided to take my 'PADI licence' with him and it was one of the best decisions I ever made!

First we spend some time in the classroom and then the swimming pool, at this point I completely panicked and almost backed out of the course. Nick was so patient and kind and completely reassured me. I'm not sure how he put up with me!!

The first time he took me in the ocean, I was shaking and so scared, but he was so charming and reassuring that I completed all 4 dives! I am now a diver for life!

The dive school's happy, fun atmosphere made me feel one of the family, if only for 4 days! I can't give enough praise to all the staff, especially Nick. He is a very special instructor and if it wasn't for him I would never have passed the course. His unrelenting patience, smiles and jokes were so much fun to be around, and the high safety standards, good quality equipment and detailed briefings made me feel safe at all times.

Visiting this dive school on my trip to Sri Lanka was the highlight of my trip, I would like to say a huge thank you to Nick and the team. I can't recommend them enough!!

1  Thank Vikki_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unawatunadiving, Manager at Unawatuna Diving Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hi Victoria, so glad that you had an amazing experience with us and really hope to see you again soon. You were a great student and Unawatuna Diving Centre wishes you all the best and we're sure you'll go far in your PADI adventures. Hopefully see you back here in March!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ovancau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna Diving Centre also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Unawatuna Diving Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing