We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owner, great value of money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palitha Guest House
Ranked #16 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, great value of money.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this guesthouse for a couple of nights but we extended it to 6 nights as we loved it here! Staff is lovely especially palitha and his wife. Room is clean, spacious and hot water shower, bed is comfy provided with mostiquo nets. I felt like I wanted to pay more to the owners as the price they quoted is more than fair, compared to other guesthouses I stayed, this is the best one! So at least I can do is write an review as they really deserve the good reviews! :-) will be going back here again if I go back to Sri Lanka. Location is fairly good, only 5 minutes walk to beach, on way there is lot of shops and restaurants to visit. Wifi is great in room too, very strong.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceGirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights after moving from 'surf city guesthouse' (nothing wrong there but here was cheaper).

The rooms are very well appointed and clean. The mosquito net did not have holes which is a common problem in most guest houses. Breakfast is cheaper than most places in town. The owners are extremely friendly and happy to help you with anything. The lady does not speak much English but always has a smile and will refer you to her husband.

Wifi was strong and reliable and the rooms were big. It cost us 2500rps per night with a/c which actually worked! The walk to the beach is about 5-10 mins, but very easy, just down one road.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The roti shop down the road is fantastic and VERY cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at Palitha twice on a two month trip to SL. I returned because of the comfort and simply the excellent value of the guesthouse. The rooms are new and spacious with comfortable beds. The upstairs rooms pick up the breeze but also a little road noise but it did not disturb my sleep. The family are a lovely family and so helpful. It is in a very good location, near the buses for Galle, Mirissa, Matara and Tangalle. Also there is a very good beauty place, Nilu's Place and a fruit store less than a minute away. This is the best value in Unawatuna if not SL so visit soon Palitha must put his prices up soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DaveStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We loved this little new place a little in the back of unawatuna. The rooms are spacious and clean with large balconies. Shops are around the corner and the beach is a nice few minutes walk. They made us a homecooked meal that was delicious! The owner has a warm heart for his guests we felt it like real sri lankan hospitality! With normal prices in sometimes overpriced sri lanka. One minus, you can hear the road. But i think you have that everywere or you pay 3 times more. We liked it very much! O and a big plus; large special made beds! Great if you are longer then 1.80m.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank post_flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in Sri Lanka for 3 months and twice returned to Unawatuna to stay in this guesthouse. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. Palitha and the family can not do enough for you. Always smiling and cheerful. The breakfast and rice and curry are amazing. The rooms are set in a beautiful garden and are very private. We hope to come back next year and will certainly hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

we stay from 18.03 - 23.03 and it was the cleanest and biggest room we ever had during our trips through asia.
thanks palitha & family for a very good time at your guest house. also for the good breakfast and the excelent sri lankan rice and curry!! always served with a friendly and warm smile.
a beatiful garden with mango trees, passion fruit,.....

so, as we sayed, the best choice in unawatuna!!!

thanks for the great time
jörg & romana. ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falinskij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I can service in this guest-house recommended to all. The room is large, very clean with hot water and the owner and his family were very pleasant. We were very satisfied. If you ever go to Unawatuna sure to arrange accommodation at Plath's guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#19 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birdhouse
Birdhouse
#11 of 125 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palitha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palitha Guest House

Property: Palitha Guest House
Address: 06 Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palitha Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palitha Guest House and his family welcome you to their newly built, spacious, four bedroom guest house. Located just off the main beach access road, it is a short walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Palitha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing