We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda T
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Brilliant base for staying near Galle- Upul, Jagarth and Linda made all the arrangements so easy and the villa is well equipped for smaller persons (my daughter is 18 months old and thought it was amazing). The food was incredible and we spent many hours in the garden between the pool and the swing and the hammock. Easy trips nearby included a local tea plantation and Unawatuna beach and Galle. We hope to return very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed the place as much as we do. You were all terrific guests and we hope to welcome you back some time soon. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure pleasure.”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Dear all if i had to describe the petals it would be a heaven of kindness,linda the owner is a fantastic person surouded by a fantastic team jagath and upul.th house it self is a amazing place confortable ,the garden ...thanks to the outstanding jagath is a marvel the swimming pool perfectly clean and refreshing ,the tropical birds the insects the butterflys the iguana...dont worry it looks very big but she is vegetarian,the turtules le peackoks....thevmonkeys....ahhhh it is noas arch in a garden .the surrounding of the villa are fantastis rice paddys and the jungle and at dusk you can see giant bats flying out of the jungle. ,they are impressive a little bit like jurasic park...then the place is so vigin ....the food is a pure delight and upul allways keen on helping it is cheap and delicious tuktuks are allways available on the call and the city and markets are a stone throw away .if you visit the petals forget all i said and only go for the nicest people i met so far .linda jagath and upul the are the plus and the soul of this place as all the people of sri lanka generous and welcoming.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your feedback and kind words.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!
Best wishes,
Linda, Upul and Jagath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abiman
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb!”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The property is nicely located among rice paddy fields. Upol, the cook cum housekeeper and the gardner Jagarth tokk very well care of us.
We stayed for a month and spent time at the closest beach, Vijaya where one swims in a small lagoon. The local restaurant serves good food and drinks.

Galle is definitely wothwhile visiting for sightseeing shopping and/or dininig. There are nice shops and good reatauranst in the Old Dutch Hospital complex.

Close to Galle you will find the Lighthouse Hotel where you can enjoy a day at poolside for a reasonable fee, which includes a sunbed and towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking time to review The Petals. We are super thrilled you enjoyed your stay hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelman...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true get away”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

If you like being slightly off the beaten track, this little gem is for you. The garden and pool are glorious ( a flora and fauna delight). Transport is immediately on hand but hey! what about a meander though the paddies!
The hosting staff cannot do enough to pander to your wishes and you can get some serious curry cooked for you on the verandah. Super.
OK so there was is an air of faded glory but we defy anyone not to enjoy sunrise from a great bed overlooking the floral masses of the garden.
We had a very contented month - pooling/reading, Galle, local beach and eateries and above all the lovely folk of Sri Lanka.
Go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just read the preamble, it says it all
Liked least: Garden furniture could have been more comfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words. We're delighted you had a great month at The Petals and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Best wishes,
Linda, Upul & Jagath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aviram K
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The place is amazing very well designed helpful staff. The cook came up with bill which we didn't expect (like for his petrol...) not a big deal just be ready for it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeAG
Wetteren, Belgium
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We ( 3 friends) stayed for three nights in "the Petals" Loved to stay a lot longer!!!
The house and garden are wonderful , the swimmingpool is stunning.
The best part are Jagath and Upul who take care of you. They both are super guys and Upul is a "master" in the kitchen.
To be brief : everyting about our stay in the Patals was just perfect!
We do hope to come back .

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Hi!
Great that all was satisfactory and shame you couldn't stay longer. Next time!!
We hope to welcome you back soonest.
Best wishes,
Upul, Jagath & Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing