We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a paradise”
Review of Lara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lara's Place
Ranked #38 of 162 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Lara`s Place is a wonderful place to stay. The guesthouse is on the hill and you have a awesome view above the unawatuna bay. It is surrounded by exotic trees like Papaya, Coconut, Mango, Banana.....!! It is great to listen and watch to,the birds, sometimes monkeys and of course to the ocean. The rooms are very clean and luxury, and have lovely details. The family is more than friendly, they supported us every day. The best was, to be a part of the family. The breakfast und dinner were really very delicious!! If you want to go to the beach you have to walk about 10 min or you can take a tuk tuk, it is cheap! Thank you for the special holiday!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We’ve spent 2 weeks in Lara’s Place (from Xmas onwards) and really enjoyed the place. The first and key point is the location. Lara’s place located on the hill, it means when you’re at the room you’re not listening a music from the bar :) you’re listening the sounds of nature, but it not means that you’re in the middle of nowhere, 5-7 mins on ‘tuc tuc’ and you’re in the center of the village with the bars/rest's. The room was nice and very clean, unforgettable view from the balcony. The host (who is Lara) very friendly and helpful, fluently speaking English and targeting to help you in everything. Free wi-fi connection was a plus. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor_Katya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Lara's Place is a great little gem on the top of a hill overlooking Unawatuna bay. The rooms are very clean, private and well maintained. French windows open up to a veranda with stunning views over the bay. I was the only guest and being a female traveller on my own I felt very safe. The family who owns it live downstairs with a separate entrance so were on call for anything I needed but otherwise I was left to my own devises. The owner has a tuk-tuk service which was handy to get up and down the hill to the restaurants and bars of Unawatuna. I would not feel comfortable walking on my own in the dark. The breakfast was nice but took some time to arrive so put your order in well in advance. Over all I'd say that this is a great little guesthouse at terrific value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindalazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny_Ahlbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Анна Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank peterskopetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cecile_042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
#5 of 162 in Unawatuna
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 162 in Unawatuna
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara's Place

Address: Ganahena | Ganahena Road, Unawatuna Hill, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $53 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara's Place is a beautiful, peaceful haven on the hill above Unawatuna. Nestling in a lush garden, Lara's Place offers two en-suite double bedrooms that open out onto a spacious balcony that has excellent views of the bay. Our guests can relax to the sound of birdsong or the gentle breaking waves, or enjoy delicious Sri Lankan curries made only from fresh ingredients each day. Although only a five minute walk or a brief tuk-tuk trip to the beach, guests are removed from the hustle and bustle of the tourist beachfront. The owners, Lara and Uthkarsha, welcome you to their little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing