We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comaran Beach Hotel
Ranked #106 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our experience at Comaran was nothing short of horrible. we had booked the property through Agoda where the property was registered as Hotel Lavendish with photos showing it to be on a hilltop close to the beach. This we found was not true when we landed there. Bad start. We checked in and were taken through a labryinth of stairs - giving it a very spooky feeling. Once we had checked cpl of rooms and rejected it. We were taken to be shown a set of rooms away from the main building. Heavy smell of stale air and wood paint - left us a little disappointed but we anyhow agreed to stay in the villa option (2 rooms and a dining plus kitchen). We were in for a rude shock when we returned in the evening after a trip to the happening part of Unawatuna (good 3 km away) - electricity was not there at the hotel and Villa was not connected to the generator backup (eventhough we were told there is power backup in all rooms). We then decided to shift to a room in a main building into a much smaller room. Lo-behold the power backup also failed as soon as we setlled into the room. We being two couples were in a sticky spot in pitch darkness- when 4 of the staff stood in the stairway - joking in local language and making us feel very uncomfortable. They kept making vague excuses like some problem in genset then saying the gasoline has finished and someone has gone to get it (this is at 10pm). The harrowing experience continued as no one from the management showed up in spite of our repeated requests and we were growing tense by the minute with no match or light being provided by the staff. We decided to switch the hotel immediately and moved to a better property. While we were shifting out our luggage - the duty manager turned up with glazed eyes as if he was doped and offered no apologies for the inconvenience - let alone any talk of refunding our 258 USD charged at the time of check-in. All in all - a property you must AVOID!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our experience at Comaran was nothing short of horrible. we had booked the property through Agoda where the property was registered as Hotel Lavendish with photos showing it to be on a hilltop close to the beach. This we found was not true when we landed there. Bad start. We checked in and were taken through a labryinth of stairs - giving it a very spooky feeling. Once we had checked cpl of rooms and rejected it. We were taken to be shown a set of rooms away from the main building. Heavy smell of stale air and wood paint - left us a little disappointed but we anyhow agreed to stay in the villa option (2 rooms and a dining plus kitchen). We were in for a rude shock when we returned in the evening after a trip to the happening part of Unawatuna (good 3 km away) - electricity was not there at the hotel and Villa was not connected to the generator backup (eventhough we were told there is power backup in all rooms). We then decided to shift to a room in a main building into a much smaller room. Lo-behold the power backup also failed as soon as we setlled into the room. We being two couples were in a sticky spot in pitch darkness- when 4 of the staff stood in the stairway - joking in local language and making us feel very uncomfortable. They kept making vague excuses like some problem in genset then saying the gasoline has finished and someone has gone to get it (this is at 10pm). The harrowing experience continued as no one from the management showed up in spite of our repeated requests and we were growing tense by the minute with no match or light being provided by the staff. We decided to switch the hotel immediately and moved to a better property. While we were shifting out our luggage - the duty manager turned up with glazed eyes as if he was doped and offered no apologies for the inconvenience - let alone any talk of refunding our 258 USD charged at the time of check-in. All in all - a property you must AVOID!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel goes under two names, which is a bit odd. It comes up on some internet hotel booking sites as 'the Lavendish' but the sign outside actually says 'Comoran Beach'. We were told it was in process of changing name but it made it hard for our taxi to find - the driver had to phone for directions.

It is directly across the road from a quiet stretch of beach and about 10 minutes walk along the beach into the centre of Unawatuna.

The hotel is a labyrinth - several buildings joined together. it has a pleasant and clean swimming pool and a restaurant with a view over the bay, through breakfast service was inexplicably slow.

We had a good room in one of the external blocks, clean, good sized bathroom, aircon and fan and the managers kindly allowed us to keep it on until the evening on the day of departure. However there were repeated power cuts (to our block, not the whole town) though these were promptly and politely attended to.

Galle fort is worth a half day. Despite the name it is more like a historical town than a fortress, offering quiet streets of colonial buildings to explore and fine views out to sea from the fort walls. There are many pleasant cafes and museums.

Unawatuna is a resort that appears to have been rebuilt since the tsunami. It offers an attractuve sandy beach round a bay with a reef close offshore, lots of paces to eat and drink and plenty of accommodation.

There is little to see in the village itself but Galle fort is 20 minutes aware by tuk tuk and trips are offered by agencies to many places including a whole day trip to Yala National Park, whe eif you get luck, as we did, you may see leopards.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate blocks may be quieter being away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Василий П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Василий П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ermana1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TimdeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comaran Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comaran Beach Hotel

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $24 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful and beautiful location in southern coast of Sri Lanka, you will find Lavendish Beach Hotel Unawatuna overlooking the world famous Unawatuna beach which dazzles under the tropical sun. Offering the deserving traveler and holiday enthusiast with a lovely view of the Indian Ocean, Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna provides a memorable holiday experience with its cozy rooms, friendly service and delectable food.Guests at the Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna enjoy Room service, 24 hour Reception services, Restaurant & bar, Internet Access and Laundry. The elegant swimming pool at Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna allows guests to enjoy the sun and water or make the most of the holiday spirit by relaxing with friends and family, tasting delightful snacks from the poolside snack bar. The restaurant at Lavendish Hotel Unawatuna serves Continental and European breakfast, and local and international dishes at the hotel’s buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Comaran Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing