We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvellous guest house and family”
Review of Birdhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birdhouse
Ranked #13 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“marvellous guest house and family”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have been several times now to Unawatuna and Birdhouse is my favourite guest house .. this is a very good ratio quality/price , very warm welcome, excellent food and services .. Lalith the owner is always ready to help with his wonderful smile and hospitality .. it is always a very sad time to leave this place after such a wonderful stay .. Birdhouse has the best advantage to be apart from the crowded and noisy beach in beautiful nature surroundings and the name of the place is fully justifed ( many species of birds can be watched there) - my high recommendaton
isabelle from Bordeaux ( France)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAILHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asanka R, Manager at Birdhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks Isa for your nice review. It will be a pleasure to have you with us anytime. It's always a nice feeling when you are around us. hope to see you again soon ;) have a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
35
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed with laith and his family on five occassions since 2005. They are a wonderful family and the accommodations are the best of any guesthouse I have ever stayed at in Sri Lanka. I always felt like one of the family. The birdhouse is in a perfect location and only a few minutes walk to the beach. The rooftop terrace is fantastic and I never want to say goodbye each time I am there. Lalith speaks perfect English and can assist you with anything that you require. If you are are looking for the perfect home away from home in a tropical paradise setting then you have found it at the birdhouse.

John Hetherington
Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asanka R, Manager at Birdhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks Johny for your kind words. Hopefully will see you again soon. until then have a great time. Take care buddy. Cheers,Asanka..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed at Birdhouse on many occasions during the past eleven years. The house has changed much, but not the warm welcome and good food offered by Lalith and his family.

Room Tip: If you like watching birds, the room at the top of the house is probably the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyf4dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asanka R, Manager at Birdhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks Roger for your nice review. It will be a pleasure to have you with us next time when you are in Unawatuna. Best regards, Asanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you like to feel part of nature and enjoy good healthy cooking this is the place to stay. I have been to Sri Lanka twice and stayed at the Birdhouse. You couldnt ask for a nicer family as the
Ratnayaka's who run this establishment. Surrounded by wildlife and wonderful trees, the Birdhouse is wonderful. The food is mouthwateringly delicious and cooked by the ladies of the family. Couldnt ask for more. If you are lucky to get the top flat, you would be even more delighted as you get an amazing view of the surrounding jungle and a lovely temple across the road. Within walking distance to the beach too, which is also wonderful restaurants and swimming in the sea is so amazing. Definitely worth the trip!!!

Room Tip: try and get the top flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asanka R, Manager at Birdhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. You are always welcome and it is a pleasure to have you with us. Hopefully see you again my friend. lots of love from Asanka and family. cheers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 32 in Unawatuna
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Garden
Paradise Garden
#12 of 145 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#1 of 132 in Unawatuna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdhouse

Property: Birdhouse
Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birdhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bird House is a beautiful guesthouse set back from the Unawatuna beach offering a warm welcome from a friendly Sri Lankan family. The Bird House offers clean rooms, delicious foods, tourist guiding, transport, tailoring and etc..Located 3 minutes walk from the beach. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind from everyday life. The rooms are spacious and clean with aircon and hot shower, a balcony to sit and watch the world go by. The rooms have good air conditioning and comfortable beds to fall asleep with the jungle sound in the background. This is among the few Tourist Board approved places in the area of Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Birdhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing