We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Lovely place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silva Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silva Rest
Ranked #32 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Lovely place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and we really liked the place! Especially the very friendly staff we liked the most. The place is really nice.The beach is only 5 minute walk away. we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Silwa Rest.hey really feel responsible for your well being.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is basic but almost minimalist. Front of house, the eldest son, doesn't stop smiling and his service is brilliant. Rooms are tidy and accommodating. It has wifi and a perfect location just away from the louder beach but only a two minute walk. Just left Unawatuna yesterday and staying at the hotel, just on the main greeter's service alone, added much to the whole trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corinsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyKorn143
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This place will do if you are backpacking, but just barely. The room was infested with Mosquitos and the shower was barely a drip. I washed with the tap. The rooms on the bottom floor are nicer and some even have hot water, but I was in room 8 upstairs and it was pretty gross. There are really nice places to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandyKorn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Vejle, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been there with our kids (10, 6, 2). They picked us up at the airport and we felt all ready home. They helped us to get to know the neighbourhood (beach, nearby restauants, sightseeing), settling in and really feel on holiday 24/7.
As we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Silwa Rest we had the chance to try the Sri Lankan kitchen at its best. Our children loved it. Fresh fruits, roti, fish curry and you name it. It was wonderful!
As it is a family business they really feel responsible for your well being. Delini and Krishan know everyone in Unawatuna or Galle and they can organize everything for you. You can really trust them and we say this as spoiled europeans, who are used to a certain level of comfort.
We booked two rooms. These were part of Silwas new building right across the street. The rooms were new and held very clean and have a very functional and modern design. There were a table, drawers and chairs. Big Kingsize beds with mosquito nets and fan. We had one room with aircondition.
We will definitely come back to Una and Delini & Krishan from Silwa Rest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights.
Very nice people and nice location, very green.
Only about 5 minutes from the beach, but one of the cheapest places in Unawatuna.
Moskitonet, ceiling fan, large beds, large room, large quite clean bathroom, although the water pressure was not very high, but for the price definitely okay.
1000 rupees for one room (although not in high season), which 2 people can share.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#18 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Rock Cottage
Elephant Rock Cottage
#35 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Primrose Guest House
Primrose Guest House
#40 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora
Aurora
#70 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Rest

Property: Silva Rest
Address: No. 55, Wella Devalaya Rd., Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silva Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silva Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing