We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hibiscus Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Villa
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a very nice villa to stay. It is ideal if you look for a peaceful place to sleep, away from the hassle of creepy Unawatuna beach.

Positive: The comfortable and simply king size bedroom with shower under the open sky, the attentive staff and the glorious garden with wildlife.

Negative: It is located in Unawatuna area, an unpleasant spot of Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely fantastic. Great location and facilities and very friendly staff. It only has 4 rooms so you can quite easily snag the place all to yourself whilst having some tea and watching the birds, squirrels and the ocassional monkey in their spacious gardens. This of course is all between frequenting the beach and local townships, with Galle only being a short tuk tuk ride away also. Large, clean rooms and friendly staff have to make this one of the top picks for unawatuna!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 1 week as we fell in love with the place!
it is an immaculately clean, light and peaceful guesthouse. The rooms are large and airy and I loved the tasteful décor and spaciousness. As many others have commented, the tropical garden is beautiful, well maintained and full of wildlife. we loved eating our breakfast everyday in the company of monkeys, squirrels and all different kinds of birds. I also enjoyed making a fuss of the very soppy, gentle, well behaved dogs belonging to the owner as I was missing my own dogs! The staff were absolutely brilliant, very kind and helpful and made us feel so at home... really cannot sing their praises enough. we really didn't want to leave and we can't wait to return one day. This is a very special place - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausagina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked for two nights, stayed for three in one of the front rooms, wish we could have stayed longer. The resident dogs, helpful and friendly staff, and beautiful setting made this stay a firm fovourite in our travels around Sri Lanka. When we arrived we were given a choice of room, we chose the left front (looking at the house) as this room has a door on the bathroom rather than just a divide. The room was large, with wonderfully high ceilings, and a four poster bed (no a/c but the fan worked very well so we surprisingly didn't miss it). The decorations are contemporary, and everything very clean. Drinking cups of Dilmah tea on the verandah at night was very relaxing and made Hibiscus stand out to us as a very special place. To top it off it is fantastic value for money for bed and breakfast best in Unawatuna. Give it a go, it really is as fab as the reviews make out; your only regret will be that you hadn't booked for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights from 14th to 17th September inclusive. This is a spacious contemporary villa with four stunning guest rooms set within a beautiful secluded garden and mercifully set back away from the busy and noisy Matara Road. It is also thankfully away from the touristy area of Unawatuna beach but its restaurants and bars are a 10 minute walk or very short tuktuk ride away. It was like staying in your own exclusive villa where you could sit on the veranda drinking tea and watch the colourful birds and even monkeys sharing the garden with you. I would definitely come back here if I visit Sri Lanka again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the two on the garden side have the benefit doors opening straight on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miche07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and I wasn't disappointed - like others we stayed longer than anticipated and they have detailed descriptions in their reviews. Hibiscus Villa has a very boutique feel, georgeous rooms with 4 posters, and a lovely tropical garden. Plus the place is spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. For the price I also think it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very hard to beat a place like this to be honest. Small enough to feel very boutique and special. We stayed in 2 of the main rooms, first on the garden side and then at the back. We thought that the back rooms would not match up to the lovely, tasteful, 4 poster, generously sized front rooms! However we found that the back room was even more charming and stylish. A light-well shower running the height of the building (say 30ft!) with a gorgeous vintage, hand-painted basin and 2 four posters! What really made it though was the wonderfully terraced and landscaped gardens with immense sculpted palms and exotic plants. Almost as if that wasn't enough the service is kind personal and not over bearing and Ajith is simply a delightful man with great stories to share when you're ready to talk! The beautiful, gentle, clean dogs that potter around calmy and the varieties of monkeys, parakeets and birds that live naturally around the gardens coming to feed on pineapple and rice provided by the owners are an absolute delight! We spent quite some time with a monkey, swinging a terracota bowl of food into his and his companions arms as they happily got their fill!

Just over the road at banana garden we ordered the very reasonably priced seafood platter for around only £8 and it was fantastic. Beautifully prepared and perfectly cooked from very fresh ingredients. A stunning view and an ice cold Lion lager, heaven!

One not to miss is the 5 star hotel in Galle Fort - Amangalla - We had our last meal there in the day and it was abject luxury but incredibly reasonably priced given the service and quality. We looked extensively for somewhere to beat the Banana Garden but this place did not come up anywhere on trip advisor. Try the absolutely perfect crab curry, prawns and avocados and perfect chunky chips with aioli, 2 glasses of prosecco and 2 freshly squeezed orange juices for £45. The hotel itself is beautiful so they expect you to wear a collared shirt to fit in btw.

All in all the Hibiscus Villa was perfectly placed paradise just far enough away from the touristy, hawkery bustle of the main drag but very near to some great spots. Give it a go! You'll love it!

John & Lisa
London

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Villa

Address: Temple Lane | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 300 29, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: $36 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Villa is a beautiful, peaceful, boutique-style Bed & Breakfast with just 4 guest rooms. The house combines the convenience of a boutique hotel with the feeling of a private home; a secluded place to relax and unwind in quiet and secure surroundings. Experience the tranquility of the tropical garden, the delight of its bird and animal life and the convenience of Unawatuna Bay on the doorstep. Our rooms are decorated in modern, contemporary Asian style with en-suite bathrooms and solar-powered hot water. Rooms are cooled by natural ventilation, with high ceilings and fans. The Hibiscus and Jasmine ront rooms are doubles with garden view and private veranda, the back Frangipani room is double or triple and has a private sitting area, the smaller back Orchid room is a double with french windows opening onto the rear garden. The main guest terrace with comfortable sofas is a great place to experience the terraced garden with a wide variety of tropical trees and flowering plants which attract many visiting birds and other wildlife. Breakfast and free wi-fi are included in our rates. Our staff are on site 24-hours a day for daily room cleaning and your comfort and security. We are just a two minute walk to Unawatuna beach with its wide range of great value cafes, restaurants and bars. Enjoy swimming, sunbathing, shopping, diving and snorkeling here. Our staff will be happy to help you get the most out of your visit to Unawatuna and Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing