We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best meal in Galle”
Review of Happy Spice

Happy Spice
Ranked #7 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“best meal in Galle”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We decided to take a 10-minute tuk-tuk ride to Unawatuna to escape the tourist-heavy food in Galle Fort. Based on the reviews of this restaurant on TripAdvisor, we went straight to Happy Spice and boy was that a good move. The service was warm and friendly, the setting was comfortable, and the food was without exception AMAZING. We started with an onion sambol roti -- extraordinary. The roti had just the right amount of char, and it encased a delicious mixture of onion, lime juice, and chili. We could've eaten three more, if we didn't have such other great food still to come.

The devilled prawns were delicious, sweet and fresh and perfectly cooked, and the sauce was perfect. We also ordered rice and four vegetable curries -- great okra, wonderful dahl, delicious pumpkin, and fresh coconut sambol. Each curry was delicately spiced and great. For dessert we ordered banana fritters, one with ice cream and one with honey. AMAZING. It's hard to find new ways to say how wonderful each dish was, we're running out of superlatives, but they are all well-deserved. If only we had more nights here, we'd eat here again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    99
    38
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic sri lankan crusine”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

my cousin and i stayed in that area for a total of six days, and had our breakfast and dinner meals solely at Happy Spice. It was a total enjoyment getting to know the whole family as well as Chintha. we definately felt like being surrounded in a very hospitable place and look forward to future visits to this wonderful eatery. Aloha from Hawaii

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ieufaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Perfect Sri Lankan cooking course with a personal touch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Chinta runs a great show here.
I was recommended to go here for dinner by a local. The place is quite well hidden away but as soon as I saw there was a possibility for me to do a cooking lesson I jumped at it. Chinta is well travelled so offers a good fusion of cuisine (main focus sri lanka) and as her other job is a tour guide she gives a good overview of the history and culture of Sri Lanka if you are interested.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I'm not a curry expert !”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am not an expert in curry's and my other half want to have some local food.
The place is very simple, a family home. Feel's like you have been invited for dinner at a Sri Lanka family.
Not difficult to find, ask any tuktuk drive and they will find it.
The food is freshly cooked and very tasty.
As I said before, not a curry expert and spices don't do me very well , but definitely recommend Happy Spice for a meal, if you don't like hot spice food ask for something mild.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosonmagyaróvár, Gyor-Moson-Sopron, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exotic ambience and food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent food's, very kindly family, 100 percent satisfied!!!!! :)
Rice and curry, corallfish in banana leaf, devil prawn, garlic prawn, chicken with different tastes, fried banana chips, pappadam (fried crispy rice thing), many fruits and vegetables, desserts as sticky rice with mango etc, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZsoltNyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Spice also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Happy Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing