We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice views!”
Review of Lara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lara's Place
Ranked #43 of 150 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We landed at Lara's Place on our first day in Sri Lanka thanks to a friend, and Mr. Lara was so nice to accomodate us at 2am! Clean, simple and priced well. And the views and sound of the sea are veryy relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

It took us quite a bit to get to write a review but we wanted to thank Lara for his amazing hospitality and friendly welcoming he gave us.

His place is just amazing. Newly built with simple, minimalistic but essential furnishing. The bedroom and bathroom (ensuite) are really really spacious and comfortable and terrace with views of the ocean are breathtaking!

The food that his wife prepared was fantastic and very very tasty.

We wish Lara all the best in his future plans of extending his business and we will hopefully be back to see the progress soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meryeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Lara's Place for seven nights and really appreciated our stay! Lara, the owner, is very service minded and reliable, the view from the guesthouse was really beautiful (the guesthouse is located up in the hills), the room was basic but nice.

The breakfast was nice although same every day (you could pay for additional things) and the rice & curry was really good. Lara's Place only have cold water, but it was really hot when we were there so it didn't bother that much. The only negative perhaps, is that you are quite dependent on going with tuk-tuks all the time (we had a small baby and didn't want to walk up and down) and that there is no mosquito nets.

Overall - we can strongly recommend to stay at Lara's Place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's quite a nice place, with a good location up on the hill away from hustle and bustle of Unawatuna beach. I think it might be the best place in whole Unawatuna area, which we didn't like much, as the beach is ugly, small, narrow, full of rubbish, noisy, and expensive in comparison to other places as Hikkaduwa for example. The tuk-tuk from the beach area to Lara's place costs approx. 150-200 rupees in the daytime, and 300-450 rupees in the evening time. The room was very simple and basic but clean (what is very rare in Sri Lanka - it was cleaned everyday). The positive thing was plenty of light in the room which made it easy to read. The negative - the lack of hot water and no air - conditioning, only the fan and it was really hot in the night. We were shocked with the noise of the parties on the beach on Friday and Saturday night, you can hear the loud sound of music played during weekend spreading from the beach during almost whole night. We came there to rest and we couldn't sleep during 2 nights in a row. So it's better not to come to Unawatuna in a weekend if you want to rest in peace and quiet. We were also a little bit disappointed by the breakfasts which were all the days the same and very monotonous: tea/coffee, fruit juice, toasts with butter and marmalade (all 7 days the same - even the marmalade was all the time the same). On the other hand we ordered twice a curry on a dinner which was really fantastic (900 rupees per person). Lara - the owner was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandra83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I chose Lara's place because of the photos posted in various reviews and its location. It measured up perfectly on both counts. The rooms are stylish and spotlessly clean. The decor is modern and chic. The veranda is the stand-out feature. It is the perfect location to relax. Lara's Place is within easy reach of the main area of Unawatuna yet is distant enough to be peaceful and tranquil.
Lara himself is a great guy. He's genuinely friendly, engaging and helpful without ever being intrusive. I'd recommend Lara's place to anyone: beautiful rooms, views, peace and quiet, near the beach in a gorgeous part of a wonderful country. And all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka and I'm glad we made the choice to stay at Lara's Place as it really gave us a chance to get to interact with the folks who lived there up close. Lara and his wife were great. He had to take some work so we didn't see him much, but his wife was wonderful, serving very tasty food and just being there should we have needed anything. We walked up one side of the hill and down the other and everyone was friendly and greeted us like old neighbors! The room was airy and stayed pretty cool, even when we had the doors open all day. It was quiet, except for the birds and monkeys(and that was great)! It was a shock not having hot water,but by the time we sweated our way up the hill, the cool shower was just what we needed. One can stay at a cookie cutter resort and never even notice what country you are in, but staying at Lara's Place gave us a true picture of the generous and hospitable spirit of the Sri Lankans. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lara and his family are kind and did certainly their best to build this place with its lovely garden. The fact is that the building is located about 5-600m uphill with respect to the main road (A2) which leads to Unawatuna. Then, to reach the beach, you have to walk about 1km partly along the national road jammed by any kind of vehicles. As I'm used to do, I hired a bike at Lara's but it was not a pleasure riding along such roads.
Considered that: 1) the beach is ugly with several guesthouses built on it, 2) the whole Unawatuna aerea is heavily congested due to a high population density, there is really no reason to stay here.

At Lara's, the room rate is 4415 rupees which makes 35US$ including some basic toast breakfast (300 rupees more for a tastier Sri Lankan breakfast). For this rate however you get much better accomodation at top level resorts located along beautiful coastlines about 50kms towards east.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank marco z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sergeant House
Sergeant House
#13 of 33 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#25 of 33 in Unawatuna
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara's Place

Address: Ganahena | Ganahena Road, Unawatuna Hill, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $49 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara's Place is a beautiful, peaceful haven on the hill above Unawatuna. Nestling in a lush garden, Lara's Place offers two en-suite double bedrooms that open out onto a spacious balcony that has excellent views of the bay. Our guests can relax to the sound of birdsong or the gentle breaking waves, or enjoy delicious Sri Lankan curries made only from fresh ingredients each day. Although only a five minute walk or a brief tuk-tuk trip to the beach, guests are removed from the hustle and bustle of the tourist beachfront. The owners, Lara and Uthkarsha, welcome you to their little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing