We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Hibiscus Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Villa
cracow
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We was Hibiscus villa in February Amazing place Big and clean room , very nice garden , friendly and helpful people , nearly beach The best place in Unawatuna I recomended all :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
89
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

seemingly miles away from the madness and wonder that surrounds, we found this little four room slice of paradise (with four charming dogs too) perfect in every way.... indeed we would still be staying there had we the choice or the means!
love the way they don't do wifi too! if you want too you can borrow a dongle but the ( like not having tv either) owners want the place to be an oasis .... not somewhere couples sit ignoring each other while answering non important emails from bored office colleagues!

great simple breakfasts and a fridge full of beers for you to drink should you want to (paid for with honesty)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benthegreengrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

As your climb the stairs to the villa your heart stops for a moment .... It's such a tranquil place. As you sit on the terrace your eyes stray to the level of the trees in the beautiful garden - yes you really are at canopy height. Birds a plenty, chic furniture and room one even has an open bathroom (when it rains this is kinda wonderful!) Host Ajith is a star and will arrange anything he can for you (when we asked him to recommend a cookery class he persuaded his family to visit and give us a lesson in home cooking!) highly recommend this place .... Especially for that price, it would be hard to beat.
Alison 2012.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

As a volunteer I worked in SriLanka and stay in the Hibiscus Villa during weekends. I liked to spent my spare time near the sea. To the Hibiscus Villa I have warm and friendly memories. Everything was possible, celebration of sri lanka new year or moment of rest, reading and enjoy in the garden! The rooms overlook the patio and garden. Attached a great bathroom with open air shower, so lovely I would like to have one in my own house..

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan W, Owner at Hibiscus Villa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I visited Unawatuna 2 years ago. A friend of mine recommended his friends place which turned to be out of a Villa. The Hibiscus Villa to be exact. I think I could not have made a better choice for accommodation then this place. The design of the courtyard and the rooms, the friendliness and hospitality of the staff and the garden are the perfect recepy for having "peace of mind" during your holiday. Its located in a quiet street so its perfect for relaxation. However, if you are up for the seacoast and wanna eat out then you have to walk only 5-10 minutes to the beach, bars and restaurants.
Thumbs up for Ajith! It was a great holiday! Thank you. I shall return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here for five days and will never forget the hospitality of Ajith and Duncan. The villa is extremely comfortable, nicely designed and in a great location- set back from the beach among trees, around 20 metres above sea level and just below a small temple. It has a large terrace overlooking a nicely landscaped garden and the sea. It's also very quiet. Now I have a young family I plan to go back this summer. It's safe, child friendly and with enormously responsible and helpful owners, which is very important to me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2012

A perfectly manicured paradise. Hibiscus Villa has everything to offer..an ocean view, an exotic garden and flourishing fish pond, spacious rooms tastefully decorated and a warm welcome. The owner is gracious and the small, friendly staff tending to the grounds and rooms are simply kind and helpful. There is an open concept in this villa with a comfortable kitchen and dining area fully equipped. This villa is a vacation in itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollerhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
1.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 32 in Unawatuna
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ridee Villa
Ridee Villa
#2 of 132 in Unawatuna
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Villa

Property: Hibiscus Villa
Address: Temple Lane | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 300 29, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Villa is a beautiful, peaceful, boutique-style Bed & Breakfast with just 4 guest rooms. The house combines the convenience of a boutique hotel with the feeling of a private home; a secluded place to relax and unwind in quiet and secure surroundings. Experience the tranquility of the tropical garden, the delight of its bird and animal life and the convenience of Unawatuna Bay on the doorstep. Our rooms are decorated in modern, contemporary Asian style with en-suite bathrooms and solar-powered hot water. Rooms are cooled by natural ventilation, with high ceilings and fans. The Hibiscus and Jasmine ront rooms are doubles with garden view and private veranda, the back Frangipani room is double or triple and has a private sitting area, the smaller back Orchid room is a double with french windows opening onto the rear garden. The main guest terrace with comfortable sofas is a great place to experience the terraced garden with a wide variety of tropical trees and flowering plants which attract many visiting birds and other wildlife. Breakfast and free wi-fi are included in our rates. Our staff are on site 24-hours a day for daily room cleaning and your comfort and security. We are just a two minute walk to Unawatuna beach with its wide range of great value cafes, restaurants and bars. Enjoy swimming, sunbathing, shopping, diving and snorkeling here. Our staff will be happy to help you get the most out of your visit to Unawatuna and Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing